Friday Favorites (A Conglomeration)

Well, I’ve made it to Friday, and I’m trying out this new feature. I’m not sure if I’m going to keep it yet, so this is a tentative feature. I’m going to wait and see how people respond to it.

So, what is Friday Favorites going to be all about? I’m thinking it’s going to be about some of my favorite finds, watches, reads, and listens during the past week.

It’s not going to focus solely on books – just because (as most of you know or relate to) I run a book blog doesn’t mean there aren’t other cool findings outside of books.

And that’s what these Friday posts are going to focus on. A few things I discovered, watched, bought, came across, or have been loving this past week.

Bear with the messiness of this post. Like I said, it’s only a try-out, so don’t judge it too harshly.

Now, without further ado, here are some of the things I’ve been loving this week.

Favorite Finds

IMG_2046.JPG

Jurassic World. I picked this movie up at Target on sale for $7, which is all I’d be willing to pay for it. As much as I loved so much about it (especially all the easter eggs I sobbed over), I’m still fuming that they broke canon and killed (pretty violently) a woman. (I knew this was going to happen.)
What part of this quote wasn’t remembered?:
“God creates dinosaurs. God destroys dinosaurs. God creates man. Man destroys God. Man creates dinosaur.”
“Dinosaurs eat man. Woman inherits the earth.”
(That was quoted from memory folks. AND IT WAS CANON. It was canon. Whyyyy.)

GoosebumpsI also acquired the Goosebumps movie, which is definitely a new favorite. (I saw it in theaters and loved it just as much watching it for the second time.)

Shoes. Aren’t they adorable? They’re totally new favorites, and I only paid $14.99 at Target.

Wonder Woman Pop Vinyl. I bought the Wonder Woman action figure (that I just had to get after seeing BvS) and found it on clearance at Target for only $4.48. What a steal; I couldn’t pass it up!

New Socks. These adorable socks were on clearance for 90¢.

Little NemoI actually found the VHS tape of this movie more than a week ago. But, I wanted to include it because I can’t believe I found it. I used to watch this movie when I was a kid. And then, as I grew up and grew more disillusioned, I was beginning to think I had dreamt this movie since no one else seemed to have ever heard of it and I couldn’t remember the name of it to save my life. Then, I came across it on YouTube and was like, “See, I’m NOT crazy!” Ever since I’ve been keeping my eyes peeled and sure enough, it turned up at the thrift store for 98¢!

Favorite Read

deadpoolvol2 transformersclassicsvol2

I honestly can’t decide which of these was my favorite read this week. I loved them both! I rated Transformers Classics, Vol. 2 a half star higher only because I’m impartial to the comics and can’t look at them in a critical way. Really, they were both probably deserving of 4.5 star ratings.

Favorite Watch

bvs.jpg

I took myself on a date to the movies on Wednesday (and splurged just like a good date should do buying myself a $6 Icee (which was actually a horrible idea because talk about a sugar rush (sometimes I’m convinced I shouldn’t be allowed to be an adult and make my own choices (“Just because you can buy yourself a ginormous cup of sugar, Ashley, doesn’t mean that you should)))

Anyway, there were only 2 reasons I saw this in theaters: 1. I wanted to see how Wonder Woman was going to be portrayed and 2. Jesse Eisenberg. I had no expectations. Even though I’ve always been a huge Batman fan and a pretty significant Superman fan, I still went in with a blank mind. And that blank mind was utterly blown by how much I loved this movie. I would honestly go see it again. Plus, I loved all the easter eggs. There were so many, and I was dying.
I also squealed when the big baddie was introduced because I just read the comic that the second half of this movie is based on last week! (How crazy is that?)

Okay, one last thing about this (I swear it’s the last). Last night on Conan the entire main cast of this movie was on and guess what?! There were 4 men and 4 women! It was equal! A superhero movie was equally cast. AND the first spinoff movie is Wonder Woman’s coming out next year! (*cough cough* MARVEL *cough cough* what are you even doing anymore PLEASE TAKE NOTE (where it my god damn Black Widow movie??) *CAUGH CAUGH AAACK COUGH*) (Also, is this why it’s not getting good ratings? Because pissy white fanboys are upset about the demographics? It’s the only reason I can think of. This movie was great.)

Favorite Listen

This section is a little different and isn’t something new I discovered, but instead a song I’ve been listening to more than usual. I’ve always been a fan of The Lumineers and love their music. However, this week I’ve been listening to my favorite by them more than usual, making this week’s featured song:

“Stubborn Love” – The Lumineers

Well, that’s the end of my new tentative feature. What did you think? Should I keep it? I sure had fun writing it!

I might try this again next week. I’m not sure about this posting 6 days a week yet, but I’ll test the waters and see what happens.

See you all shortly on Sunday for my weekly review.

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites (A Conglomeration)

  1. I definitely love the idea! It’s funny because I actually had a similar one! I adore The Lumineers and I can’t wait for their new album. Oh, and I TOTALLY remember watching Little Nemo when I was little! I think about it randomly because I can’t ever seem to remember the plot.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome glad you like it! And glad you had a similar idea 😀 (I’ll definitely be checking yours out soon!) (I’m so behind on blog posts.) I’m excited for their new album too. And oh good I’m so glad someone else remembers this movie! My lack of memory for it made it super hard to rediscover because whenever I would talk about it all I could remember was that he floats through a cave on his bed. So, that’s what I would tell people and they all thought I was crazy hahaha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

