Friday Favorites – 6/3/2016

TGIF Everyone! 

Are you happy it’s Friday? I’m pretty indifferent about it, since I work this weekend, but I’m super excited to have today off. I would say I’m going to read all day, but I have cleaning (aw no fun!) to do instead. Plus, I don’t think I could read if I wanted to since I’ve been thrust into a book hangover by Illuminae. I can’t remember the last time I had a book hangover.

What was the last book that gave you a hangover?

Anyway, moving on.

Here are some of the fab things I came across this last week.

FAVORITE FINDS

IMG_2383.JPG

I found quite the hall last week.

Target Finds:

Olay Age-Defying Facial Cleanser – I needed new face wash and Target had my back. Picked this up on clearance for $2.51.

Batman Key Chain – By now you probably all know I’m addicted to these little key chains at Target for $5.99. I told myself I wasn’t going to buy anymore, but I’m in dire need of Catwoman, so I thought I’d try once more. The fact that I now have Batman makes my need for Catwoman even stronger. They need to be together…like…forever.

Superman Socks – These socks have capes. I needed them. Plus, they were on clearance for $2.98. Yep, had to get them.

FUNKO RV Walker Vynil Bobble Head – I’ve been eyeing this guy up for awhile, but he was a bit too expensive for me to splurge on. Finally, though, I found him on clearance for $3.58.

Batman and Superman Flash Drive – This was a freaking blessing to find. I’ve needed (like actually needed) some new flash drives, but have been holding out to find some awesome one. My prayers and desperate pleas were answered yesterday when I came across these on clearance for $3.88 each. My novel-in-progress will now be stored on a Batman flash drive. How professional.

“Coffee Solves Everything” Mug – I actually somehow convinced my dad to buy this one for me 😛 It was kind of pricey at $9.99 and not something I would have splurged on. I do drink Caribou Coffee each morning, though, and coffee does solve everything, so I needed this?

The Swan Princess 1 & 2 and The Silence of the Lambs – Picked up both of these for $3.99 each. (I love The Swan Princess, swap out song “No Fear” and replace it with “No Shame.”)

Star Wars Mascara – So, I don’t particularly need knew mascara right now…but I will need it eventually. In case you were curious, Target has Star Wars mascara and it’s incredibly affordable at $4.99. Fulfill your nerdy destiny and pick up yours today.

Kohls Finds:

“White Sand Shores” Candle and Reversible Marvel Shirt – I had 20% off and a $5 reward so I picked up both of these for a total of $6.

Thrift Store Frinds:

CD: Sam’s Town by The Killers – I picked up this CD is fantastic condition for only $1.99 plus my 20% employee discount! (So really it was only $1.60!)

FAVORITE READ

illuminae.jpg

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I have no idea why it took me so freaking long to read this book! It’s literally perfect, and I loved every second of it (and by loved I mean I cursed it frequently and repeatedly told it how much I hated it). I’m in awe that I got to meet these authors and have a signed ARC of Gemina! Pinch me because I must be dreaming!

Here is the short (slightly erratic) first-round review I posted on Goodreads this morning:

“WOW. Just. a;kldsjf ;lfasf jashf ;aljfk. WOW. I LITERALLY could not put this book down. And I AM using literally in it’s correct form here. I’d been meandering through the first 180 pages at a decent rate, but then last night I read 412 pages in 1 sitting! I started reading at 9 pm and (YES) literally did not stop until I finished the book at 3 am.

I then laid awake in bed for an hour before being able to fall asleep.This book ruined me. Sent me spiraling into the void. Left me incapable of remembering how to human. I have the worst book hangover right now.

This book had literally everything I wanted. A rogue AI, LOTSA space,Resident Evil vibes, what are basically SPACE ZOMBIES. I’m so happy this book exists.

I’M SO FREAKING GLAD I HAVE AN ARC OF GEMINA AND CAN CONTINUE THIS STORY SO SOON. I MIGHT DIE IF I HAD TO WAIT TILL OCTOBER

Full review to come SHORTLY (like mid-next week soon!)”

FAVORITE WATCH

screamimage.jpg

Scream, 1996
Scream 2, 1997
Scream 3, 2000

I’ve been horrible at actually watching up-to-date movies lately. So, here’s yet another throwback.

Scream is my favorite Scary Movie. It’s feminist, it’s kick-ass, it’s got TONS of comic relief, but, most importantlyit’s satireThis movie basically deconstructs the horror genre while also being part of the horror genre. I could write entire freaking volumes of critical analysis on these movies. Seriously. Wes Craven is a damn genius.

The casting is perfect. The acting is perfect. The movies are perfect. If you are a fan of the horror genre, why haven’t you seen these yet??

(If you have already watched these, feel free to chat with me about these movies (Only if you have good things to say, though!); I could talk about them for hours.)

I got this image from a Buzzfeed article talking about a fan theory that is pretty interesting and that I feel pretty confident getting behind. Find the article here.

FAVORITE LISTEN

Of course it had to be a song from my new CD. I’m in love with all of them, but this one particularly stands out to me.

FRIDAY FACEMASK

IMG_3925.JPG

Don’t forget, you can follow me on Snapchat @smashleyyy92. Currently you can see my 3 am meltdown over Illuminae.

THE END

I will see you all again on Sunday! Have a wonderful weekend!

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.

Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

 

One thought on “Friday Favorites – 6/3/2016

Leave a Reply

