Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Book to Movie Adaptations

Well, first of all, did anyone else watch that X Files season finale last night? I’m still screeching. This means they have to make more, right? RIGHT?! (I know the actors are on board!) (possibly, quite literally) (Wow, I’m on fire with the puns this week *pats self on back*)

And, moving on. I had a really hard time with this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The topic is last 10 books that were outside of your comfort zone that you really enjoyed.

Well, the reason this was so hard for me was that literally no book is outside my comfort zone. I will pick up anything with no qualms or feelings of not belonging. Comics, childrens, YA, paranormal, nonfiction, sci-fi, mystery, contemporary, memoir, graphic novels, even the occasional romance – I’ll pick it all up. 

So, I’ve decided to go out on a limb and pick a completely random topic (which was, surprisingly, really difficult) and list my top 10 favorite book-to-film adaptations.

*click image to be redirected to movie’s IMDB page*

ONE

TPB.jpg

The Princess Bride is my favorite movie. I distinctly remember the first time watching it when I was 6 and getting so freaked out by the ROUSs that I hid in the closet. What can I say, I was 6 and they seemed so real. (It’s okay, I laugh at myself about it all the time, so feel free to not contain your own laughter.) Seriously though, this movie is utterly flawless and captures the book flawlessly. Satire at it’s absolute best. (Except maybe Spaceballs, but that movie doesn’t belong in this post.)

TWO

P&PBBC.jpg

This adaptation by the BBC network is a mini series of 6 episodes. This series sticks so close to the book and is wonderful. Plus, Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy. What’s not to love? Roughly 6 hours of my favorite classic romance? I’m there. It’s great to binge on.

THREE

TIOBE.jpg

Another great movie that also features Colin Firth. The Importance of Being Earnest is one of my favorite plays and my favorite work of Oscar Wilde. If you love play on words and witty dialogue, both the play and this movie are for you. There’s fabulous.

FOUR

PS.jpg

I’m usually not a huge fan of adaptations of King’s books. Typically, they’re misrepresented and all the good bits are taken out. They also tend to lack the human aspects that make King’s work so horrifying. However, this is one adaptation that I have no complaints about. It’s horrifyingly haunting. If you are going to watch a King book-to-movie adaption, make it this one. (Skip the sequels, though, they’re less than mediocre and not worth the time.)

FIVE

TLOTRTTT.jpg

I adore these adaptions. The second one is my favorite, but I seriously love them all. I own both the theatrical versions as well as the uncut movies. Yes, I’m that obsessed. I know they had to cut a lot out and change quite a bit, but, overall, I find this movies so satisfactory. I watch the theatrical versions like once a month.

SIX

TROTF.jpg

Even though this movie has one of the biggest plot holes I’ve ever come across in cinema, for some reason, I’m capable of overlooking that. Okay, no, that’s I lie; I know the reason. It’s because this movie is lovely, and I’m a huge Transformers fan. I love the whole Shia LeBouf trilogy. It’s marvelous. And it’s so fun to see all the little nods to the original comics.

SEVEN

AIW.jpg

How could I not include Tim Burton’s wonderful adaptation of Alice? This movie is beautifully done, and has so many references of the originally book by Carroll. It’s marvelous and another movie I’ve watched many a time. Anyone else uber excited for Through the Looking Glass?

EIGHT

10TIHAY.jpg

I’ve always loved this movie, and, O.M.G., I can’t believe how old it is. I’m seriously like the crypt keeper over here. (And, that reference also dates me horribly.) But, how can you not love this spunky RomCom based on Shakespeare’s play The Taming of the Shrew? It’s fantastic and probably one of the reasons I’m the feminist I am today. This movie is flawless in every way.

NINE

DP

This is a very recent addition, but it had to be added. I knew Ryan Reynolds would do a marvelous job with this movie, and I was not wrong. His adaptation was everything I wanted and oh so much more. He captured the comics excellently. The entire movie was spot on. (When’s the sequel?!)

TEN

GB.jpg

This is another recent addition, but, holy cow, this movie was spectacular. I need to own this so I can watch it again and again. It was filled with terror and humor, just like R.L. Stine intended. Plus, ahhh, that cameo at the end. What a marvelous movie. I was leer-y because these books were such a huge part of my childhood, but I was not disappointed at all.

That sums it up. Did you like these adaptions? Thoughts? What’s on your TTT this week? Leave you link in the comments for me to read!

Up Tomorrow: A Short Conversation About Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.GoodreadsTwitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Book to Movie Adaptations

  1. Can I just say YES, LORD OF THE RINGS. I have all of the extended editions as well plus all of the extended Hobbit movies too. We can be obsessed together. I LOVE marathoning those. I’m also super pumped for Through the Looking Glass, I thought they did a great job on the live action Alice in Wonderland. Johnny Depp is the shit, haha. Great list Ashley! 🙂

    Like

  2. That adaptation of Pride & Prejudice was the reason I decided to read the book ! And Colin Firth was the main reason why I watched this series. It was perfect in every way and left me feeling so fuzzy inside ! And I’ll forever argue with people who think LOTR wasn’t a good adaptation. It’s like we watched completely different movies !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw that makes me so happy to hear! (P&P is one of my favorite classics and (as you read) I’m so in love with the adaptation.)
      And yes, I totally agree! I thought the movies were so well done! Glad to hear I’m not alone 😀
      Thanks so much for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

