The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

4.5/5 Stars

I received a notification yesterday that this blog reached 1,337 post likes since I started it. That is too awesome, and I feel like I need to insert a quick thank you here to everyone who has participated in this blog through likes. I’m not sure why 1,337 likes was a significant number, but that doesn’t stop it from being the coolest. Well, not quite the coolest. You lovely people are the coolest of the cool!

In this short story, Flynn weaves a tale of mostly harmless fraud, paranormal activity, and even the possibility of murder. A young woman struggling to make it by has worked her way up from giving hand jobs in the back of Spiritual Palms to a position of fake fortune teller and spends her days praying on the vulnerable who come in to see her for predictions or paranormal help. Everything is going fine, as fine as things can be going for her anyway, until a woman named Susan comes in. She claims to be living in a haunted house that is causing her son to behave erratically and even satanic. Our protagonist is leery at first, but soon agrees to come and cleanse the house – something that she doesn’t believe in at all, but only uses to milk the situation for all it’s worth, quite literally. However, when strange things start happening our protagonist is left with a dire choice that could possibly be the choice between life and death. What decision will she be driven to make?

Screen Shot 2016-02-02 at 8.34.20 PM.png

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

Wow, that description was surprisingly hard to write. For how short this story is, a mere 62 pages, Flynn doesn’t fail to create a dense story filled to the max with twists, turns, and jaw droppers. I was thoroughly impressed with this new tale.

Gahhh, I’m so excited to talk about this that I don’t even know where to start. I guess I’ll start where I usually do with the writing. Flynn’s skill shines once again. The writing in this story is intense, thrilling, and both descriptive enough and not enough to keep the story moving and to keep us, the readers, reading and guessing. Flynn has never been afraid and refuses to shy away from the nitty gritty dirty topics, never brushing over them in her writing. This book is no different. Prepare yourself for her typical vulgar language and descriptions. If you’re anything like me, you’ll welcome it with an eager mind that’s also simultaneously disgusted with the pleasure found in Flynn’s writing style.

I mentioned that the writing is intense, which is a great thing since this story is intense. Flynn tells a story with a plot that is sure to suck you in from the very first page. The mystery doesn’t start right away, but the first quarter of the book is important to build character development and relation with the main character. But, once the paranormal activity starts happening and the mystery begins to unfold, Flynn’s writing will have you on the edge of your seat eager to find out what could possibly happen next. I’m so floored by each story that I read of Flynn’s. She has amazing skill in writing these grotesque mysteries. This one is no different.

Once again, I’m also impressed with the characters she creates. Flynn is the queen of coming up with villains that you can’t help but love. And, if they’re not villains, they’re some of the best morally ambiguous characters in literature. I honestly love that you can never trust any character that she introduces. She toys with her readers in the best way.

On top of creating the characters that we love to hate, she gives them plenty of character development that making it easy to believe you actually know her characters and can understand where they’re coming from in the choices they make. I loved every single character in this novella. They are marvelously wretched. I’ll give you fair warning: there is not a single character in this book that you can trust, and that makes the story all the more tantalizing.

This review is getting so long for such a short story. I bet you can understand now why I was having trouble writing the synopsis. There is so much packed into this short book. I could go on for pages talking about all the great things. The only complaints I have are minuscule and don’t have much consequence on the story. My biggest complaint is that I wanted so much moreI could have read and read and read about these characters. Every last word was marvelous.

However, before I wrap up this review, I want to say one more thing. THAT ENDINGWowza. If you’re going to read this, which I highly recommend that you do, prepare to be left with your jaw on the ground and frustration quickly starting to boil in your blood. I’m a sucker for open endings, and Flynn writes a fabulous one for this story. One of my complaints was that I would have liked just a teensy bit more information, but, all in all, I thought this ending was executed superbly.

This is a paranormal (or is it?) tale that will have you thinking long after you finish the words on the page.

This novella still gives me chills when I think about it.

I recommend this book to horror, especially that of the paranormal nature, fans, mystery lovers, as well as anyone who liked any of Flynn’s other books. This is a great read, and I remain addicted to Flynn’s writing and stories. I’m in it for life now. When does she have new work coming out?

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $4.33. (<– what a steal!)

Up Tomorrow: Small Review and Chat about Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

One final thing before I go (especially since I forgot to mention it in my last Sunday Review). I’m so excited that my first LootCrate is coming in (hopefully) just a few days! I can’t wait to find out what’s inside. This month’s theme is Dead and is said to feature The Walking Dead and Deadpool. If this interests you, there’s still time to order your crate! But hurry! You only have until February 19th. If you want to order, do me a huge favor and order through this link: http://looted.by/du2Bs.

*This is an unsolicited advertisement. LootCrate is not associated with nor approached me to make this announcement.*

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

Leave a Reply

