Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Books on a Whim

 I finally seemed to be getting back to the regularly scheduled programming, or, blogramming, I guess.

I had some time off work today to rest up and get back on track after what has been a crazy two weeks. I feel like my blogging has been sporadic for longer than it has. I’ve been having a lovely (exhausting) time, but I’m happy to be getting back to some structure.

S0, that means it’s time for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is 10 books you picked up on a whim, knowing very little about them before reading them.

This happens to me quite frequently, so this shouldn’t be so hard.

Here are, in no particular order, the last few books I picked up on a whim.

*click each image for book’s Goodreads page*

ONE

4/5 Stars

batmanlonghalloween.jpg

I picked this one up at the Library not knowing much about it. I love Batman and DC Comics in general, so it’s not an odd one for me to have checked out. I was pleasantly surprised to find out it was one of the main inspirations for the Batman Begins series (including Batman Begins, The Dark Knight, and The Dark Knight Rises).

Also, there’s TONS of Catwoman in this collection, and she’s my fave, so that was awesome as well.

TWO

5/5 Stars

amuletvol1.jpg

Another book I picked up from the Library. I knew this was a popular series, but that’s literally all I knew when I picked up this book. I was so surprised by how deeply I fell in love with it. I devoured the first 2 books in one day and bought the 3rd volume at BookCon2016 last Saturday signed.

THREE

3.5/5 Stars

fairytalecomics.jpg

Yet another Library pick up. This is what the Library does to me: Causes me to pick up tons of books I wouldn’t normally buy. I didn’t like this one as much as the previous 2 books, but it was still a fun read.

FOUR

5/5 Stars

batmanscarecrowandtwoface.jpg

I get a lot of graphic novels and comics from the Library; can you tell? This is another one I picked up and one that I ended up really liking. It was interesting, especially to read about Scarecrow’s past, which doesn’t come up to often (or at all really from what I’ve read, seen, and heard).

FIVE

1/5 Stars

thenewfrontier.jpg

Welp, sometimes picking up books on a whim doesn’t always pay off. This was another Library find, and it was a boring one. I liked the concept and the ideas but not the execution. Oh well, you can’t win them all.

SIX

2/5 Stars

leanord.jpg

Another Library pick up that I didn’t care for. I didn’t think I would be impressed with this, but I was curious. It was hard to like this book when it was mainly Shatner’s narcissistic self rambling mostly about his own life and very little about his and Leonard’s friendship.

SEVEN

2/5 Stars

 alice.jpg

This one was not a Library find, but one that I actually spent money on. I picked it up at the bookstore because I couldn’t resist that cover. Unfortunately, the story wasn’t really for me, and I ended up not liking this very much.

EIGHT

5/5 Stars

deathofsuperman.jpg

Another Library comic checkout. And another one I really liked. Plus, it was relevant to the new Batman v Superman movie, so it was kind of cool I came across this comic right before I saw the movie.

I guess it’s true that things come into our lives when we need them?

NINE

4/5 Stars

37thingsilove.jpg

Okay, so basically all my “on a whim” books come from the Library. This one is no exception. I picked it up because, um, well, look at that cover! I ended up really liking this one, so the cover snatch paid off.

TEN

5/5 Stars

dragonsbreath.jpg

Wow, wow, wow! This was my most recent favorite whim(sical) pick-up! I loved this story. I can’t wait to read more by this author. Plus, I follow her on social media, and she seems lovely, so even more motivation to pick her other books up!

That wraps things up. Have you read any of my “on a whim” books? Agree/disagree? Anything to rec me?

What books made you TTT this week? Leave you link in the comments!

Up Tomorrow: Review of Twister: The Science of Tornadoes and the Making of a Natural Disaster Movie

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Books on a Whim

  1. The library will get you every time! But is easy on the budget, so who can resist?

    Thanks for sharing. I have not read any of these books, but I can see why you were inspired by a fit of whimsy to read them. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have quite a few that don’t work out too, so I totally know how that goes. I don’t like to take gambles too often if I’m actually purchasing the book, but at least when they’re from the Library I get to return them and am not out any money 😀 It sucks when you spent money on the book, though. I was so sad about that Alice book on my list because I paid a good chunk of money for that one 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are lucky to have a library nearby I don’t have that facility available here so you can imagine what a huge source I’m missing and therefore I usually end up buying the books and wishing I had bought another! 😛 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ohh yes. I am SO thankful for my Library. I wish everyone could have easy access to one! Nothing’s worse than spending earned money on a book that turns out not to be good 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve always been interested in reading Alice because it’s a dark fairytale retelling like The Child Thief. What was your reason for not liking it?

    Like

    1. I was super excited to read that book, but, unfortunately, the plot was a little underdeveloped for me. I thought a lot of the story and characters could have used more depth. I also thought the ending was a bit anticlimactic. What really bothered me though was all the detailed rape scenes. It was a bit much for me. But, I also tend to avoid any talk of rape in horror. It’s not my thing, even if it is trying to prove a point for how horrible the society in the story is for women. The book wasn’t for me, but a lot of people like it. I’d be curious to hear your opinion if you do end up reading it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh ok..hmm..rethinking about whether I want to read about it because I find detailed rape scenes to be problematic..maybe sometime in the future but not a priority

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I feel the same way about them. I almost stopped reading and didn’t finish. I feel like I’m the oddball who didn’t like it, but it just wasn’t for me. Let me know if you do end up reading it!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Well by now you probably know that I’m a book hoarder/compulsive book buyer. #noshame A lot of my purchases are book cover buys as well. XD And all these graphic novels! Lately, I’ve been purchasing and reading a lot of manga. I haven’t given graphic novels a try yet. Nice list, Ashley!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so easy for us book hoarders to buy books just for the cover 😛 I’m guilty of that too! haha. I’ve been getting into graphic novels over the past few years, but my obsession seems to be growing! I keep meaning to get back into manga. Eventually that’s going to happen! If you’re looking for a nice transition from Manga to Graphic novels, you might like the Amulet series. I just started reading it, but I’m super hooked! It’s got elements of both manga and graphic novels. Basically, I just want an excuse to talk about it because it’s lovely 😀 Thanks for reading Summer! Hope school and everything is going well with you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, Ashley! Everything has been fine so far. 🙂 And thank you for the recommendation. I’m certainly going to give that series a try if it’s that good. When I looked it up I noticed that the author is the guy that illustrated the new HP covers so the art must be amazing! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Glad to hear things are going well! I hope you like it! I’m super in love with the art. There’s not much wording on the pages, but I found myself taking lots of time reading it still just to appreciate how gorgeous the books (that I’ve read so far) are!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

