A Cup of Comfort for Writers stories selected by Colleen Sell

3.75/5 Stars

I find that I have so little to talk about before blog posts now that all my shows are over for the season. I guess that’s a good thing, though, since we can dive right into the review!

This is a collection of short stories written by writers to help inspire, or more so make other writers feel like they’re not alone in their struggle. Most of the stories are very short, on average 5 pages, so there are quite a few contained in this small volume.

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 7.35.12 PM.png

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

I don’t have a whole lot to say about this book, so I guess really I probably shouldn’t be writing a review to begin with, yet here I am writing it.

There’s no way I can go into detail about each story because there are like 50 in here. (I can’t remember exactly how many there are.) However, in order to get the rating of 3.75 stars, something that may look strange to my usual followers, I added up all my ratings and divided that number by how many stories there were. I thought that would give this book a realistic and un-biased (by me) rating.

Overall, 3.75/5 is a good rating for this book. I’m not singing this book’s praises from the mountain tops, but I will say that I enjoyed nearly every story in some way. There are some great moments of inspiration, sympathy, and empathy. These are stories from writers who never made it big, but that doesn’t make them writers any less.

I did really enjoy many of the messages that these authors were trying to get across. Most of them discuss how easily life gets in the way of the things we want to accomplish and sometimes it takes a long time to get around to our hopes and aspirations when there are so many other things to get around to.

The idea I liked most is that just because your work is not widely published, or maybe not even published at all, you are still a writer. I liked this message because I know I am a writer even if I’m still working on becoming a published writer.

I definitely recommend that other writer’s check this out, especially if you need a little pick me up. Many of these stories are inspiring and heartwarming. There are a few flukes that didn’t resonate well with me, but most of these were lovely to read.

I noticed that this book is a bit hard to find, but if you do come across it, pick it up and give it a chance.

Up Tomorrow: Review of Return of the Living Deadpool

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “A Cup of Comfort for Writers stories selected by Colleen Sell

Leave a Reply

