Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Books I’m Afraid to Revisit

It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the lovely The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is “Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed (less love, more love, complicated feelings, indifference, thought it was great in a genre until you became more well read in that genre etc.)”

I decided to put a little twist on this and list 10 books I’m absolutely horrified to revisit because I’m afraid they won’t live up to my fond memories of them.

These are in no particular order. All photos linked to Goodreads.

ONE

rhymeswithwitches.jpg

I must have read this book 4 or 5 times between 7th and 11th grade, and I have such a highly-praised remembrance of this book that I’m terrified if I reread it, I won’t like it anymore, and that would absolutely shatter me.

TWO

charlottesweb.jpg

I haven’t read this book since grade school, and I still own the copy I got way back when I was a small girl. I’m terrified to pick it back up, especially since I read Stuart Little not too, too far back and really didn’t like it at all. I may never read this book again.

THREE

theoutsiders.jpg

I loved this book so much when I read it in 8th grade. It reduced me to tears and, especially now, I understand why it’s required reading. (Or at least why it was. Is it still?) I remember this book so fondly that I nearly broke down and cried in Barnes & Noble when I came across a signed copy in which S.E. Hinton signed it with “Stay Gold!” I’ll reread it eventually, but for now I’m still too scared.

FOUR

thehistorian.jpg

I brag up this book so much and so often, and I’m absolutely terrified to revisit it. It’s been 7 years, and I totally want to read it again, but I just don’t know. There’s no way it can disappointment, though, right? RIGHT? Kostova spent 10 years putting this book together; it has to be as good as I remember it!

FIVE

thebfg.jpg

OH MY GOD I’M SO AFRAID TO REREAD THIS ONE YOU CAN’T EVEN UNDERSTAND. 

I have OCD, and frequently, especially as a child, that shows in me religiously reading and watching the same books or movies/tv shows that I’ve read/seen a gazillion times. It’s gotten a bit better as I’ve gotten older (book wise, not movie wise 😛 ), but the more I analyze my childhood, the more I realize the early signs of this disorder. One of them was rereading books over and over and over. It was all very ritualistic.

So, where I’m going with this is that in 2nd grade we had story time (where we sat in a circle on mushroom chairs and drank packets of milk), and after our teacher read us this book, I knew needed it as if my very life depended on it.

So, when the next scholastic book order was sent in, you bet I got my mom to order me a copy of this. I must have read this book somewhere between 30 and 40 times while I finished up my 2nd grade year. I was obsessed.

I think, too, this is one of the reasons that I hold this book up so highly because it not only helped me by providing me an awesome adventure, but it helped me cope with a disorder I couldn’t understand.

Wow, okay, way more detail than anyone asked for, but do you see why I’m so terrified to revisit this book?

I still own the same copy from my childhood, and it stares at me wanting-ly from my shelf.

OMG HAVE YOU SEEN THE TRAILER FOR THE MOVIE YET? IT LOOKS FANTASTIC AND I NEARLY WEPT.

SIX

mrpopperspenguins.jpg

I’ll save you the long-winded explanation on this one by saying that this was my BFG of 3rd grade. Same ritualistic OCD behavior, same outlet that helped me, unknowingly, deal with my disorder.

And same exact fear of rereading this and not loving it. This one is especially special to me because penguins are my favorite animals. I don’t know if that was encouraged or merely supported by this book.

Lord give me the strength to reread these wonderful books someday.

Like The BFG, I still own my original copy of this book.

SEVEN

tuckeverlasting.jpg

Yet another book I’ve idolized since I was just a wee little Ashley. This was required reading in 3rd grade for me, and I fell in love.

I didn’t obsess over this book, only reading it twice, but I’m still so scared to reread it. I did recently read a different Babbitt book and really enjoyed it, so I think it might be safe to revisit this one.

Yet another book that I still own my original copy of from way back when.

(I’ve always been a book collector…even before I knew what that meant!)

EIGHT

vampireknight.jpg

I used to really like this series when I was in high school. I didn’t make it super far into it, but I’ve been wanting to reread it for awhile. I’ve been putting it off, though, since I don’t want to ruin the memories I associate with this series. However, this might be the one I’m closest to rereading as I’ve committed and started picking up random volumes as I find them cheap.

NINE

thegentlemensalliance.jpg

This is another series I was reading around the same time as Vampire Knight. I’ve been wanting to get back into Manga (and have been reading the Death Note series), but I’m so scared to reread this one because I really liked it.Yet I want to reread it. Yet I’m scared. This struggle is so real.

TEN

goosebumps.jpg

Okay, so I’m kind of cheating on this one a bit, since I’m no longer scared to reread R.L. Stine’s books, since I’ve already started! I was super afraid to reread them, though, since I held them at such a high childhood respect. There was no need to worry, though, because I’ve loved what I’ve read so far!

THE END

What books are you afraid to reread? What books made you TTT this week? Leave your link in the comments!

Up Tomorrow: Review of Six Months Later

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

 

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Books I’m Afraid to Revisit

    1. Ooo, that’s a good idea! I’ve been so worried about thinking if I should read it before the movie that I never gave much thought to the possibilities (and less stress haha) that open up if I read it after the movie. That definitely might be better. Thanks so much for reading and for the suggestions 🙂

      Like

      1. I think it looks amazing too! I can’t wait. I’m so excited for the new Alice movie too. I hope it’s as good as it looks!

        Like

    1. It’s such a struggle when deciding to reread childhood books. That’s why I rarely do it. I’ve reread 2 by R.L. Stine so far (1 young adult and 1 goosebumbps book) and I really enjoyed them, but it’s definitely a different experience reading them as an adult. It’s such a hard decision to make though, regarding such loved books!

      Like

  1. I have so many of these books as well! I particularly read some books by my favourite author when I was young, Cornelia Funke, and realized the book wasn’t that good when I reread it as an older person. It’s super disappointing and I try to not reread my childhood books anymore hahaha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh gosh, I bet. I haven’t had any that disappointed me mainly because I haven’t reread any haha. There’s nothing worse than that feeling of disillusionment though. Thanks for reading 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

