The Graveyard Book, Volume 2 by Neil Gaiman adapted by P. Craig Russel and Illustrated by Various Artists

5/5 Stars

Alas, this review is not as early as yesterday because I wasn’t prepared for this one. But, it is still early compared to some of my other posts. I wanted to get out it out before I take myself to see Batman v Superman. I was a good adult and filed my taxes yesterday, so today is #treatyoself day. Meaning, I’m going to the movies and I’m going to pay $4 to get myself an Icee. (Totally ridiculous, but I deserve it.)

(The only 2 reasons I’m going to the theater to see BvS (I’m pretty sure the creators put Batman first because it is BS that I have to choose between the two) in theaters is 1. Wonder Woman and 2. Jesse Eisengberg.) 

Anyway, it’s time for my review.

This is the second book in the graphic novel adaptation of Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book. This adaptation picks up where the first one left off to continue and, eventually, finish Nobody, Bod, Owen’s story. Bod is no longer a young boy, but is now a young adult. He has learned much from the graveyard he lives in and from his guardian, Silas. Still, he craves the idea of being out in the world outside the graveyard. Bod continues to approach adulthood and his stay at the graveyard is almost complete, but not before he meets with an old childhood friend as well as his final confrontation with an old enemy.

Screen Shot 2016-03-18 at 1.00.05 PM.png

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

First and foremost, I have a confession to make. I still haven’t read The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. I know, I know, I don’t know why I haven’t. As you can see, I own it! Even so, I still loved the graphic novel adaptation of the book.

Warning: DO NOT read this book before reading the first one. You can find my review of Volume 1 here.

I don’t have too many new things to say about this second (and final) book in the series. Basically, it was just as wonderful as the first book, and I absolutely adored it.

I’ll start with my one complaint, just to get it out of the way. I felt that the ending wrapped up too quicklyI’m not sure if the novel version of this story is the same (anyone know?), but I felt the graphic novel hustled to wrap things up. There was a ton of tension leading up to the finale, but then the actual ending with the battle between Bod and The Jack of all Trades was resolved too quickly. However, it wasn’t so abrupt that I didn’t sob my eyes out when I read the last few pages.

Holy moley, what an ending. This book touched me in a few ways I wasn’t expecting it to. Meaning, I could barely read through the tears and chills I was getting. Neil Gaiman has a rare gift, and it absolutely glowed in this adaptation. P Craig Russel captured Gaiman’s voice wonderfully and chose the text for the adaptation extremely well. The story flowed and built right up until the very end.

The characters were lovely throughout, and I fell even more in love with them. Each character is unique and contributes something to the storyline. Of course, Nobody Owens is the main character, but the side characters are just as important as him. They shape him in so many ways. Bod Owens finally reaches adulthood in this second graphic novel, and it’s great to watch his character grow and transform as the story progresses. Even though he’s not like anyone else because he grew up in a graveyard among the dead, he is exceptionally relatable with struggles that are all too real that most children and adolescents experience.

I love everything about the storyline and the characters.

The other thing that I continued to love in this second installment is the artwork. It is still so cool to me that so many illustrators worked on these novel adaptions. I adore that each one is so utterly unique yet all of them flow so well together with the story and the novel. Sometimes multiple illustrators can be the downfall of a decent book, but this is NOT one of those times. Each chapter’s art is beautiful in it’s own way, but doesn’t pull you out of the story with the change in pace.

I could gush about this book for hours. Oh. Em. Gee. Both books were such marvelous reads. 

Honestly, if you haven’t read these yet, I highlyhighly recommend that you do. These are fantastic reads for all ages regardless of your favorite genre. Neil Gaiman writes timelessly, and, just like the main villain is a jack of all trades, this book is for all trades. These are also great reads for graphic novel readers, especially if you’re only starting to traverse the genre. They’re books are a great place to start!

need to read the actual novel of this book ASAP.

Get your copies from Book Depository!
Volume 1 Here for $14.54.
Volume 2 Here for $16.82.

Up Tomorrow: Review of Reading Like a Writer: A Guide for People Who Love Books and for Those Who want to Write Them (It’s not going to be pretty. I hated this book.)

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “The Graveyard Book, Volume 2 by Neil Gaiman adapted by P. Craig Russel and Illustrated by Various Artists

Leave a Reply

