Mash-Up Monday – Book Courtship Tag

Woops, another post that’s late in the day! I’m getting so lazy. Nah, I’m blaming it on the busy weekend I had. (Too much socializing!) At least I’m getting closer and closer to the new X Files episode tonight. I’m super excited for this one, since it’s from the same writer of my favorite episode! It’s going to be so good 😀

Moving on to the tag in question. I was tagged ages ago by Erika @erikainbookventureland to do the Book Courtship Tag. Thanks so much Erika! I had such a fun time with this tag and taking photos of my books.

*click each image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?

 IMG_1887.JPG

I picked this book up at Half Price Books for $4.00. It was published in the 1970s; how could I resist that cover? I haven’t read it yet. I hope the story’s as beautiful as the illustrations!

Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of its summary?

IMG_1888.JPG

I found this book at the thrift store and got it for 89¢! It’s a collection of short stories about alien abductions told from the aliens’ perspective. Another one I haven’t read yet, but it sounds right up my alley.

Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing?

IMG_1889.JPG

I will praise this book until the day I die.

Phase 4 – First Date: The first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?

IMG_1890.JPG

It took me a a long time to read The Hunger Games after it came out. I ended up having to read the first book in the series for a course I took in college. But, after finishing it, I was hooked and immediately went out to buy the second one. (The third one came out one week after I read the first one, and I snatched that up instantly as well. I read all 3 books in a little over a week.)

Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?

IMG_1891.JPG

In high school, I took a class where, throughout the semester, we chose 4 books to read and construct projects on. I decided to read The Historian for one of them because I had chosen to read Dracula in a separate English class for an individual project that was taking place at the same time. It was wonderful reading them side-by-side, but it was Kostova’s work that kept me reading into the late hours of the night.

Phase 6 – Always on My Mind: A book you could not stop thinking about?

IMG_1893.JPG

I read this book for a project in the same college class I read The Hunger Games in. This book by Joseph Campbell dissects the typical formula that can be (and often is) used as an outline for a book (or any media really – especially movies) that contain a hero. It’s a fascinating read, and I often still think about it when consuming anything that has a “hero.” (I used this text to compare Katniss’ journey in The Hunger Games and Jonas’ journey in The Giver for said college course.)

Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book that you love the way it feels?

IMG_1898.JPG

This book was originally published in the late 1600s. Yes, you read that right. The 1600sI ended up picking this book up for $10.00. How is that even possible?! It’s one of my most prized possessions. I can’t believe I own this. I often pick it up just to feel it in my hands.

Phase 8 – Meeting the Parents: A book you would recommend to your family and friends?

IMG_1899.JPG

I recommend this memoir to anyone and everyone. It’s such a wonderful, inspirational read. Prepare to be ready to feel like you can accomplish anything.

Phase 9 – Thinking about the Future: A book or series you know you will re read many times in the future?

IMG_1902.JPG

I’m sure no one is surprised this answer. Always ❤

Phase 10 – Share the Love: Who do you tag?

Shivalika @whimseyjournals
Tasha @headinthecloudsheartinthebooks
Emily @emilytalksaboutbooks
Bianca @theultimatefangirl
Kat @bookboxbykat
Heather @thesassygeek
Ali @arcticbooks
Alicia @caffieneandbooks
Caroline @anovelromance
Brittany @thedreamcarrier
April @swimmingthroughliterature

I did my best to check and see if you already did this tag, so, if you have I’m sorry and ignore me. Also, as always, no obligations.

I hope you enjoyed reading this challenge and looking at my photos as much as I did creating this post. I’m always down to take photos of the pretty books I own. Do you have any thoughts or opinions about these books? Loved/hated? Let’s chat!

Up Tomorrow: Top Ten Tuesday

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

14 thoughts on “Mash-Up Monday – Book Courtship Tag

    1. I can’t believe I own that book either! I found it at a bookstore that was going out of business and everything was half off, including that one! What a find.
      I really like The Hunger Games. If you like YA Dystopian, I would say you should definitely give it a try. However, if that’s not really you’re thing, then maybe continue to skip it. It’s one of those books where I feel like the majority of readers either love it or hate it. I personally think the writing is good, and the plot is interesting and fast paced.

      Like

  1. Love the photos-especially the last one with your Harry Potter collection, Ashley! And hehe, I may be the only one that thought The Great Gatsby is an overrated classic… I do give that Fitzgerald’s writing was wonderful but I didn’t like the story so much. I’m going to give his other works a try though. Have you seen the beautiful, fancy editions? I think they’re the anniversary ones!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Summer! I have so much Harry Potter stuff, it’s unreal, haha!

      You are totally not the only one who thinks Gatsby is overrated. He’s got a very specific style and form of writing/storytelling. I can understand why not everyone likes it. It can be hard to get into as well since it’s such a slow-paced and abstract storyline. (Does that make sense?) I don’t know. Anyway, even though I love it, no judgement from me that you don’t 🙂
      (Shockingly, I haven’t read any of this other works :O )
      Ah yes! Those fancy editions are so pretty!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That makes total sense actually. I think you’re right, the abstract storyline is probably what it was for me. A lot of classics are like that for me especially the ones I read in high school. I get they’re important and have some significant themes… but sometimes I just can’t connect. 😛 AND WHAT?! Lol, just kidding. I’m sure you’ll pick up his other stuff someday knowing you!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Classics can definitely be hard to connect with. It took me years to finally be able to connect on a deeper level with them.
        And haha I KNOW! I can’t believe I haven’t! I do have 2 of his other works, it’s just a matter of getting around to them!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

