Death Note Volumes 3-6 by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

I have a mass review scheduled for today. I’m going to be reviewing 4 volumes of Death Note. I’m way behind on reviews and just checked Death Note, Vol. 7 out from the Library, so I’m shortening up my books to be reviewed a bit by combining the last 4 volumes of Death Note I’ve read before starting the 7th one.

Still, as I’ve been plugging along with the series, I’ve noticed that the plot seems to be staying pretty much the same, so I don’t think this mass review will be super long, but it will be a bit more significant than what you’re used to from me.

Anyway, I guess let’s get on with it then.

*Minor Spoilers Ahead*

DEATH NOTE, VOL. 3: HARD RUN

5/5 Stars
Genre: Manga/Mystery-Crime
First Published: January, 2006
Source: Library

There’s a new Kira in town. It doesn’t take long for Light to notice, as we already know he’s the original Kira. However, he notices even quicker as he hasn’t been using the death note as of late. L’s tightened his security on Light, nearly certain that his suspicions of Light as Kira are correct. 64 microphones and cameras are placed in Light Yagami’s room. Will it be enough to convict him?

deathnotevol4hardrun.jpg

Click HERE for Book’s Goodreads Page

This was my favorite volume of Death NoteA new Kira in town? L tightening his security on Light? Lots of witty banter and some serious bone-chilling horror? It was everything I wanted out of this series. I was hoping this would be the place where the series would really take off for me.

This volume was compulsively readable and an easy page-turner. I was so eager to find out what was going to happen next that I finished this in one sitting at like 1 am. I started it just to get a bit into it, but was fully consumed and had to finish every last page before I went to bed.

I loved the idea of a new Kira being introduced. The concept was awesome and one that really made the story start to get super interesting. There were twists and turns around every corner, and I was constantly on edge wondering what was going to happen next. A+ storytelling in this volume.

I also loved the character development that was happening in this in volume. I loved learning more about Light, his family, the police force, L, but especially about Ryuk – since he’s my favorite character and all.

I definitely recommend you stick around in the Death Note series at least until you get through this volume.

DEATH NOTE, VOL. 4: LOVE

3/5 Stars
Genre: Manga/Mystery-Crime
First Published: March, 2006
Source: Library

There’s a new Kira in town and a new Shinagami too! How will this affect Light’s plans of ridding the world of crime? Will he be able to continue his work safely? But, most importantly, how long will it take him to find this new Kira and make sure that the new Kira doesn’t ruin his work? What does this all mean for Ryuk?

deathnotevol4love.jpg

Click HERE for Book’s Goodreads Page

And we’re back down again. I had super high hopes for this volume, especially since there was a new lead-female character introduced. However, it fell completely short, and I found myself not liking the new Kira at all.

I was really not impressed with the new Kira situation in this volume. loved the idea that it was a girl, but, honestly, I cannot stand Misa Amane. She’s a teenage model and actress and completely air-headed and annoying. The only thing on her mind constantly is her love for Light. She’s beyond stalker-level obsessed with him.

I also thought what bound the 2 characters together was shallow, uninteresting, and totally unbelievable.wanted to like what was happening, but I just couldn’t. I found myself skimming any section that included Misa Misa because it was boring and took away from the high-intensity, horrifying crime that was supposed to be the center of attention.

Still, I did really like the way this one ended. The last 50 pages were crazy and kept me fully interested and on edge. I can’t say I liked the way the story was continuing, but, the final events gave me hope. Was I going to read on anyway? Of course I was. I’m pretty invested in this series.

I don’t particularly recommend this volume, but I wouldn’t sway you not to read it either. It was just okay for me.

