Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Memoirs

Holy cow! Did anyone else watch last night’s episode of X Files? It was amazing O.M.G. My heart is broken into a million little pieces, but I love it. I can’t believe I have to wait a week for the next episode!

Moving On…

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is a freebie. When I saw those words, I instantly froze in panic. Freebie? You mean I have to pick my own topic? How will I ever?

Thankfully, I came up with my topic within about 30 seconds. The idea of memoirs blissfully came to me, and I knew that was the topic I was going to write about. I’ve read quite a few (almost 30), so it was great to have enough to choose from to create my top ten this week.

*click each photo to be redirected to individual book’s Goodreads page*

ONE

anageoflicense

I read this graphic memoir just the other night and absolutely loved it. Knisley writes about her semi-solo trip to Europe, what she learned, and how it made it her feel. I also recommend her other travelogue Displacement.

TWO

marbles

I just wrote a review for this one the other day. I loved Forney’s graphic memoir and think it’s a wonderful addition to the nonfiction world of graphic novels.

THREE

oogy.jpg

This is a wonderful book about a family that takes in a pit bull that was nearly mortally wounded during a dog fight. The family works to rehabilitate him and make him a part of the family. A story sure to pull on your heartstrings.

FOUR

teachingthecattosit

This book is a touching memoir written by Michelle Theall about her life and her story. Growing up gay in a strict catholic household had it’s effects on her life and her choices. A wonderful story that is compulsively readable. See my full review here.

FIVE

yesplease

I love Amy Poehler, and so her memoir was a must read. I was not disappointed. This book was filled with some great advice as well as Poehler’s wonderful personality. The humor was bounteous, but there were also plenty of touching moments. See my full review here.

SIX

hyperbole

As most of you already know, this was one of my favorite graphic novels of 2015. This is a wonderfully relatable story that will have you flipping pages like your life depends on it. I can’t for Brosh’s next book! See my full review here.

SEVEN

wild

Another read most of you will recognize from how much I talk about it. I loved Strayed’s memoir. It will take you on a lovely journey and will, hopefully, have you feeling inspired – like you could take on the world. See my full review here.

EIGHT

completepersepolis

This story is such a must read for everyone. Satrapi’s graphic memoir takes you on a journey of what it was like growing up in the Middle East. This story has the opportunity to give you entirely new outlook on the struggles that everyday life presented and how Satrapi overcame them. See my full review here.

NINE

parttimeindian

It’s been years since I’ve read this book, and I keep meaning to reread it. However, I remember really liking this book. I was young, and Alexie’s writing helped to erase some prejudices and stereotypes I was unknowingly harboring.

TEN

thescienceofsingle

This is a fun book that will have you wanting to read more to find out what happens to our poor protagonist. The story is interesting and let’s us know that dating, especially online dating, doesn’t always work out and that’s okay.

What was your TTT topic? Recognize any books on my list? Thoughts? Leave your links in the comments so I can read yours!

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

 

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Memoirs

  1. Yes yes yes on the X-Files! I was iffy on the first episode, but last nights was so good. I love your freebie theme, and may need to use it for future freebies of my own! I’ve read a bunch of these as well (Persepolis most recently) and it’s a great list!

    Like

    1. I completely agree about the first episode! I felt a kind of disconnect between the actors and their characters and the themes, but then with the second episode I was like, yep that’s them; they’re back.
      Glad you liked the topic and my choices! Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

  2. I read and loved the memoirs by Sherman Alexie, Allie Brosh, and Amy Poehler. A lot of your other picks look super interesting … especially The Science of Single (which feels a like it might be a little too relevant to my life right now).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s been a few years since I read The Science of Single, but I remember being able to relate a lot to the main character (even if she was a bit older than me). She does a good job of making light of the situation and helping you feel like you’re not invalidated just because relationships aren’t working out the way you want them to. I remember it being a fun, quick read that was relatable and also a bit of a confidence booster.
      Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

    1. It’s been awhile since I read The Science of Single, but I remember it being fun and nice and light. I hope you get a chance to read Poehler’s book. I absolutely adored it 🙂
      Thanks so much for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I remember you recommending that one to me one other time. I own it, so I think it’s totally time to move it up on my TBR. I think it will definitely be my next memoir. Thanks so much Summer!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! I haven’t yet read Wild, but I’ve read Tiny Beautiful Things and really loved Cheryl Strayed’s writing. Very meaningful and lyrical. ❤

    My TTT topic has to do with Australia day, which is yesterday! You can find it here. 🙂

    Like

    1. Ooo, I haven’t read Tiny Beautiful Things, but I think that will be being added to my TBR.
      Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

