Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Historical Settings

So, I was right when I said in yesterday’s post that The X Files was going to be wonderful last night. I loved everything about that episode! Wowza. I need to watch it about fifty more times like now.

Anyway…

(I hope my X Files rants don’t get too annoying 😛 )

This week’s topic, chosen and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish either focusses on the past or future. I was super tempted to pick my top books set in the future. But, that would mainly be consisted of science fiction books, and I feel like I talk about sci-fi books far too much to be able to give fresh choices. So, instead, I’m branching out and challenging myself a bit.

I’m going to be listing my favorite books that have a historical setting. This is kind of out of the box for me, but I’m loving it.

*click each photo to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

ONE

kingrichardIII

This is my favorite Historical Fiction Play I’ve read by Shakespeare. It’s jam packed with humor and also has an interesting storyline.

TWO

treasureisland

This might be the one exception of books that made this list that I don’t frequently praise. I’ve mentioned Treasure Island a few times before on this blog. But, it has a historical setting, a grand adventure, and pirates. What’s not to love?

THREE

slaughterhouse

This is a compelling story about PTSD and war, but also features a bit of a sci-fi twist. This is the only Vonnegut I’ve read, but it left me itching to read more.

FOUR

magictreehouse.jpg

I haven’t read the Magic Treehouse series since 4th grade. However, they are super fun reads for children that also teach about history. These books were compulsively consumable for me when I was young.

FIVE

tuckeverlasting.jpg

This is another book I haven’t read since I was young. But, I did read it twice between 3rd grade (when it was required for class) and 6th grade. I remember adoring this book. I seriously need to do a reread.

SIX

Across-the-Wide

This post sure is featuring a lot of books from my childhood. I guess I’m kind of sorry about that? But not that sorry. This was my favorite Dear America book. (I highly recommend all the books in the series.) I read this one 6 or 7 times. It became so habitual I had started to memorize this book. That changed, but my feelings for this book haven’t.

SEVEN

vampirehunter

This is a book I haven’t mentioned in awhile. I loved the humor, intensity, and historical setting of the novel. It’s a fun read and sparked my love for Seth Grahame-Smith’s works.

EIGHT

bookthief.jpg

How could this heartbreakingly wonderful novel not make my list this week?

NINE

witchofblackbirdpond.jpg

I had to read this book for a college class and ended up really enjoying it. It discusses taboo ideas about witches and the stereotypes that followed women in the time period. However, it doesn’t go too far in depth, as it’s only a middle-grade story.

TEN

rockorchard.jpg

This is one of the best books I’ve ever picked up that I’ve found clearanced out for a dollar. I had low expectations, but loved the plot this story wove. It’s interesting and wonderful. I haven’t read it for a few years, but it sticks out as a favorite Historical Fiction novel.

That about does it. Any books you liked/disliked? Thoughts? Do you like Historical Fiction? What was your TTT topic? Leave your link in the comment so I can read it!

Up Tomorrow: Book Review of Black Widow, Vol. 2: The Tightly Tangled Web

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Historical Settings

  1. I haven’t read Slaughterhouse Five but really wanted to–I love Kurt Vonnegut’s dystopian short story, Harrison Bergeron. And I’ve The Book Thief in my TBR for SO LONG. It’s one of those books I keep putting off because everyone’s telling me how devastating it is and I’m not really in a crying mood. D:

    Here’s my TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooo I will definitely be checking out that short story by Vonnegut!
      I totally understand about The Book Thief. I’ve been wanting to reread it, but since I know what i’m getting myself into, I keep putting it off because I know it’s going to be a cry fest!

      Like

  2. Ah, so many happy memories from this post. I never read the Magic Tree House books but… my dad recently bought all of them up to volume 52. He’s decided to improve his English and reading skills with those, and he’s loving them! And oh my gosh, Dear America! I used to borrow those from the school library. Good times. I read Tuck Everlasting when I was in 6th grade and remembered really loving it. I read it in one sitting, which is kind of easy since it’s so short anyway. But I really want to reread it sometime soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, that makes me so happy that your dad is using and enjoying those books! I used to love the Dear America books. They were such good stories! I need to reread Tuck Everlasting again too. I always praise it but can’t remember much about the story besides loving it. (I’m almost scared to reread and potentially shatter my admiration for it, but I will anyway…one of these days! haha)

      Like

Leave a Reply

