Mash-Up Monday – Recommendations

I love that I’ve decided to make recommendations a feature on this blog. I love recommending and talking about books I love! I hope you enjoy this feature just as much as me.

Today I’m going to be listing a few of my favorite poems and poetry collections.

Selected Poems of Elizabeth Brewster 1944-1977 by Elizabeth Brewster
I came across this collection at the thrift store and fell in love with the cover. I couldn’t pass up buying when it was only 89¢! Upon opening the pages, it didn’t take me long to fall in love with Brewster and her writing. I adore the stories she tells and the ones she creates. A great read that is perfect for not just poetry enthusiasts but for beginners as well. I especially recommend these poems to women.

Tamerlane by Edgar Allan Poe
I didn’t expect to fall as in love with this poem as I did. It’s one of Poe’s longer poems and is filled with lovely words that bring the events to life. I only discovered this one recently, but I’ve already read it 6 times. This is one of those pieces that you can read again and again, each time pulling out new meaning and discovering something new.

Goblin Market by Christina Rossetti
I studied this poem in 2 of my classes in college and have chosen to continue to read and study it even now that I’m a graduate. This is a lovely piece of writing that tells an interesting, mysterious, and, at times, horrifying story that has the capability with Rossetti’s rich language and vivid scenes to keep you thinking long after you finish the story.

Sir Gawain and the Green NightPearl, and Sir Orfeo by Unknown, translated by J.R.R. Tolkien, and edited by Christopher Tolkien
These epic poems can be a bit hard to get into, but they are worth it if you are able to. Both Tolkiens do a marvelous job of making these tales readable and enjoyable. These poems are ancient tales about valor, love, and loss. I highly recommend these to fans of fantasy as well as Tolkien fans.

Where the Sidewalk Ends: Poems and Drawings by Shel Silverstein
I’m sure most everyone has heard of this collection of poetry that’s marketed toward children. Spouting fun illustrations, interesting poems, and plenty of morals, Silverstein’s poetry is marvelous not only for children but for any age. His writing is fun, and there’s sure to be something here for everyone – kids and adults alike.

That concludes another set of recommendations. Have you read any of these? Thoughts? Liked/disliked?

Up Tomorrow: Top Ten Tuesday

(X Files is on tonight, and I can’t wait! (Anyone else excited?) – So sorry, just had to throw this in here.)

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

6 thoughts on “Mash-Up Monday – Recommendations

    1. Thanks so much! Eek, suffering through those poems in Old English sounds terrible! Tolkien’s translations are much better! (I can assume haha.) Thanks so much for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

