Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson, Adrain Alphona, and Jacob Wyatt

5/5 Stars

Two things before I start this review. First: IT’S SPRING HERE IN WISCONSIN YET WE ARE IN THE MIDDLE OF A SNOW STORM AND I AM VERY UNHAPPY ABOUT THIS DEVELOPMENT. SOMEONE PLEASE MAKE IT STOP.

Second: On a better note, I saw Zootopia today and loved it! Holy cow, what a lovely movie with a great message. If you haven’t seen this move yet, go see it! It’s totally worth it!

Now, on with my Thursday (semi-late) review.

This bind-up is a collection of Ms. Marvel issues #6-11. In this grouping of comics, Ms. Marvel must face an enemy she may not be prepared for, The Inventor. Ms. Marvel must face the truth that, even though she has super powers, she’s not physically or mentally ready to fight some villains. Not only is she graced to have the support of her best friend, Bruno, in this volume Kamala gets to pair up with none other than the beloved Wolverine. Another lovable character comes into her life in the form of a dog twice her size – Lockjaw. Follow Kamala as she learns some lessons about being a superhero and also deconstructs the myth that millennials are lazy, tech-driven zombies.

Screen Shot 2016-03-18 at 1.10.59 PM

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

I don’t even know where to start with this book because I literally loved everything about it. Kamala Khan has grown on me like fungus on a tree in the woods – slowly consuming everything. Okay, that was a really weird analogy, but there’s no going back for me with these comics. They’re wonderful.

Kamala’s character is multi-dimensional and she struggles with many problems (religion, superhero stress, teenager stress, family stress), yet she is also an excessively strong female character. She is imperfectly perfect. She’s not the only character with excellent development. Every character has amazing development. There is no lack of depth for any of the characters in Ms. Marvel, and they’re all wonderfully diverse and unique.

The other thing that we know goes hand in hand with character depth/development is story depth/development. I personally loved the story that unfolded in these issues. It’s complex and does a good job of speaking to and about the young generation. We are not just lazy tech zombies, but an entire people that deserve to be heard and have our accomplishment acknowledged. You all probably already know I’m all about some positive politics in my literature, and this compilation has plenty of that. (Also, yay feminism and stuff. WooHoo.)

Although I thought The Inventor was not quite as scary as he could have been, I still thought the characters and the storyline were laid out well enough that the big finale was still satisfying and a good ending to this collection. Although Ms. Marvel doesn’t have an official nemesis yet, I think the writer/artists/creators are getting closer to finding one (especially starting in the next volume).

Ooo, also, one final thing. I loved the Wolverine cameo. It was fun, entertaining, and did a great job of progressing the plot and the story. I squealed when I saw him appear knowing that it was definitely going to be good. I was not disappointed. Also, Lockjaw is fantastic. What’s not to adore about a giant, lovable dog? Oooo and Bruno is the most adorable guy. I have boarded a ship and you best believe I will go down with it. (I won’t wave my flag and surrender.)

Basically, if you haven’t started Ms. Marvel yet, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? I love everything about these comics. (I’ve already read volume 3 (a review to come), but I NEED volume 4 like 10 days ago.) This is such a wonderful series.

Get your copies from Book Depository.
Volume 1 here for $13.66 and Volume 2 here for $11.01.

That’s all for me for the week. I’ll be back Sunday to tell you about the lovely books I’ve been reading (and some not-so-lovely books)! Have a fantastic weekend everyone 😀

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

2 thoughts on “Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson, Adrain Alphona, and Jacob Wyatt

Leave a Reply

