Spider-Girl, Vol. 5: Endgame by Tom DeFalco and Pat Olliffe

5/5 Stars

Okay, actually getting a post out nice and (somewhat) early today. I’ve been on a book binge the last two days (because I was off from work and my car is in the shop so I couldn’t go anywhere), but now it’s back to reality. I ended up reading 7 graphic novels and started a children’s book. Crazy stuff! Except now I have a nice little annoying eye twitch going. #bookwormproblems

Anyway, today’s review is about a comic book I read quite awhile ago. (I’m so behind on reviews…like 20 books behind, and I’m not even exaggerating. At least I’m stocked up for awhile and you know something will always be coming.)

Anyway…On with this review!

This bind-up collects issues #22-27 of Spider-Girl. Throughout these issues we see Mayday, May, Parker – daughter of Spider-Man – take on Wolverine’s son. That, however, is just a small battle compared to the plan that Funny Face has in store for our young Spider-Girl. He puts together the Savage Six in order to take down Spider-Girl once and for all. That’s still not all, though. Normie, the great-grandson of the original Green Goblin, is back. Him and May face off near the end of the book. There’s even more going on with May facing the struggles that come with growing up as well as, oh no!, loosing her spider powers. Will she win her battles? Or is she done for good?

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 11.43.25 AM.png

*click image to go to book’s Goodreads page*

Another spectacular Spider-Girl novel. I love everything about this series. It’s quick reading. It’s fun. It’s uber feminist. It’s tension ridden. It’s diverse. This series has got it all.

The characters in this series continue to grow on me the more I read. It’s so easy for series to start deteriorating after so many volumes, but I believe Spider-Girl has stayed blessedly the same throughout what I’ve read so far.

Since these comics are more for young adults, I find that the endings are always mildly predictable and the fights and baddies are always tame, but that makes these comics a nice, light read. May is a wonderful role model for young girls and an enjoyable character for adults. Also, Raptor is my favorite baddie, and I’m so excited every time I see her make an appearance.

From my synopsis, you can probably gather that these issues pack a lot of punch. There is a lot going on here to keep the reader interested and turning pages. May is facing many problems and many villains. There’s a nice balance of personal adolescent problems and action hero antics. I always like the balance and the emphasis that May is a normal high schooler that faces all these extra struggles because she’s also chosen to spend her spare time fighting crime – like her father used to.

What else can I say about this book? There was plenty of tension that had me wanting to find out what was going to happen next. DeFalco definitely knows how to weave a storyline. He also does a marvelous job of smashing the patriarchy. 

There’s just so much to love. GGAAAHHHHH

The final thing I’ll say is that I really like the art. Olliffe has some wonderful skill in bringing DeFalco’s story to life. I also really love the color work on this series. It’s very pleasing to the eye and aesthetically pleasing to the story.

I’m sure you’re all used to me saying all this already, though. I’ve reviewed so many of these books already. However, I won’t be reviewing any for a little while merely because I haven’t read any in awhile.

I did end up getting my hands on Vol. 1, Vol. 6, and Vol. 7, so I will get around to them sometime in the near(ish) future. I know it’s hard to get your hands on these books because they’re out of print, but if you can, DO SO IMMEDIATELY. They are absolutely worth the read, especially for Comic Book and Superhero Lovers. 

Up Tomorrow: Review of Goody Hall

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Spider-Girl, Vol. 5: Endgame by Tom DeFalco and Pat Olliffe

Leave a Reply

