Mash-Up Monday – Pixar Book Tag

I know, I know: It’s not Monday. However, if you read my Sunday Review this week, you’ll remember I said I was going to do a late Monday post today. So, as promised, I got off my lazy butt (I’m taking a well-deserved day off) and took lots of pretty pictures for all you pretty people.

Today I’m doing the Pixar Book Tag. As you may know, I’ve already done the Disney Book Tag, but, have no fear, this one is quite different! I came across this one on Charley’s (@booksandbakes1) lovely blog. I wasn’t officially tagged, but I’m doing it anyway.

And, off we go.

Toy Story: A book where you wanted the characters to come to life.

IMG_2002

I adore William Shakespeare’s Star Wars by Ian Doescher. I already wanted most of the Star Wars characters to come to life, but once they started speaking in iambic pentameter I wanted them to even more! (Isn’t my C3PO Pop Vinyl Bobble Head adorable!?)

A Bug’s Life: Big Beautiful Butterfly – Name a character that goes through a wonderful transformation or development. 

IMG_2003.JPG

Ponyboy goes through a miraculous transformation as this heartbreaking book goes on. He is faced with too many tragedies for such a young boy. I’ve loved this book since 8th grade when I sobbed like a baby after finishing it in one night 4 weeks before the due date. (I also sobbed in the same fashion when I came across this signed copy.)

Monsters INC: Name a book where a strong or scary character develops a soft side for someone else. 

IMG_2004.JPG

Oh my goodness, I know. I use The 5th Wave way too much in tags, but it’s so fitting for so many different questions! Evan Walker is a pretty terrifying character considering his job and his abilities, yet Cassie really changes something in him. Still, he’s a lean, mean killing machine around everyone except her.

Finding Nemo: P. Sherman, 42 Wallaby Way, Sydney – Name a book that has an address or another quote within that’s been burned into your memory forever. 

IMG_2005.JPG

Full Dark, No Stars  is a book containing 4 short stories by Stephen King. I just finished “Big Driver” this morning. It’s an incredibly intense story. It contains quite a lot of traveling and many addresses. Tess’ trusty TomTom gets her from place to place easily. (Much easier than Merlin and Dory’s journey was.)

The Incredibles: Name the coolest book family. 

IMG_2006.JPG

It took everything in me not to take yet another photo of Harry Potter for this question. I’ve really been trying to keep these tags mixed up so I’m not listing the same books every time. Meaning, this time I chose the Murry family. They’re pretty cool and much deserving of being mentioned.

Cars: 1, 2, and (now) 3 – Name a book that keeps getting sequels that you feel are not needed.

Dear god whyyyyyy. Why is this still happening? I’m sorry if you like the Twilight books, but for me it’s definitely a “when will this madness end” moment.

Ratatouille: Name a book whose main character is not human nor a humanoid figure.

IMG_2007.JPG

I love that these fables typically employ animals to teach important life lessons. It makes them both fun and educational for adults and kids alike. Even if you haven’t read any of the stories in this book, I’m sure you’re familiar with many of them, especially “The Tortoise and the Hare.”

I took a few extra photos for this one because this edition has some beautiful illustrations.

Wall-E: Name a book that made you lonely.

IMG_2012.JPG

As much as I love this children’s book, it does have a very melancholy tone. It’s a lovely story, but it left me feeling a bit empty – as if this cruel world was much too big for me to face alone.

Up: Name a book whose characters you became very quickly emotionally invested in.

IMG_2013.JPG

I originally picked up this book because it was written by one of my favorite college professors. I knew it would be a wonderful story, but I didn’t think I would immediately become so invested in the characters and their lives. A must-read if you like contemporary fiction.

Brave: Name a book with a strong mother/daughter relationship.

IMG_2014.JPG

Do you know how hard it was to find a strong mother-daughter relationship? Oh. Em. Gee. We need more books with this element. Although Kamala doesn’t always get along with her mother, it’s obvious the two really care for each other. (I just love Ms. Marvel so much!) (If you like the art pictured in this photo, you can find it for sale on my Etsy Shop along with other hand-painted creations.)

Inside Out: Name a book that you would say could be one of your core memories. 

IMG_2015.JPG

R.L. Stine was definitely a staple of my childhood and early young adult years. His works will stay with me forever. I wish I had more of his books, but my collection is slowly growing.

Welp, that was super fun like always. Even though taking these photos take forever, it’s totally worth it. What do you think about my answers? Agree/Disagree?

I Tag:

Evie @justanotherbelle
Emma @thebookbrief
Lisa @lisatalksaboutbooks
Claire @cupofbooks
Galit @coffeenbooks
@thewritingcrafter
Larkin @wonderfilledreads
Jorlene @pagechornicles
@theorangutanlibrarian
Shivalika @whimsyjournals
April @swimmingthroughliterature
and, even though I know she doesn’t do tags anymore so just because,
Summer @xingsings

There are no obligations of course! I also tag anyone else who’s reading this and eagerly wants to participate to do this tag. Go do it! I just tagged you after all 😛

Up Tomorrow: Review of Spider-Girl, Vol. 4

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

16 thoughts on “Mash-Up Monday – Pixar Book Tag

  1. Awesome post! I love all your pictures 🙂 Completely agree with you about Twilight- I felt like the original book should’ve been a standalone- and I literally cannot understand what the point of life and death was :/ I also love Aesop’s Fables and got a lovely edition as a gift 😀 Thanks so much for the tag!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I agree that Stephanie Meyer really needed to stop at Twilight. I can’t believe she’s STILL milking the series!
      You are most welcome for the tag; hope you have fun with it!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely an interesting and emotional read! I hope you enjoy it once you get around to it :D.
      I just HAD to get that signed copy! I was in Barnes & Noble and was just like actually crying in the aisle when I found it. It was so busy, though, I’m hoping it went unnoticed hahaha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh, I totally agree with Twilight! That gender bender new book was completely unnecessary – I personally believe that Stephenie Meyer should’ve instead worked on the sequel for The Host that she said would come out in 2012.

    Thank you so much for the tag! This is a super fun one and I’m looking forward to doing it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read The Host, but that’s crazy that she’s coming out with new Twilight books when she told her fans would be coming! How crazy.
      You are very welcome for the tag! I hope you have as much fun doing it as I did 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I know how that goes. I only do tags every other week (because since I like taking all the pictures myself for them it gets SO time consuming) so, no worries! I’m super backlogged too! You’re just one of my favorite go-to people to tag 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read the first book in the series twice and then read the second one, but still have yet to finish the series…woops! For how much I talk about it, it’s a surprise I don’t have them all read. (hehe) They really are interesting, fun reads, though!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You are most welcome! And thank you so much! (It’s always nice to have gratification on my ever-growing nerdy book collection!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

