Mash-Up Monday – Recommendations

Wow, I did not mean for this post to get so late tonight. Oh well, what can you do. I had things to do and places to go.

Well, actually…

I only had 1 place to go…

And it was the Library….

That’s basically all I did today and I’m totally not sorry. But, anyway, here’s a super, super late Recommendation Monday.

Today I’m choosing to recommend my favorite books that feature a vampire. This was actually harder than I thought it would be. I love vampires, but I haven’t read very many great vampire-themed books.

Still, I was able to scrounge up a few. So, here are my recommendations this week.

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

This is a story about a young girl who finds out her parents used to go on attempts to track down one of the most infamous vampires that ever lived. However, after her mother’s mysterious disappearance when the girl was only a child, her father gives up trying to discover the mystery. Or did he? After his disappearance, the girl, now in her early teens, sets out to figure out what happened to him.
This fun and, at times, horrific labyrinth of a story is riddled with accurate history and will quickly become a tale you won’t forget.

Dracula by Bram Stoker

Of course I had to include the infamous Dracula in this list, how could I not? Does it even need a description? I’m sure we’re all at least a little familiar with this book.

The Graveyard Book Graphic Novel by Neil Gaiman adapted by P. Craig Russel
Volume 1 and Volume 2

It’s not vampire-centric, but Silas is definitely one interesting vampire (or-so-we-can-assume). I honestly want an entire book dedicated solely to him. I haven’t read the actual novel of this book yet, but I’m assuming it’s just as lovely as the graphic novel adaptations. Seriously though, how about an entire book on Silas? (Does this already exist?)

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth-Grahame Smith

This isn’t a favorite favorite, but it’s pretty fascinating. I have to warn you, it’s not upbeat, scare-around-every-corner horror. It’s more of a subtle horror. Smith does a good job of weaving vampires into Lincoln’s actual history. It’s been a few years since I read this, but I remember him doing so wonderfully. Plus, there’s an inclusion of Edgar Allan Poe.

Nightlight: A Parody by The Harvard Lampoon

This is a short parody of Nightlight, and it’s hilarious. I always love Harvard Lampoon’s (&team ect.) take on the popular tales in literature. The story occasionally gets ridiculous and horribly unbelievable, but it’s all in good fun.

BONUS!

The Adventures of the Bailey School Kids: Vampire’s Don’t Wear Polka Dots by Debbie Dadey

This was one of my favorite books in elementary school. My love for mythical creatures started early, and The Bailey School Kids really helped along that obsession. (Scooby-Doo did a good job of it too.)
Did you read these books as a kid?

Have you read any of these books? Liked/disliked? Any vampire books to recommend? (Please do!)

Up Tomorrow: Top Ten Tuesday

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Mash-Up Monday – Recommendations

Leave a Reply

