An Age of License: A Travelogue by Lucy Knisley

5/5 Stars

Well, would ya look at me posting on a Friday…just like I said I would! See, I told you I’m getting back on track with my blog! (almost)

First of all, I realized that I forget to wish everyone a Happy Saint Patrick’s Day Yesterday! It didn’t dawn on me until I was lying in bed last night. I was sort of out of it yesterday. Plus, I’m not Irish, so it easily slipped my mind. I hope everyone who celebrates had a lovely (safe) time!

Today I’m reviewing the second nonfiction travelogue I’ve read by Lucy Knisley. Some of you may remember reading my review for her other graphic memoir Displacement? After rating that one so highly, I knew I had to get my hands on this one.

In this graphic novel nonfiction travelogue, Lucy Knisley finds herself taking a semi-solo trip to Europe. I say semi-solo because she is rarely by herself throughout her trip. First, she agrees to travel to attend a panel for artists. Here she stays a few days and spends time with fellow artists and fans. Then, she meets and stays with a man she had a fling with when he was in NYC, where she lives. He then travels with her for a little while before Knisley sets off to meet her mom and a few of her mom’s friends. Even though she is not entirely taking a full-blown solo, stereotypical, self-discovery trip, Knisley still has plenty of adventures that are fun and enjoyable to read about.

Screen Shot 2016-03-18 at 12.54.41 PM.png

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

This book was written before Knisley’s travelogue Displacement. She references her European travels in Displacement, but I do not feel it’s necessary to read this book first. I didn’t and had no problem enjoying either. So, if you are curious in her travelogues, whichever order you choose to read them in is totally doable.

I liked this book a bit more than Displacement. This story is more upbeat and less about the slow disintegration of loved ones. This was a really interesting story to read and follow along with. I found myself wanting to be abroad while reading this. She brought the spirit of adventure to life and proved that adventure is out there for those who look for it. (I just watched Up; I’m not sorry for those references.)

I, once again, thought that Knisley wove a compelling story that was fun, yet what you can realistically expect from foreign travel. I actually started this book late one night, only intending to read the first half, but then ended up –easily– staying up until after 1 in the morning to finish it. I consistently wanted to know what was going to come next.

Knisley’s stunning artwork also makes the story come to life. I love her watercolor illustrations. There’s something so simplistically pretty about them. They never fail to enhance the Knisley’s tale of travel and always give the reader a chance to take a moment to pause and admire them. They break up the story nicely and make this a delightfully quick, yet interestingly substantial read.

Overall, I highly recommend you grab a copy of this book, especially if the nonfiction, memoir, or graphic novel genre(s) is a favorite(s). This book was wonderful, and I’m just so in love with Knisley’s work. It’s always marvelous.

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $15.24.

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

One thought on “An Age of License: A Travelogue by Lucy Knisley

Leave a Reply

