Mash-Up Monday – Recommendations

Ooo, what will I be recommending this week? In honor of The 5th Wave coming out and the X Files Revival (Did you watch it? I was kind of disappointed. But it was still pretty good! I’m really looking forward to “Scully and Mulder Meet the Were-Monster,” since that’s by the same director of “Humbug,” which is my favorite episode…anyway…)

I thought I’d do my favorite books that feature aliens. I’m not including The 5th Wave in this list, since, you know, I’m doing this post in honor of that, so obviously I recommend it!

These recommendations hopefully have a nice spattering with something that everyone can enjoy. (Maybe? At least I tried.)

itried.gif

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

Not the typical alien story you would think of upon hearing the term, but this book was fascinating. I’ve only gotten around to the first one in the series, but I absolutely adored it. I can’t wait to continue reading to find out more about this alien race.

Only Human by Gareth Roberts

I’ve only read a few Doctor Who books, but this was my favorite one. I adored the story and loved the way Roberts wrote the characters. If you are a fan of Doctor Who, especially if you’re a fan of Nine, this is a must read. (Also, I’m classifying this as aliens because The Doctor is an alien, so…justified.)

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

If you haven’t read this book yet, what are you waiting for? This is a fantastic, fun, and hilarious read. It’s everything that science fiction should be. Filled with plenty of lovable (and not-so-lovable) alien characters, definitely give this one a go if you haven’t already.

The Transformers Classics Comic Series by Various Authors and Artists

I’m such a fan of the Transformers. I’ve only read the first volume of the classics comics (in order, I’ve read various other comics and scenes outside of the ordered read), but I totally love these classic aliens. They’re so much fun and always action packed. (I’ve linked to the first volume – the one I can vouch for as a recommendation to peruse.)

Little Shop of Horrors: Script and Lyrics by Howard Ashman

Okay, this is a recommendation kind of out of my box, but I’m going to try and get my thoughts out coherently. If you are into reading scripts, this is definitely a fun one. If you do have interest in reading this script, I recommend getting the original broadway soundtrack (not the ’80’s movie soundtrack) and listening to that along with your reading.
If scripts are not your thing, I still recommend you give the ’80’s movie musical a chance. It star Rick Moranis, Steve Martin, and even John Candy. The production is wonderful and marvelously hilarious with plenty of singing and dancing; you will not be disappointed.
Also, if you’re feeling exceptionally adventurous or dedicated to this story. You can reach out even further and check out the 1960’s non-musical production that features Jack Nicholson. It’s in black and white, utterly fantastically strange, and a marvelous treat if you have the patience and appreciation.

That should about do it. Have you read any of these? Like/dislike them?

Have you seen The 5th Wave yet? Thoughts on that? I’m going to try and get to it this week. No spoilers please!

Up Tomorrow: Top Ten Tuesday

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

 

One thought on “Mash-Up Monday – Recommendations

Leave a Reply

