The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

5/5 Stars

The end of another week? I bet I’m getting so redundant. I say that after every week, don’t I? I wish I could say I was sorry, but the end of the blogging week always sneaks up on me. You know how life goes. I wish I could blog every day of the week, but, unfortunately, I do have to have a life and make a living.

But, that’s beside the point. On with the review! 

This is the story of Todd Hewitt. He’s a young boy, just shy of his 13th birthday. Todd is the only boy in a town of men. His mother died, along with the other women of the town, from the Noise germ and his father wasn’t far behind. He was left to live with their neighbors who took young Todd in. The two men tried to educate him as much as they could, but, in a town of men where everyone can hear each other’s Noise, there is not much focus on education. Events fall into place, and Todd is forced to flee with only his dog, Manchee. Todd can hear Machee’s thoughts as well. On his way out of town, Todd and his dog stumble upon something strange – silence: a void in the noise: a girl. He saves her causing their lives to become intertwined. They have no choice but to continue on their journey and face what comes.

Screen Shot 2016-01-28 at 12.47.08 AM.png

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

ASHKJ LKASDJF LKDASFJ

How did it take me so long to start this series?! 

I had such a hard time writing that synopsis, because my description doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface of what is happening in this novel. This book left me absolutely floored and at a complete loss for words. I’m not even really sure where to start with this review. I think I’m going to have to make this review semi-short so I don’t give away any of the juicy and action-packed events that happen in this book.

This book is honestly like nothing I’ve ever read before. It’s so unique with a fresh storyline that is all it’s own. Ness writes an utterly flawless plot leaving plenty to the imagination but nothing left unanswered. I adored everything about this story. It was compelling, thought-provoking, terrifying, and tension ridden making it compulsively readable. This book…I just…this book…oh my god. See? I can’t even form sentences anymore.

So, I guess I’ll move on to the characters. I love them all. Every. Single. One. Well, except the ones your not supposed to love, but, wow, they’re still exceptionally well-written. Not a single character in this book was under-developed. They were all perfect. I don’t have a single complaint. Even the dog has a personality all his own. And, also, Aaron is the best villain I’ve read in awhile. He’s horrifying and terrible and I hate everything about him, but I can’t deny that his character is written superbly. They all are.

Send help – I’m having trouble quelling the gushing that’s happening right now. 

O. o. O. One final character I want to praise real quick is Viola. Wow. She is so multidimensional with such an array of feelings and emotions. She’s one of the best YA central characters I’ve read in awhile. She holds her own and can take care of herself, but that doesn’t stop her from being a scared, young girl who…well…I’m not going to ruin anything 😛

Now, something that’s important to touch on: the writing. This book is told from Todd’s perspective – first person narrative. And, since Todd is a poorly educated young boy, Ness does something totally unique. He writes the words in the same uneducated way that Todd would. An example of this would be the word though being spelled like tho. This didn’t bother me at all, but only added to my connection with the story. If you can get passed it or even embrace the bad grammar, the style adds an entirely new level to the amazing story Ness has created.

Okay, last thing I’m going to talk about. There is a great deal of heartbreak in this book. Ahhhh. If you read this, plan to be sobbing regularly…Or, at least during one part. I’ve given you fair warning. Read at your own risk. But, hey, if you’re looking for a fantastic book that’s going to tear you to pieces, this is the book for you.

This book is filled with twists, turns, fresh story lines, fantastical characters, heartwarming moments, terrible villains, and an entirely new world to be discovered. 

It was everything I was hoping for and more.

I highly recommend this book to sci-fi readers as well as young adult fantasy and sci-fi readers. This book mostly retains the science fiction feel, but I say fantasy too, because it does have fantasy elements in a sense but is nowhere near high fantasy. Basically just read this book. I loved it and hope you will too. 

(Also, for the record, this book is over 400 pages and I read it within 2 days. So, that should tell you something.)

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $9.59.

Have you read this book? Thoughts? Opinions?

I hope you all have a wonderfully fantastic weekend! I’ll be back Sunday with my typical weekly review.

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

7 thoughts on “The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

    1. He was; he was so terrible! My hate for him is insurmountable and unending. I need to pick up book two soon too!

      Like

  1. YAY!!!! I’m so glad you loved it! I adore this book it’s pretty much perfection, I had zero complaints about it as well. All of the characters and world building were done flawlessly. I could gush all day, love the review by the way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES! It’s so wonderful! I really need to get my butt in gear and read book two. I need to find out what happens!
      Glad you liked my review 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

