Mash-Up Monday – Theme Songs

This is only my second Theme Songs post? What? I feel like I’ve done more than that!

Wow.

Since I’ve only done one of these posts, here’s a refresher of what it’s all about. The Broke and the Bookish did a Top Ten Tuesday theme with this same idea. I loved it so much that I decided to make Theme Songs a regular feature on my blog.

How it works:
I put my iTunes on shuffle and then choose a book that I think the song would make a perfect theme song for!

So, here are 5 theme songs for 5 books.

Songs are linked to YouTube; Books are linked to Goodreads.

ONE

“Candle (Sick and Tired)” by The White Tie Affair

cathysbook.jpg

This was actually a tough one, but I decided on Cathy’s Book by Jordan Weisman. The song, like the book, seems to have the kind of break-up but unresolved theme, so they seem to be good for each other. Plus, the line “I’d be lying if I told you losing you was something I could handle” is perfect for the main character.

TWO

“Indie Rokkers” by MGMT

accidentseason.jpg

I wasn’t a huge fan of The Accident Season, but this song really fits for it none the less. This book had a very eerie, indie feel – the same type of feel this song has. It seems like a good match to me, especially since I can totally picture some of the scenes from the book while listening to this song.

THREE

“Mistaken for Strangers” by The National

mrsdalloway.jpg

This one was actually really tough for me, because I have a very specific story in my head for this song. I imaging a couple that don’t know why they’re together anymore but continue to go through the motions.

Eventually, I came up with Mrs. Dalloway, since the more I listened to the lyrics the more it sounded like the tone and words were fitting. In this book, Mrs. Dalloway looks back on her life and wonders if she made the right choices. She catches up with old friends and remembers friends long passed. All the while, her husband plays a minimal role in her day. I could actually write quite a bit more about the similarities, but I’ll let you see if you agree for yourself.

FOUR

“Hallelujah” by Rufus Wainwright

lookingforalaska.jpg

This song was bound to come up as I have 4 different versions of it. (All by different artists.) And, when it did, Looking for Alaska popped into my head right away. I don’t know why I thought of it so suddenly, but as I listened to the song, I could honestly picture the entire book in my head. It seems so fitting.

(Then again, I would probably agree to this song fitting for anything.)

FIVE

“Warm Me Up” by The Audition

annakarenina.jpg

This was another easy one. It’s perfect for Anna’s story, but I imagine the song being sung from the perspective of her lover. Talk about putting a modern spin on an old classic. Or, is it just more proof that people change with society yet continue to stay the same? Am I getting too deep? Did you not want an existential crisis today?

Anyway, I’m probably always going to think about Anna Karenina whenever I hear this song now.

THE END

What do you think of my choices? Agree/disagree? Do you like this feature?

Up Tomorrow: Top Ten Tuesday

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Mash-Up Monday – Theme Songs

Leave a Reply

