Book Con 2016

I was going to doll this post up yesterday, but I was SO FREAKING EXHAUSTED after BookCon and then after having to be up and to work by 8 am yesterday morning.

But, that’s okay, because today is random post day anyway. So, here’s what I all scored at BookCon!

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 6.32.31 PM.png

What a haul, huh?

So, let’s get in to some details, shall we?

Yes, yes we shall.

IMG_2351.JPG

These were all fun little freebies. The coloring book advertisement actually has some samples to color in it! I especially like the little book quote cards and the “Gutsy Girl” pin.

I really like the Penguin Teen tote bag and am excited to read the chapter samples from the book Our Chemical Hearts.

The quirky octopus chasing the boy are temporary tattoos.

IMG_2352.JPG

Where to even start with this photo? Oh em geeeee.

These were all freebies as well, except Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl, which I picked up for $4.

The Image Comics book on the left is a list of all their anticipated releases coming up. The booklet on the right has actual samples from a few new comics!

I got a free chapter from Veronica Roth’s new book Carve the Mark, which I’m sure will just make me die of anticipation for the entire book.

The Epic Reads booklet has all kinds of fun stuff like anticipated releases, quizzes, chapters from books to be released, and A DELETED CHAPTER FROM ALLEGIANT. How awesome!

The “Fangirls Rule the World” was also a free sampling, though I have yet to look at it in depth to know what’s all in there.

IMG_2353.JPG

I GOT BOTH OF THESE BOOKS FOR FREE. OH LORD I’M SO HAPPY.

The Lois Lane one I actually won by spinning a wheel. And, I’m so excited to get my hands on the first one and start this series because I know Evie @justanotherbelle likes it! I remember reading her review of the first one, so when I saw the second one was a viable prize at this booth, I knew I HAD to have it. Thank god luck was on my side!

I’m also dying over getting Jesse Eisenberg’s book free! I was given a free copy because I met Sherman Alexie and bought one of his books. How cool is that? I got to meet an awesome author and get a free (HARDCOVER!) book written by one of my favorite people!

THEY’RE BOTH SO PRETTY

IMG_2355IMG_2356

I love Quirk Books so much. They had this Zombie Star Trek book, and I honestly don’t know what book could be better suited for me. They only charged me $10 for the book and then I got this Paint the ’90s! book for free! How cool!

IMG_2358.JPG

These were all freebies. I’ve already started Six Months Later and really like it so far. That children’s book looks super cute, and the big, thick book there was endorsed by Stephen King! I’m excited about all these!

IMG_2359.JPG

Rick Yancey wasn’t at BookCon, but I did find a signed copy of The Infinite Sea that I had to splurge on and buy. I don’t care if I already owned a copy of this book; I needed this. The tote bag is the back side of the Penguin Teen one. How fitting, right?

IMG_2360.JPG

More signed copies I came across, even though the authors weren’t actually there. This William Shakespeare’s Star Wars novel is another one I already own. BUT, Ian Doescher signed it “May the Bard be with you!”, and I needed that in my life. So, I bought it!

I also recently started the Amulet series, and I’m already in love with it (even though I’ve only read the first 2 volumes so far). I decided to buy volume 3 signed, because, I mean, HOW COOL.

The Grimm’s Fairy Tales poster was a freebie.

IMG_2369.JPG

This poster is honestly my favorite freebie! It was the first thing I received after walking onto the show floor. DINOSAUR AUTHORS. I PHYSICALLY CAN’T. I’M FRAMING THIS.

IMG_2361IMG_2362

Not only did I get a free ARC copy of Wonder Women by Sam Maggs, I also got to meet her! She was absolutely fabulous, and I’m still fangirling over it. At least she understands the feels!

IMG_2363.JPG

I know I read a review of this by someone I follow on WordPress, but I’m not sure who! (Was it you?) Anyway, it was a positive one, so when I came across this author at the Image Comics booth, I had to stop, meet him, and buy his book.

He was such a nice guy, and that makes me even more excited to read this!

IMG_2364.JPG

Sherman Alexie was such a fun author to meet. I got to talk to him for a few minutes, so that was pretty cool. I’m really excited to read more of his work! Plus, I had to buy a book to meet him, but it was only $7 – aka super affordable.

IMG_2365IMG_2366

I waited in line 2 hours to receive this free ARC and meet these authors. Every second was completely, 100 percent worth it. I haven’t read Illuminae yet, but I have to get to it now because these two people were so freaking lovely.

Jay Kristoff has a new book coming out, and he described it as a female-lead Harry Potter but with assassins. How awesome does that sound? I can’t wait to read it!

IMG_2367IMG_2368

And…dun dun dun…THE GRAND FINALE.

If you’ve been following this blog for awhile now, you’ll know my love for these two fantastic authors.

And, I GOT TO MEET THEM BOTH!

Lucy Knisley was so lovely, and I was totally geeking and gushing to her telling her how much I love her work and how happy I was to meet her. She was super, super nice and drew me on top the wedding cake in her new book! I about died. You have no idea! She even got my little hair flips and the stripes in the sweater I was wearing!

Then, as if that wasn’t cool enough, I got to meet David Arnold too! He was just as awesome as I thought he would be, and uber nice! He even shook my hand and introduced himself! (As if I didn’t know exactly who he was.)

I told him I had been looking forward to meeting him all day and then immediately started gushing about how much I loved the book. I also mentioned that I was excited for his next book (I totally know he’s working on because it comes out in November!), and he was happy and thankful for all my praise.

Then, he asked me if, and I quote, “Do you want me to draw you a bus?” I had no idea what that entailed, but of course I said YES!. And so now I have a bus drawn in the front of this awesome book!

All in all, BookCon was so awesome, and I can’t believe all the luck I had! It was totally worth getting up at 4:30 am on 3.5 hours of sleep to catch the train to Chicago to experience all this.

I think April @swimmingthroughliterature are already scheming about how we’ll make it all the way to New York for it next year πŸ˜›

Were any of you at BookCon this year? Did you meet anyone cool? Please feel free to spill and gush with me because I could talk about this convention for EONS.

Up Tomorrow: Top Ten Tuesday

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

13 thoughts on “Book Con 2016

      1. OMG yes that would be so fun to plan a trip and meet up with you, Evie! And duh, Ashley, we have to go. WE HAVE TO.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. So. Freaking. Jealous! I saw this post and I clicked into it so fast, haha. It is so awesome you got an ARC of Gemina! You must read Illuminae it’s awesome and then hurry up and read the sequel so you can tell me how great it is, haha. Also I am dying for Jay Kristoff’s new book “Nevernight” and the way he described it makes me even more excited.
    Awesome, awesome post Ashley! So glad you had a great time at Book Con! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Heather! I’m definitely glad I went to it! I will totally be ordering Illuminae in the NEAR future. I’ve been wanting to read it so bad, but now I HAVE to read it! Especially since the authors were so nice and incredibly awesome. Kristoff’s new book sounds fantastic. As soon as he said a female-lead Harry Potter I told him I was sold and couldn’t wait to read it! Thanks for reading my post that was basically all fangirling πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I really, really hope you enjoy Illuminae and I loved this post that was all fangirling because my comment was also all fangirling haha πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. I’ve been wanting to write a blog post about BookCon, but I honestly have no idea where to start! There’s still so much fangirling going on in my head that I can’t possibly sort my thoughts all out yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know how I even got this one out. It was basically just an excuse to continue to fangirl bahaha

      Like

Leave a Reply

