Mash-Up Monday – Theme Songs

It’s time for another Mash-Up Monday post. A few weeks back The Broke and the Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday topic was theme songs for books. (Or some sort of variation of that.) I ended up putting my iTunes on shuffle and then pairing a book with the song that came up.

I had so much fun with this that I’m going to be making it a Mash-Up Monday feature.

(Now, I know I saw somewhere else that another blog does this, and I can’t remember who it was for the life of me. I didn’t mean to steal their (your?) idea, but this is such a fun thing to do because it mixes up my blog even more and allows for more recommendations.)

So, on the occasional Monday I will be listing 5 (completely random) songs and then pairing a book with each that I think the song would be a perfect theme for. Sounds fun, right? I hope so!

Now, down to business.

“Fitzpleasure” by Alt-J

revival.jpg

For some reason I think these two fit together really well. “Fitzpleasure” has a sort of low-key eerie sound and this comic has the same sort of feel. “Fitzpleasure” would also be a great theme for this because the melody of the song itself if beautiful and intense, also like this comic.

“Not Coming Home” by Maroon 5

deathnotevol3.jpg

This song is perfect for Death Note, especially Vol. 2. Light has created a bed for himself to lie in with the whole Kira business, and he’s made some pretty serious choices that seclude him from the world and his family. He’s pushed many people away. Plus, the melody has the same type of feel I get from this book. (I understand I’m mixing cultures here, but I think it works. I mean absolutely no disrespect by doing so.)

“What If” by Simple Plan

letsgetlost.jpg

For some reason, this song stuck out as the perfect theme song for this book. Leila has a lot of questions and is dealing with some pretty heavy stuff. She doesn’t know what’s going to happen for her future or how she’s going to deal with it yet. Plus, this song has a very self-discovery road trip vibe.

“You’re So Vain” by Carly Simon 

deadpoolvol2.jpg

Deadpool is so vain he definitely thinks this song is about him. I don’t know why, but this totally feels like the perfect theme song for Deadpool. I love Deadpool just as much as this song, and that really says something about how much I truly enjoy Deadpool. Him and this song are the perfect combination. Couldn’t you just see Deadpool strolling down the street to this song?

“Change” by Churchill

ghostworld.jpg

This song totally fits with this story about a girl trying to fit in and survive adolescence. She’s unsettled by the world around her and how much it has the power to change her and make her unhappy. The alternative melody also fits well with the alternative air of the story.

Wow, that was nearly all graphic novels. I guess that’s just the way the cookie crumbled this week. What do you all think of this feature? Should I keep it? I thought it was fun 🙂

Thoughts on my choices? Agree/disagree?

Up Tomorrow: Top Ten Tuesday

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Mash-Up Monday – Theme Songs

Leave a Reply

