Mash-Up Monday – Recommendations

Well, as promised, since I skipped last week’s Monday Recommendations post, I’m making up for it today. Last time I gave recommendations of classics written by men. Today, I’m giving classic recommendations written by women. How exciting.

I love recommending books, so here are some of my favorites.

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
Not my favorite Jane Austen novel, but it’s a fun read that will keep you entertained. A tale about two sisters and their search for folly and love. I also recommend watching the film adaptation with Alan Rickman and Kate Winslet. It’s a treat.

Persuasion by Jane Austen 
This is my favorite Jane Austen that I’ve read. It’s a bit more slow paced, but it’s heartfelt and makes many good points. Anne Elliot is 27, an old maid already in her time. But, what happens when she is reintroduced to an old love interest? This short read is so wonderful. Definitely worth it if Austen novels are your cup of tea.

The Waves by Virginia Woolf 
This book can be difficult to read, as it’s told through stream of conciseness. However, this is a touching read about past and present friends. Woolf focusses on what it’s like to have a close-knit group of friends and how that group of friends tends to age and separate, yet always remain together in some way. This read is compelling and heart warming.

The Return of the Soldier by Rebecca West 
I was required to read this book for a class in college, and it pleasantly surprised me. Chris Baldry is a shell-shocked soldier who has returned from his duty serving in World War I. He confronts 3 women who have shaped his life. This is a heart-wrenching read. Pick this one up if you’re looking for a fascinating tear-jerker. This book snuck up on me, but in the best way.

Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
This is the second Woolf novel I’ve read. If you’re looking to start reading her, this might be the perfect place. It’s a bit easier to get through than The Waves. This novel spans the length of one day. It’s not a particularly exciting or interesting day. But, told, as Woolf’s writing is, through stream of consciousness, this novel is heartbreaking, moving, and inspiring – reminding us what it’s like to be human. I recommend this novel so highly. I read it in one sitting and loved every minute.

This is just a small sampling. I’ll do more female classic recs another time. I really like recommending 5 books for these posts. It’s short, sweet, quick to read, and not overwhelming. This feature will definitely be sticking as a bi-weekly feature.

Have you read any of these? Thoughts? Any classics written by women recs for me?

Up Tomorrow: Top Ten Tuesday.

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Mash-Up Monday – Recommendations

Leave a Reply

