Sunday Review –5/1/2016

HOW IS IT MAY ALREADY?

This year is going WAY TOO FAST.

Someone slow it down!

Why does it seem the years start speeding up the older we get? Time is a scary thing.

But, hold on, I’m catching myself here. This is not the time or the place to fall into an existential crisis.

This is a place to talk about books! And that’s exactly what I’m hear to talk about.

But first, I have an important update that may (pun not intended) affect my blogging schedule this week. I’m taking a short little road trip out to visit a friend, and I’m not quite sure what to expect or how much I’ll feel like blogging. I’m still going to try and post like usual, but I’ll just be playing it by ear.

If you want to keep up with me during this mini-vacation, be sure to check out my social media platforms listed on the bottom of this post. (I recommend following my Instagram and Snapchat if you’re looking to keep up with the trip progress.)

Nowwwww it’s on with the books!
(And there’s a lot of them. I went on quite the binge this last week.)

image.jpeg

Blog Posts

Monday: Mash-Up Monday – Vampire Book Recommendations
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday – Bookish Delights
Wednesday: Book Review – Spider-Girl, Vol. 5: Endgame by Tom DeFalco and Pat Olliffe
Thursday: Book Review – Goody Hall by Natalie Babbitt
Friday: Friday Favorites – 4/29/2016

Bought

Batman Vs. Superman: The Greatest Battles by Various Authors
Inkheart by Cornelia Funke
The Merciless
by Danielle Vega
The Raven Boys 
by Maggie Stiefvater
The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
Blue Lily,  Lily Blue by Maggie Steifvater

Borrowed

Fairy Tale Comics by Various Artists
Amulet, Vol. 1: The Stonekeeper by Kazu Kibuishi
Amulet, Vol. 2: The Stonekeeper’s Curse by Kazu Kibuishi
Binky the Space Cat by Ashley Spires
Binky to the Rescue by Ashley Spires
Binky Under Pressure by Ashley Spires
Batman: The Long Halloween by Jeph Loeb and Tim Sale
Dealing with Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede
Supergirl, Vol. 1: Last Daughter of Krypton by Michael Green, Mike Johnson, and Mahmud Asrar
Suicide Squad, Vol. 1: Kicked in the Teeth by Adam Glass, Federico Dallocchio, and Clayton Henry

Finished

Blankets by Craig Thompson – 4/5 Stars
Binky the Space Cat by Ashley Spires – 5/5 Stars
Binky to the Rescue by Ashley Spires – 5/5 Stars
Binky Under Pressure by Ashley Spires – 4/5 Stars
Amulet, Vol. 1: The Stonekeeper by Kazu Kibuishi – 5/5 Stars
Amulet, Vol. 2: The Stonekeeper’s Curse by Kazu Kibuishi – 5/5 Stars
Fairy Tale Comics by Various Artists – 3.5/5 Stars
Death Note, Vol. 6: Give-and-Take by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata – 3/5 Stars

Attempted

The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail by Richard Peck

Unfortunately, this book was too bland and uneventful to keep my interest. I gave up on page 48.

Currently Reading

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart (on hold while I await my new copy coming in the mail)
The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling
Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith, Jane Austen, and Philip Smiley
The Husband List 
by Janet Evanovich and Dorien Kelly
The Defeatist 
by Sophie Bowns
To Kill a Mockingbird 
by Harper Lee
50 Great Short Stories 
by Milton Crane
The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe

The Canterbury Tales 
by Geoffrey Chaucer
The Writer’s Daily Companion: 365 Inspirations and Writing Tips 
by Amy Peters
Chicken Soup of the Coffee Lover’s Soul by Jack Canfield and Theresa Peluso
Moby Dick 
by Herman Melville

Wahoo. That does it for last week. See what I mean when I went on a binge? I read 7 graphic novels in less than 24 hours. Wowza. (My car was in the shop and I was off work, so I figured I could get away with it, since I was stuck at home anyway.)

Did you read anything good last week? Anything you’re dying to recommend? (Please do!)

Up Tomorrow: Mash-Up Monday (not sure what feature yet.)

Bear with me as this week will surely be a crazy one!

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Sunday Review –5/1/2016

  1. Inkheart was my favourite when I was younger 😄
    And I can’t wait to find out your thoughts on The Ask and the Answer! It’s not my favourite from the trilogy but I looove the whole series as a whole.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t wait to read Inkheart. I somehow missed the boat of reading it when I was younger! I’m so sucked in to the Knife of Never Letting Go series. If I didn’t have other obligations, I would be finished with the second book already!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

