Mash-Up Monday – Disney Book Tag

I was tagged by Summer @xinsing and Trisha @thebookgasm to do the Disney Book Tag forever ago. Thank you lovely ladies for thinking of me! I’m finally getting around to it.

some of my photos aren’t up to par today, so just bear with me here. I’m recovering from the extroverted, busy, exciting weekend I had. To say the least, I’ve come down with quite a serious case of “the mondays.”

Anyway, here we go. As always, on with the books.

The Little Mermaid: A character who is out of their element, a “fish out of water.”
 IMG_1874

I think every character in a zombie apocalypse could be considered a fish out of water. And, since I always love showing off my Walking Dead obsession, I’m pretty sure every character in this series can be filed as out of their element.

Cinderella: A character who goes through a major transformation.

IMG_1875.JPG

This pun is horrible, and I’m totally not even sorry. How could I pass up that opportunity? Also, it was meant to be, since I just checked the Revenge of the Fallen book out of the Library last week.

Snow White: A book with an eclectic cast of characters.

IMG_1873.JPG

This book has such a mash-up of different characters. They’re each marvelous, and it’s fascinating how they all end up coming together. (So excited to see the movie!)

Sleeping Beauty: A book that put you to sleep.

IMG_1876.JPG

I picked this book up at the thrift store for $1.89, since I thought it sounded interesting. I didn’t realize that it was utterly outdated (published in the late ’90s), nor that the writing would be so torturously boring. The pictures were nice, though.

The Lion King: A character who had something traumatic happen to them in childhood.

IMG_1877.JPG

Libby Day’s family was murdered when she was just a child. I think that is absolutely considered traumatic. She’s also pretty similar to Simba, since she runs away and hides from her past – ashamed and bitter about it.

Beauty and the Beast: A beast of a book (a big book) that you were intimidated by but found the story to be beautiful.

IMG_1879.JPG

Of course this had to be Anna Karenina. I’m not one to get intimidate by books, but I had put this book off for a long time knowing it would be time consuming. But, I really loved it and found myself reading it quicker than I though I would.

Aladdin: A character that gets their wish granted, for better or for worse.

IMG_1880.JPG

Frodo wanted an adventure, and, by golly, he got one. Although, I don’t think it was exaclty what he was hoping for. “My own adventure turned out to be quite different.” (Yes I wrote that quote from memory…)

Mulan: A character who pretends to be something or someone they’re not.

IMG_1881.JPG

I’m not even sorry that this author (Gillian Flynn) has graced this tag twice. Amy Dunne is quite the psychopath and is constantly pretending to be both something and someone she’s not.

Toy Story: A book with characters you wish would come to life.

IMG_1882

I love all the characters in this book. They’re quite fabulous, and I’d love for them to leap off the page. Gaiman always writes fantastic characters.

Disney’s Descendants: Your favorite villain or morally ambiguous character.

IMG_1886

Not a villain, but definitely morally ambiguous. I wish comics weren’t so expensive otherwise I would totally own way more that feature Deadpool. I’m pretty in love with my new shirt in the middle there, and am totally wearing it when I see the movie. (It’s getting so close!)

That tag was so much fun. I love doing tags. So, passing on the tag goodness, here are the bloggers I tag:

Shivalika @whimseyjournals
Emily @emilytalksaboutbooks
Ayunda @tea&paperbacks
Evie @justanotherbelle
Jordyn @j.bookish
Charley @booksandbakes1
Cat @catshelf
Kendra @readsandtreats
April @swimmingthroughliterature

I did my best to check to make sure my nominees haven’t already done this tag, but if you have and I missed it, I’m sorry.
As always no obligations.

Up Tomorrow: Top Ten Tuesday

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

21 thoughts on “Mash-Up Monday – Disney Book Tag

  1. Whoops, sorry, I didn’t know I was tagged for this! But thanks for tagging me 🙂 I really need to read a book by Gillian Flynn. Which book should I start with? I feel like Gone Girl is way too hyped so I might not start with that one…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are most welcome 🙂
      I actually started with Gone Girl and really loved it. However, I did like Dark Places a bit more. If you’re looking for just a taste of her writing to see if you’ll like it or not, you might want to start with her short story The Grownup (which I recently finished and really liked, although not as much as the two novels I read). Sharp Objects is the only one I haven’t read yet, but it’s the one that most reviewers say is her best one. So, maybe if you’re looking to start right in with her novels, start with that one. Honestly though, I don’t think you can go wrong with wherever you choose to start!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You are most welcome. (Just so you know you are always going to be tagged in EVERYTHING I do hehe 😛 – fair warning.)
      And ahhh yes thank you! I love my growing collection 😀

      Like

      1. You dear soul ❤ You'll be tagged in all I do, if I get tagged by anyone besides you haha. I need to get to tags to catch up on them!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ever since I saw the valedictorian of my high school and friend read Anna Karenina in school, I was like “I have to read this someday.” Hopefully I will! And haha, this is random but you should join the Attack on Titan fandom; I think you’d like it from the choices you shared in this. It’s such a wonderful manga series! I’m currently obsessed. The anime is marvelous as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooo, thanks for the recommendation Summer! I’ve heard really good things about that series. I’ll definitely give it a shot the first chance I get 😀

      Like

  3. Oooh Libby is a fantastic answer. I’m pretty sure she wins the most traumatic childhood award. I swear I will tackle Anna Karenina one of these days.. the names intimidate me more than the size of the book haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally understand the intimidations behind Anna Karenina. I put off reading it for so long before I sat down and started it. The names can get quite confusing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

