Revival, Vol. 1: You’re Among Friends by Tom Seeley, Mike Norton, and Mark Englert

4.5/5 Stars

Well, the sunny weather seems to have dissipated here in Wisconsin, since this is the second gloomy day in a row. I have to say this weather makes it really hard to get out of bed.

But, on a much happier note. My LootCrate came yesterday, which was a day earlier than expected! So, that was a pretty awesome surprise to come home from work to.

But, anyway. Today I’m reviewing a new zombie comic series I started reading.

In this rural noir created by Tim Seeley, a small town in Wisconsin, Wausau, is plagued by the dead coming back to life. However, this is not your typical zombie comic; Seeley creates something much darker and much more morally challenging. Instead of coming back as mindless vessels, these zombies remember who they were and who their family were before said zombies died and found themselves reanimated. With the town quarantined, how will our main protagonist, officer Dana Cypress, cope with the challenges these reanimated corpses present?

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 6.47.24 PM.png

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

This collection is comprised of issues #1-5 of this comic series. I’m not going to lie, when I first came across this comic series I added it to my TBR for 2 reasons: it’s about zombies, and it takes place in Wisconsin (the state I live in). In other words, I didn’t have high expectations for this new series. That turned out to work in my favor.

Let me start by saying…HOLY WOW. If you thought The Walking Dead was a dark comic, Seeley takes the idea of a zombie outbreak to entirely new levels of darkness. This series is not for the faint of heart. 

That being said, I’m not the faint of heart. I devoured this story and then, of course, felt extremely guilty for how much I enjoyed reading it. This series brings up entirely new questions that even a zombie-lover like myself hasn’t had to encounter before. This is entirely different from anything I’ve ready before.

These zombies remember everything and seem completely harmless…at first. Seeley’s story is filled with the horror that I expected the comic series to contain, but he also dabbles into our moral sense of what is right, what is wrong, and how it’s hard to identify exactly what is right or wrong when emotions are involved. I loved the push-pull of this emotional roller coaster.

I’m also happy to report that the characters were delectable. They’re unique and multi-dimensional, just the way well-written characters should be. I could sympathize with them and also feel their emotions radiating off the page. I felt as though I was facing the same challenges the characters were. That’s flat-out good writing on Seeley’s part.

Alongside that, though, we all know a comic wouldn’t be nearly as good without some great artwork. The panels do a really good job of helping Seeley tell his story and pull the reader even further down into the pit of despair…rabbit hole…the void…or whatever analogy you prefer that this story creates. I enjoyed all the artwork throughout this story. A job well done by the artists. However, if you’re squeamish and don’t like blood/gore, this definitely isn’t a read for you. (What else would you expect fro2m an apocalyptic book, though.)

The last thing that really made me happy and, honestly, pleasantly surprised was the mystery that is unfolding. There’s a reason this isn’t happening all over the nation, and it goes deeper than the work of man…or does it? That’s the fun part. I have no idea! There’s something going on with some sort of ghosties, but right now it’s gratifyingly unknown.

Something big is happening in this little town, and I want to know more about what exactly it is.

Last thing I want to say: I love this female-lead. She’s smart, flawed, and doing her best to make it through life and now through these strange new crimes and resurrections. This story has a nice mix and balance between male and female characters and doesn’t sexualize the females. So a big heck yes for that.

My verdict? I absolutely recommend this comic to readers who enjoy this type of horror-mystery-unsettling genre. But, be wary, there are a lot of devilish and crude things going on in little-old WisCANsin, don’t ye know. Definitely pick this one up if you’re looking for something dark and twisted that will surely keep you on the edge of you seat.

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $9.68.

I already own a copy of the second volume and can’t wait to dive in.

Up Tomorrow: Dragon’s Breath: and Other True Stories

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

5 thoughts on “Revival, Vol. 1: You’re Among Friends by Tom Seeley, Mike Norton, and Mark Englert

  1. omigosh this sounds soo good. I feel there’s a lot of sexism in horror stories and I’m glad this one doesn’t fall into that category. And I find that a lot of horror lacks complexity in their characters so I’m super excited!! Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I totally feel that struggle. It’s so hard to find good horror that doesn’t degrade women. It’s like trying to walk through a minefield. There were a few parts of this comic where I thought it was going to lean that way, but it never really did, thank god! I hope you enjoy it if you get around to reading it! Thanks for reading 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Gotta say this actually sounds pretty interesting, I’m still kind of new to graphic novels so recommendations also help me out. I might have to check this one out, great review as always Ashley! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

