Mash-Up Monday – Coffee Book Tag

Look at the time…It’s time for a book tag. And, what better tag than the coffee book tag. I’ve been itching to do this one ever since Summer @xingsings tagged me for it seeing how much I love coffee. (I’m currently on my 3rd cup of the day as I write this.)

I don’t have much else to say, so on with the tag!

BLACK
A series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

IMG_2048.JPG

The Lord of the Rings is a series that I love, but I feel like it’s definitely a hard one to get into. The plot can be kind of slow paced and the language can be daunting, but it definitely has a huge following. (Me included!)

PEPPERMINT MOCHA
A book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year.

IMG_2060.JPG

I don’t have too many Christmas-themed books, at least none that I could immediately think to use for this answer, but what’s more Christmas-y than penguins (even if they don’t actually live at the north pole). (Also, I’m biased. They’re my favorite animals.) So, Mr. Popper’s Penguins it is! I’ve had this exact copy of this book since 3rd grade. Crazy stuff, huh? Also, it was fate since I had already been wearing this shirt. I put it on because it’s only like 35ºF here today. This picture was just meant to be.

HOT CHOCOLATE
A favorite children’s book.

IMG_2064.JPG

Two children’s books in row…woops! Oh well. This has always been a favorite Doctor Seuss book (although not my absolute favorite one). I love the animated movie too. So well done.

DOUBLE SHOT OF ESPRESSO
A book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

IMG_2065.JPG

This was my first Star Trek book, and I loved it. Packed with tension-ridden twists and turns and the beloved characters of the series, this book was a read that had me ready to find out what was going to happen next until the very end. (Just like an episode!)

STARBUCKS
A book you see everywhere.

IMG_2066.JPG

This one was actually hard for me to choose. I own a lot of books that you see everywhere, but I haven’t read many of them yet. In fact, I’ve still only read the first book in this series. (I know, I working on it!)

THAT HIPSTER COFFEE SHOP
A book by an indie author (a shoutout).

IMG_2067.JPG

Alice in Tumblr-Land by Tim Manley. It’s so Hipster that it’s almost too cool for this question. Really though, it’s a fantastic read!

OOPS! I ACCIDENTALLY GOT DECAF
A book you were expecting more from.

IMG_2069.JPG

If you’re friends with me on Goodreads, you may have already seen my short review of how much I loathed this book. I was so excited because I have OCD and love The Big Lebowski. However, this book was just terrible and not anywhere near and accurate representation of the mental disorder (and also contained hardly any references to the movie.

THE PERFECT BLEND
A book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying.

IMG_2070.JPG

Okay, so I haven’t actually finished this series yet either. (I know; I know) But, it seemed like a perfect fit for this question. It’s definitely bitter sweet, but ultimately worth while.

GREEN TEA
A book or series that is quietly beautiful.

IMG_2072.JPG

I just finished this book a few hours ago, so I still haven’t thought too critically about it. However, I found that buried beneath all the jokes and satire, there were some very beautiful things happening/being written about. It’s an incredibly strange book, but I wouldn’t expect anything else from the man who plays Fox Mulder.

CHAI TEA
A book or series that makes you dream of far off places.

IMG_2073.JPG

This book is filled to the brim with Magical Realism and definitely had me dreaming of far-off places. Each short story is set in a different place around the world that made my soul ache to be there.

EARL GREY
Favorite classic.

IMG_2074.JPG

One of my favorite classics. Once again I’ve included another book I haven’t read. I need to get around to Go Set a Watchman, but I’m afraid, especially since I love To Kill a Mockingbird so much (I’m currently on my third read of it), and am afraid of the second one ruining the book for me. The struggle is so real.

I TAG

Samer @bookbubblebee
Ami @luvtoread
@theorangutanlibrarian
Charley @booksandbakes1
Evie @justanotherbelle
Larkin @wonderfilledreads
Ayunda @tea&paperbacks
Alysyn @reinreads
Erika @erikainbookventureland
April @swimmingthroughliterature

AND YOU!

So sorry if you’ve already done this. As always, there are no obligations.

That does it for me today. Time to go to the Library 😀

Up Tomorrow: Top Ten Tuesday

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

15 thoughts on “Mash-Up Monday – Coffee Book Tag

    1. Oh my goodness you are too kind!! Thanks so much for reading 😀 (I’m very inconsistent on Insta, but I hope you like it hehe)

      Like

    1. I’ll read it eventually, haha, but I’m so scared and nervous to. I might just put it off forever 😛 You are most welcome! I hope you have fun with it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