DEATH NOTE, VOL. 5: WHITEOUT

3/5 Stars
Genre: Manga/Mystery-Crime
First Published: May, 2006
Source: Library

Light has a decision to make. After being arrested, there’s only one option left he can think of: He buries the death note and says farewell to Ryuk. Will this be forever? Does he have a plan? We have no idea. Now that he remembers nothing, he honestly wants to help out with the investigation and doesn’t believe he could have ever been Kira. This throws L off as well. All the while, Misa Amane’s Shinigami is working out a plan to save her.

deathnotevol5whiteout.jpg

Click HERE for Book’s Goodreads Page

Another volume that was just okay for me. Something that made it even more painful for me was that Ryuk is nowhere to be found. He was my favorite character and not having him in the story made the parts with annoying Misa Misa so much worse. I was finding less and less to look forward to.

liked the new storyline, but nowhere near loved it. I also found that the character development was at a standstill. Light was the only character that actually still had something going for him in the vicinity of growth and further development. I still really love L’s character, but literally everyone else I could take or leave.

I noticed that these books were starting to be cranked out every 2 months and I’m wondering if that had a big influence on the decline of the story. I can imagine it would. Only 2 months to come up with a plot that needs to keep the story interesting and keep it moving along? I can definitely tell that these were cranked out too quickly. (There were also quite a few spelling errors in this volume.)

Overall, I thought the new plot was unfolding in an alright fashion, but I wasn’t hooked. I don’t recommend nor not recommend this one. Read it if you get the chance, but don’t start the series over it. Did I, however, continue reading the series? *grumbles and mumbles* Yeeeees…

DEATH NOTE, VOL. 6: GIVE-AND-TAKE

3/5 Stars
Genre: Manga/Mystery-Crime
First Published: July, 2006
Source: Library

Since Misa Misa, like Light, no longer remembers that she was ever Kira, she is now also working alongside Light and L because (surprise, surprise…) there’s a new Kira in town. This time it fell into the hands of a big business corporation that are no longer trying to fight crime but, instead, are using the book to fight their competitors. (And by fighting I mean killing.) Will the x-police force be able to finally crack the Kira case?

deathnotevol6giveandtake.jpg

Click HERE for Book’s Goodreads Page

The declination of the series continues in this not-so-thrilling volume.

really don’t like the turn this storyline took. It’s bland and not as thrilling as a teenager who found some crazy awesome legend and starts murdering criminals. Now that he’s helping the task force, it’s just not the same.

However, I do believe that light has a plan. And hopefully that plan includes Ryuk coming back in the near future. Especially since (sorry!) I don’t really like Misa’s Shinigami too much. I love that it’s a female, but, once again, she’s a female character that falls flat.

Along with the storyline, the characters themselves seem to be getting more annoying as well. I can’t believe I checked out volume 7, but I guess the last like 3 pages of volume 6 were actually interesting. Ughhh, why am I hooked on this series? When will the madness end?

Also, there were spelling errors in this one as well. These were being published WAY too fast.

Do I recommend this volume? mmmmmeeeeeeeehhhhhh. Read it if, like me, you must, otherwise skip it.

I find this series to be getting way too convenient, which really started to take away from the plot and make it altogether too predictable.

THE END

Do you like the Death Note series? I’m curious to hear your thoughts.

Up Tomorrow: Review of 37 Things I Love (in no particular order)

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Death Note Volumes 3-6 by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

  1. I liked the DeathNote series up until volumes 5. I mean I loved 1,2, and 3 and 4 and 5 were ok but worth reading. I mean I kept reading after just cause I thought I was already too far in but it was not worth it after volume 5 for me. It just kept giving me no answers and the cat and mouse game got super tiring and frankly boring. Everyone’s actions became too predictable. I also could not get pass the disrespect of the female characters especially Misa! There was literally no point to her even the fact that she loved Kira so much was pointless in itself..like why?
    Btw if you really like psychological thrillers, I highly recommend the manga, Monster. It is leagues better than Deathnote in my opinion and the characters are way better too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree with everything you just said. The only reason I’m continuing to read them is because my Library has them, so I don’t have to spend any money on them. I’m going to try volume 7, but if it continues to be flat (and rather boring), I think I’m going to give the series up. It sucks that the female characters aren’t strong. It’s my biggest pet peeve in the series (followed right by how predictable and the same it’s getting).
      Thanks for you input! I’m glad I’m not alone in feeling this way. And also thanks for the recommendation. I will definitely be checking that series out 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

