Black Widow, Vol. 2: The Tightly Tangled Web by Nathan Edmondson, Phil Noto, and Mitch Gerads

5/5 Stars

When I saw that the Library had gotten in the second issue in this Black Widow series, I jumped right on thatI snatched it up faster than you can actually say Black Widow.

This is the continuation of Natasha Romanoff’s story. She’s a member of The Avengers, but she’s so much more than that. Black Widow is constantly doing work to make up for her mysterious past. As readers, we are unsure of what haunts her, but are shown just how badly she is tortured. She is a loner who has recently let a cat into her life, about the only friend that she has. However, she discovers this is wrong when her agent/accountant, Isaiah, is taken captive –  the baddies found out about their work relationship. Black Widow is faced with a dangerous enemy in the present that she had helped out in the past, not knowing what he was destined to become. With appearances by Punisher and Hawkeye, this compilation of comics #7-12 in the series is sure to be one wild ride.

Screen Shot 2016-02-02 at 8.34.00 PM.png

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

Wowza, I liked this book way better than the first one in the series. This is not to say that I didn’t like the first one, but, since I did like the debut comic collection, that just shows how much I loved this one.

ALSDJF; L;AKLJ 

Where to even begin? 

I guess I’ll start with how much I loved the development and progression of Natasha’s storyline in this book. The plot has thickened, and I absolutely cannot get enough of it. (I seriously need the next book in the series like five days ago.) The story get’s even more involved, similar to how Natasha seems to have gotten more involved in things. Many new ideas and problems are revealed to heighten the anticipation and tension in this series. The writing in this collection is superb, and I devoured it as if not only Natasha’s life depended on it but also as if my own did.

However, the writing doesn’t do all the work here. The art style has really grown on me, and I’ve come to adore it. I love the soft lines and blended aspects of it. The stills not only enhance the story, but progress the story. As it is with any comic series, the writing and the artwork are dependent on each other to weave the story together and keep the reader interested. The artwork in this collection does just that. There is no lack of connection between images, writing, and story. I felt a bit of a disconnect in Black Widow, Vol. 1, but I’m so happy to say that I felt no such discrepancy in this volume.

Not only did all these aspects work together to move the story forward, they all also moved the progression of Natasha’s character forward. I felt like Black Widow’s character took leaps and bounds (or, I guess, spun webs galore in her case) in this collection. I noticed a better connection forming between her and I and longed, no, craved to find out more of what made her into the person she currently is and why she does what she does. Black Widow is a wonderful character, and it’s safe to say that I’m willing prey fully caught in her web. 

So, I will say this…okay…no…I’m not going to make any promise and say I’m only going to say this one last time, because I will complain about this until I’m finally satiated by the result I so desperately needWHERE IS MY BLACK WIDOW MOVIE? WHERE IS IT??? WHERE?????????

I highly recommend this book to anyone who liked Black Widow, Vol. 1, fans of Marvel Comics, as well as to Black Widow fans. I do recommend reading the first volume before picking up this one, since it gives great insight into the events that play out in this compilation. I also want to say that I recommend you read this one even if you didn’t really care for the first one. I can assure you the story gets so much better. 

I’m so looking forward to getting my hands on the third collection as soon as I can!

Get your copy of Vol. 2 from Book Depository here for $15.87.

Up Tomorrow: Review of a Graphic Novel Adaptation of The Tell-Tale Heart

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Black Widow, Vol. 2: The Tightly Tangled Web by Nathan Edmondson, Phil Noto, and Mitch Gerads

Leave a Reply

