Mash-Up Monday – Burrito Bowl Book Tag

Wow, I’ve gotten a slow start to this day. I guess I was exhausted from my weekend of doing absolutely nothing. Maybe it’s the weather. Who knows. Whatever it was caused me to start taking photos for this tag super late in the day, which then made this post late. It was just a rolling snowball of things upon things today.

One more announcement before fixing my burrito bowl. I officially rated book #1,000 on Goodreads yesterday. I can’t believe I’ve read that many books! (And to think, that doesn’t even count many of the rereads I’ve done.) Wowza. And how fitting for it to have happened on Valentines day. #priorities

Anyway, I’m finally getting this out. Yesterday in my Sunday Review I mentioned that I’d be doing the Dashing through the Snow Book Tag today, but upon rereading the questions for it, I realized most of them were concerning Christmas. I guess that ship sailed.

So, instead, I’ve decided to the Burrito Bowl Book Tag that the ever lovely Summer from @xingsings tagged me in ages ago. I had so much fun taking these photos. I hope you enjoy them just as much.

Rice: The Foundation – “The book that got you into reading (or book blogging).”

IMG_1903.JPG

Honestly, there’s no one book that got me into reading. I’ve always loved reading. As I child I would beg to be read to and basically grew up in the Library. All books featured besides Goosebumps and Animorphs are ones that I’ve had since childhood.

Beans: The Filler – “A book with a whole lot of nothing happening.”

IMG_2814.JPG

Okay, so this is an old photo (some of you may recognize it from my Instagram or my review of this book), but I just recently got rid of the last books I didn’t really care for, so I had none to photograph. As much as I liked the premise of The Accident Season, not much happens, leaving the plot lacking in many aspects.

Protein: The Building Block – “A book quote to live by.”

IMG_1904

I know I talk about Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed way too much on this blog and use it in far too many tags, but the highlighted quote really resonated with me and quickly became a life motto. It lets us know that we can’t always control everything that happens and that that’s okay – what matters is how we react to the things we can’t control.

“The universe, I’d learned, was never, ever kidding. It would take whatever it wanted and it would never give it back.”

Fajitas: The Crunch of Texture – “A book with immaculate world-building.”

IMG_1905

Laini Taylor does a marvelous job building the world for the Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy. She writes as if she believes the places and characters actually exist, making me thoroughly question whether or not this was nonfiction, and she knew something I didn’t. Her world is all too easy to get lost in.

Salsa: The Dance of Flavour – “A book that kept you on your toes.”

IMG_1908.JPG

Only Human is a book filled with tension and plenty of twists and turns. I was definitely on my toes wondering what was going to happen next and how the characters would ever get back home. This book captures these characters’ personalities wonderfully and is a must read for Doctor Who fans.

Corn: The Explosion of Sweetness – “A memorable scene involving friendship/romance.”

IMG_1911.JPG

Although I haven’t read the third installment in this book yet, I absolutely adore the romance between these two. And, the fact that it’s permeated with Edgar Allan Poe makes it all the better. I want to read the third book so bad, but I’ve been holding off, since I want to do a reread of the first two books as well.

Cheese: The Bond of Calcium – “Two characters from different books you wish could be friends.”

IMG_1912

I so wish Elizabeth Bennet and Hermione Granger could meet. They are so similar in many ways: loyal, independent, witty, introverts. They would have marvelously deep and witty intellectual conversation. And, when they weren’t talking about life, the universe, and everything in between, they would be silently sitting together wasting away the afternoons reading.

Sour Cream: The Tangy Topper – “The quirkiest character you’ve ever read (protagonist or supporting).”

IMG_1915.JPG

I don’t know if he’s the quirkiest ever, but Ford Prefect from Hitchhiker’s Guide definitely has plenty of oddities. He’s the funnest alien I’ve ever read about, and I thoroughly love his character.

Guacamole: The Cost of Creaminess – “A book you paid too much for (based on utility experienced).”

IMG_1914

I already owned a soft cover of The Martian (on the far right). BUT, when I came across a signed hardcover, I had to splurge. It’s totally ridiculous and I didn’t need it, yet here it is in my possession after costing me $25.00. I’m keeping both forever and ever since this is one of my favorite science fiction novels. #noregrets.

Lettuce: The Handful of Crispness – “A refreshing concept/theme in a book.”

IMG_1918.JPG

Strong female characters in comics that aren’t sexualized. This. is. so. refreshing. I just finished Return of the Living Deadpool last night and fell completely in love with Liz. She’s marvelous. Also, Cullen Bunn is my favorite Deadpool author because (as far as I’ve read) he’s never failed to include a female I can relate to and/or admire.

Chips: Le Pièce de Résistance – “A must-read recommendation if you like [this book/genre—you decide!].”

IMG_1913.JPG

I’m not finished with Pride and Prejudice and Zombies yet, but it’s definitely a must read for anyone who liked (loved) Pride and Prejudice. Seth Grahame-Smith does a marvelous job of incorporating zombies into a favorite romance. I can’t wait to see the movie this weekend!

Tabasco: The Kick to the Face – “Your favourite fight/action sequence.”

IMG_1909.JPG

loved the end of The 5th Wave. It was everything I wanted in an intense alien-themed YA thriller. I was also happy that the movie did it justice. Ahhhhh, the third book is so close to coming out! I can’t wait!

Now I Tag:

Ayunda @tea&paperbacks
@theorang-utanlibrarian
Charley @booksandbakes1
Chelsie @chelshie’sbookaddiction
Evie @justanotherbelle
Heather @thesassygeek
April @swimmingthroughliterature

And you!

As always, don’t feel obligated. So sorry, if you’ve already done this one. I did my best to check!

Up Tomorrow: Top Ten Tuesday

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

 

9 thoughts on “Mash-Up Monday – Burrito Bowl Book Tag

  1. Wow- love the photos you took for this! Also I agree with you about the Accident Season- I still can’t be bothered to do a review cos you’re right there’s not much to talk about. Gosh I got Martian surprisingly cheap- mostly cos it’s not such a nice edition as that- but I wouldn’t have regretted anything if I’d got a more expensive one either, cos you’re right, it’s a great book! Thanks so much for the tag!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I second your choice with Hermione and Elizabeth meeting! That would be a beautiful friendship! And it’s interesting you chose The Accident Season for that question. I’ve noticed that magical realism is very difficult subgenre to nail. And most of the time I find those books to be really boring. :/ Anyway, thanks for participating, Ashley! 🙂

    Like

    1. Magical Realism can be so hard to pull off. It has to be done just right. I don’t know if this would be your cup of tea but I recently finished Ten Women Who Shook the World by Sylvia Brownrigg, and hit the magical realism just about right on. It’s so hard to find ones that are properly executed, like you said, not boring, which sucks because I love that element.
      Thanks for tagging me, Summer!

      Like

Leave a Reply

