Death Note, Vol. 2: Confluence by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

4/5 Stars

*screams on the hilltops* I’m finally back with a new review! As promised, today I’ll be talking a bit about Death Note, Vol. 2. (Also, I finally got the third copy from the Library, so I’ll be reading that this weekend!)

In this second installment, Light Yagami has continued his plight to rid the world of crime and criminals. However, now that the American FBI is working with his homeland government, what lengths will he go to in order to hide his identity? Is Light becoming even more out of control. Tag along as this story gets even darker and more twisted as Light and his Shinigami friend travel even further down the rabbit hole.

Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 4.00.00 PM.png

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*
(try to ignore the strange way my hand is curling in this photo…)

I’m really glad that I started this series. Although it’s not quite a 5-star read for me, I’m really enjoying it so far. I can’t wait to dive into book 3.

The storyline in this second installment gets even darker than the first one (if that was possible). This is not a tale for the faint of heart. However, I love that about this series. The story is so delectably dangerous. I found myself flipping the pages to find out what was going to happen next. There are plenty of twists and turns to satisfy hungry readers. Some of them were a bit predictable, but they were executed so well, that the predictability didn’t bother me much. I also think the ability for me to predict some of the plot twists was because this series was meant for a younger adult audience. But, that didn’t stopper any of my enjoyment.

One thing that enhances the plot, like always, are the characters. I really love all the characters in this book. They’re interesting and unique, responding to the chain of events each in their own way. Light has really started to develop even more. I’m discovering just what a psychopath he really is, even if he thinks he has good intentions. I think the Shinigami is my favorite character, though. He’s so nonchalant about everything and just along for the ride. Plus, he’s uber mysterious, and that is definitely an aspect that keeps me reading. I want to know more about this mythical race. 

The art remains the same, which is a good thing, since I really like the style and the way it brings the story to life. I don’t have too much to say about it other than it’s still great and enhances the reader experience. 

One final thing that I’m really enjoying about this series is that so much is open for your own interpretations. There are a lot of political ideas being thrown around, but no clear cut line of who’s right and what’s wrong. I love that there are so many opinions flying around. Although I do enjoy the critique the author is trying to get across, I love that it’s subtle and told in a not-shoving-it-down-your-throat and exciting kind of way.

Overall, I recommend this book to those who liked the first book in the series. Although you might be able to jump into this series without having read the first book, I highly recommend you start and the beginning and allow yourself to become completely immersed in the storyline.

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $13.48.

Up Tomorrow: Review of Spider-Girl, Vol. 4

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Death Note, Vol. 2: Confluence by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

Leave a Reply

