Sunday Review – 1/7/2016

Wow, what a great week I had. I read a few great books, caught up with an old friend, and finally saw The 5th Wave! I actually really liked it and thought the movie was well done and stuck closely to the book. There were a few differences I didn’t like too much, but nothing that caused me to be riotous. Also, Liev Schreiber as Vosch makes me so happy. He is the perfect actor for that role. I love it.

Have you seen the movie yet? Thoughts?

Another thing that was pretty awesome that I did was sign up for my first subscription to a crate! I ordered myself a LootCrate (for all things nerdy), and I’m so excited to get it! This month’s theme is Deadpool and The Walking Dead. (At least that’s what I read, so hopefully that’s what I get! Either way, I’m still excited about it 😀 )

You have until the 19th to get your box this month, if you’re interested. If you are, it’d really help me out if you ordered through this link! http://looted.by/du2Bs

Anyway, back to the books.

BLOG POSTS

Monday: Mash-Up Monday – Book Courtship Tag
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Historical Settings
Wednesday: Book Review – Black Widow, Vol. 2: The Tightly Tangled Web by Nathan Edmondson, Phil Noto, and Mitch Gerards
Thursday: Book Review – The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe adapted by Benjamin Harper

BOUGHT
Alien Planet by Fletcher Pratt
Star Wars: The Courtship of Princess Leia by Dave Wolverton
Star Trek: Dreams of the Raven by Carmen Carter

REVIEW COPIES RECEIVED
People Who Knew Me by Kim Hooper

BORROWED
Ms. Marvel, Vol 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson, Jacob Wyatt, and Adrian Alphona
The Graveyard Book, Vol. 2 by Neil Gaiman adapted by P. Craig Russell and Various Artists
Goody Hall by Natalie Babbitt
Spider-Girl, Vol. 5: End Game by Tom DeFalco
Dragon’s Breath and Other True Stories by MariNaomi
The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness

FINISHED
Ms. Marvel, Vol 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson, Jacob Wyatt, and Adrian Alphona  – 5/5 Stars
The Graveyard Book, Vol. 2 by Neil Gaiman adapted by P. Craig Russell and Various Artists – 5/5 Stars
Mugglenet.com’s What Will Happen in Harry Potter 7: Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Falls in Love and How Will the Adventure Finally End? by Ben Schoen, Andy Gordon, Gretchen Stull, Emerson Spartz, and Jamie Laurence – 3.5/5 Stars

CURRENTLY READING
Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith, Jane Austen, and Philip Smiley
Star Trek: Twilight’s End by Jerry Oltion
Vampire Stories by Arthur Conan Doyle
The Husband List by Janet Evanovich and Dorien Kelly
The Defeatist by Sophie Bowns
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
50 Great Short Stories by Milton Crane
The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe
Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King
The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer
The Writer’s Daily Companion: 365 Inspirations and Writing Tips by Amy Peters
A Cup of Comfort for Writers stories edited by Colleen Sell
Reading Like a Writer: A Guide for People Who Love Books and for Those who Want to Write Them by Francine Prose
Moby Dick by Herman Melville

Wow, lots of books last week! Did you do anything fun this weekend? Read anything good? Anything to recommend me? (I’m always up for recommendations!)

Up Tomorrow: Book Recs

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Review – 1/7/2016

    1. Yes, I thought it was really well done. My two main complaints were minor and didn’t really effect my admiration for the movie at all. I’m so happy it was disappointing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

