Marbles: Mania, Depression, Michelangelo, and Me by Ellen Forney

5/5 Stars

How do these blogging weeks go by so fast? You know what that also means? Times going by so fast. I can’t believe it’s over half way through January already!

But, I guess that’s kind of an okay thing because The 5th Wave hits theaters tomorrow! I doubt I’ll go see it this weekend (since weekend prices are so expensive), but you best believe I’ll be there next week at some point. I’m so excited.

Another thing that this weekend means is The X Files Revival! Ahhh, I’m freaking out about that! I can’t wait for Scully and Mulder to be reunited once again ❤

Anyway, I’m happy to say I’m ending this week on yet another good note. I loved the book I’m reviewing.

This is a graphic novel memoir that focusses on Ellen Forney – leading up to and shortly after her 30th birthday when she is diagnosed with Bipolar Depression. Forney struggles with this issue and the issues her mental illness presents. Worried that she will lose all her creative ability and drive if she starts medication, she illustrates the tough decisions she had to make as well as the everyday problems that her illness created. Forney mixes humor with tough topics to tell her story and how she overcame her personal roadblocks.

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 11.54.47 AM

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

I’ve been meaning to read this book for ages. I picked it up and had it in my hands on more than one occasion that I was at the bookstore or Library but always put it back before I got to the checkout. Finally, I picked it up after my friend April @swimmingthroughliterature read it and gave it a glowing review.

I’m very happy to have experienced this book. I loved everything about it.

I have no idea where to start. I guess I’ll start by saying this is memoir, meaning it’s nonfiction. I’m finding that I really love memoirs told through Graphic Novels. I read quite a few last year and am still picking them up. It’s an interesting medium to tell a nonfiction story and almost brings the reader closer to the life of the writer because of the illustrations.

I love Forney’s artwork. It’s simplistic, yet detailed, and, of course, it’s absolutely lovely. The illustrations really help to make the story float right off the page. Forney captures not only the good things in her art but also the not so good things. I really enjoyed this medium while reading about her Bipolar Depression, since the pictures made the story and ideas more understandable and made it easier to see the effects the illness really did/does have on her.

Of course, in a book like this, the illustrations can’t do all the work. Forney’s writing is also excellent and written in terms that are easy to understand. There’s no foreign jargon or discussions that would fly over the head of someone who doesn’t understand Bipolar Depression. Also, when these instances do happen (rarely), Forney takes the time to explain what everything means and exactly how that effects her.

Forney is very explicit about her feelings and struggles, not hide any of the embarrassing or unflattering bits. It’s a bold move that I appreciate. Forney doesn’t skirt around the issues and illustrates exactly what it’s like to live with Bipolar Depression. She’s not afraid of honestly, and, really, honesty is so important when talking about these issues. Pretending the problems aren’t there does nothing more than allow others to pretend the problems aren’t there. 

I can call Forney brave all I want, but, when it all comes down to it, it’s not only bravery but necessity to bring these issues to light. She decided to stop putting her mental health on the back burner and reached out for help. This is important and may encourage others to do the same. She’s a very strong woman, but this Graphic Memoir let’s us know that strong woman are multidimensional and not exempt from unfortunate circumstances. It’s okay to not be okay; it’s okay to ask for help.

This book is also a great resource for those who may not have a strong grasp on Bipolar Depression and its effects. Forney explains all the nasty bits of what this disorder can cause. She explains everything clearly in a way that even helped me learn a few things I didn’t know. (I consider myself well-educated on the topic of Mental Illness – I do not mean this to brag or say I’m better than people who aren’t; I’m only including it to prove my point of how important this book is.)

In all honesty, I recommend this book to everyone. It’s a compulsively readable memoir and also an in-disposable resource illustrating the effects of Bipolar Depression. I’ve always taken an interest in Forney, but I now have an entirely new respect for her. Pick up this book, and I bet you will too.

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $12.97.

That concludes this week’s session. I hope you all have a wonderful weekend! I’ll be back on Sunday, as usual.

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Marbles: Mania, Depression, Michelangelo, and Me by Ellen Forney

Leave a Reply

