Alice in Tumblr-Land and Other Fairy Tales for the New Generation by Tim Manley

5/5 Stars

Anddddd, it’s review day! This book had been on my to-read list since it came out 3 years ago, but I could never justify spending the money on it – It’s a little pricey! But, finally I got my hands on it because Santa left it under my tree.

This is a short humor book that consists of a collection of short “fairy tales.” Red Riding hood can’t seem to find a good man that doesn’t turn out to be a wolf. Belle’s relationship with the beast is quickly losing steam. Things didn’t work out so well for Cinderella. Alice is a college student that is never sure of what’s happening around her. Geared toward the young adult generation, these tales are sure to have you laughing out loud and nodding your head in agreement, relating to everything our favorite heroines are going through.

Screen Shot 2016-02-02 at 8.27.30 PM.png

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

I cannot praise this book enough. My goodness, it was excellent. I’m so glad I own it so I can read it like two bazillion more times.

Manley’s writing is wonderful. It’s fun, concise, and to the point, which is how humor writing should be. Even though he only writes in small chunks of text, the stories Manley weaves are impeccable. I adored every word that he put down on the page.

What’s next to touch on? Character development, I guess. Like I said, Manley only writes in small blocks, but he is able to construct some strong, marvelously unique, and in depth characters that all have arcs throughout this short book. Because of how this story is told, I was flipping pages so quick to find out what happened next. Manley keeps the anticipation and tension high by alternating and telling a small portion of each character’s story and then moving on to another one. There’s a small pattern, but not one that can be trusted. These characters are simply magical and will have you begging for more.

So, I’ve touched on characters, and I’ve briefly talked about story, what’s next? I guess I’ll talk about the humor. Manley relies on the “new generation” in order to tell his jokes. Most of them focus around social media, gossip, and ideas that plague young adults. So, if this isn’t your style, maybe don’t pick up this book. However, I can assure you that this book is fantastically hilarious and had me laughing out loud on many more than a few occasions. The humor is topnotch. Two thumbs up!

Another thing that I need to talk about before wrapping up this review are the illustrations. These pictures are gorgeous. I love everything about them. They made for perfect companions to the stories being told. These are the types of drawings that are beautiful in simultaneously being simple and complex. They’re wonderful to the eye simply passing by, but they provide the goods in the details for those who want to stop and stare awhile.

The final thing I’m going to say is that I love how feminist and empowering this book was not only to woman, but honestly to anyone involved. There were some great things happening here, making this book a must-read for everyone.

This is a lovely book that focusses on happy endings that don’t always have to revolve around woman finding their prince charming. (Thank god.) Manley reminds us that there is more than one type of happy ending, many more, and he brings us to that conclusion through humor and wit. Whether it’s finally selling that piece of artwork you’ve been working on for ages, breaking away from your social media addiction (don’t worry, I won’t be breaking away from mine any time soon 😛 ), or rediscovering love, Manly lets us know that there’s happiness out there for anyone.

I highly, highly, highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone. It’s a fabulous read that will sure to have you chuckling all the way through, leaving you smiling and satisfied. But, beware, it will also leave you wanting so, so much more. I couldn’t get enough of these stories and characters! 

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $16.28.

(It is so worth the splurge!)

Up Tomorrow: Review of Displacement: A Travelogue 

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Alice in Tumblr-Land and Other Fairy Tales for the New Generation by Tim Manley

Leave a Reply

