My So-Called Freelance Life: How to Survive and Thrive as a Creative Professional for Hire by Michelle Goodman

5/5 Stars

Holy cow, this is a REALLY good week. Seriously, so much cool stuff is happening. Monday night Conan O’Brian’s tech team @teamcoco retweeeted and followed me on Twitter, and I only slightly geeked over that. And then today my March LootCrate came and I totally geeked over that. I’m still on a high from it and am having a hard time focusing on this post. I think I’ll do what I did last month and post a special Mash-Up Monday next week dedicated to all the cool loot!

Anyway, you’re here for a review, so I’m going to do my best to give you one.

This is a nonfiction reference book written to aid freelancers trying to startup their own business. Even though the writer works in writing and editing, she includes all types of freelance work in her book and tackles how you should go about things such as office space, rates, finding work, and even a bit on taxes. She shares resources and her own knowledge after having been in the business for 10+ years and gives her readers plenty of tips and tricks to help them get on their feet in the scary work-for-hire uncertainty of the freelance world.

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 3.15.09 PM.png

*click image to be re-directed to book’s Goodreads page*

I actually came across this book completely by accident. It was lying on the shelf at Goodwill and screamed at me as I walked by. Me finding this book was meant to be as I’m currently trying to pursue a career in freelance and this book has honestly helped me immensely. 

There are so many good tips in here that helped me feel less afraid of the scary notion of working for myself. On top of that, Goodman doesn’t talk down to her readers at all. She writes in an inspirational voice that will empower you and have you saying “Hell yea I can do this!”. I love that she doesn’t use her experience in the business to praise herself, but rather to help her readers who want to pursue the same goals.

Goodman gives her readers so much useful information that I was actually excited to pick up this book each day. Even though this book was published back in 2006 and some of the information (especially of the technological sort) is out of date, all of the methods she talks about are not. There is so much knowledge in this book that can still be applied to today’s freelance market. These seem to be tried and true methods that will help any freelance start to understand the ropes of the business.

This was honestly a really compelling read and was exciting. I’ve read a good amount of nonfiction, and can honestly say that this book was really well done.

Of course, I understand this book isn’t going to be for everyone, but those who are looking for this type of thing or to get into this type of business (ad)venture, this is an absolute must read!

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $16.33. (It’s so worth the splurge!)

Up Tomorrow: Review of Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation Why

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

 

2 thoughts on “My So-Called Freelance Life: How to Survive and Thrive as a Creative Professional for Hire by Michelle Goodman

Leave a Reply

