Mash-Up Monday – Recommendations

It’s Monday, and, since I skipped a recommendations post last week in favor of posting photos from my first Loot Crate unboxing, I’m making up for it today.

I’m recommending some wonderful stand-alone Children’s books that are great for every age! I’m still working on reading more children’s books (as an adult), but here are some that I read and loved, and can almost guarantee I would have loved them if I had read them as a child as well.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry translated by Richard Howard
It took me years to finally get around to reading this book, but, once I did, it was easy to realize why everyone loves it so much. This is such a nice, if not sometimes melancholy, story about life and how a little boy who lives on a planet by himself sees life. It’s a quick, yet heavy read that I recommend to everyone.

Matilda by Roald Dahl
It’s strange that I never read Matilda as a child, especially since Dahl’s book The BFG was my absolute favorite in 2nd grade. I related excessively to the movie Matilda, but never ventured out to find the books. Regardless of how strange that situation is, I loved reading it as an adult. It reminded me and made me think of my childhood. It’s a fun read for adult and child readers alike.

Goody Hall by Natalie Babbitt
I loved reading Tuck Everlasting for school in 3rd grade, and it’s been on my list to venture out and read more by Babbitt ever since. Finally, at the age of 24, I checked out one of her other children’s books from the Library. It was completely worth it, and it’s easy to recommend this book, especially to mystery lovers. 

Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman 
I love, love, love this book! It’s adventurous and so much fun. This is the encompassment of the perfect book for both children and adults. Gaiman strikes a wonderful balance and has his readers laughing throughout the entire tale. (At least, that’s what happened with me.)

Doll Bones by Holly Black
I just wrote a review of this book last week, but, in case you missed it, I’m including this book in my recommendation post. This is a wonderful story all about adventure and the paranormal. It’s a chilling ghost story that any paranormal lover can enjoy. The themes are light enough to be tackled by children, but engrossing enough to be enjoyed by adults.

And that concludes another Mash-Up Monday. Thoughts on these books? Liked/disliked? Any other lovely children’s books recommendations?

Up Tomorrow: Top Ten Tuesday

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.GoodreadsTwitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Mash-Up Monday – Recommendations

  1. I really want to read The Little Prince. I actually don’t have a copy yet though, which is probably the only reason why I haven’t picked it up to read. The premise sounds so intriguing and one where a lot of children have probably fantasized growing up. Fantastic list, Ashley!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

