Sunday Review – 1/3/2016 & 1/10/2016

If you read my last post, you know that I announced I’d be covering both this Sunday and last Sundays review in this post. Because I was sick the first weekend of January, I’m combining bookish news from my last week of December as well as my first week in January.

First off, some non-bookish news. I saw The Force Awakens again, and it was just as glorious the second time around. I also loved noticing all the things I was too excited to notice when I saw it the first time.

On top of that movie, I took myself on a nice date to see The Hateful Eight. I was the only girl in the theater, except one other older woman with her husband. And, I got ID-ed. I’m going to be 24 in just a few days, but apparently I still look 16. Anywaythe movie was great. I’m Tarantino trash, so I had to go see this one.

Now, on with the books! 

BLOG POSTS (For Both Weeks)

Monday: Monday Mash-Up – F.R.I.E.N.D.S. Book Tag
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday – Books Added to My TBR and Top Ten Tuesday – Happy 2016: Resolutions
Wednesday: Book Review – Selected Poems of Elisabeth Brewster: 1944-1977 by Elizabeth Brewster and Book Review – Spider-Girl, Vol. 3: Avenging Allies by Tom DeFalco and Pat Olliffe
Thursday: Book Review – Remembrance of the Daleks by Ben Aaronovitch and Book Review – Death Note, Vol.1: Boredom by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

BOUGHT
Star Wars: The Force Awakens by Alan Dean Foster

(I know one of my resolutions was to stop buying unnecessary books, but I needed this one!)

FINISHED
The Walking Dead, Vol. 11: Fear the Hunters by Robert Kirkman – 5/5 Stars
Nimona by Noelle Stevenson – (still) 5/5 Stars
Alice in tumblr-Land: And Other Fairy Tales for the New Generation by Tim Manley – 5/5 Stars
Displacement: A Travelogue by Lucy Knisley – 5/5 Stars
In Real Life by Cory Doctorow and Jen Wang – 1/5 Stars
Islands Lost in Time by National Geographic – 2/5 Stars

(Yes, I totally read Nimona again!

ATTEMPTED*
The Puppy that Came for Christmas: How a Dog Brought One Family the Gift of Joy by Megan Rix

CURRENTLY READING
The Complete Peanuts, Vol. 5: 1959-1960 by Charles M. Shultz
The Husband List by Janet Evanovich and Dorien Kelly
The Scary Stories Treasury by Alvin Schwartz
The Defeatist by Sophie Bowns
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
50 Great Short Stories by Milton Crane
The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe
Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King
The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer
The Writer’s Daily Companion: 365 Inspirations and Writing Tips by Amy Peters
A Cup of Comfort for Writers stories edited by Colleen Sell
My So-Called Freelance Life: How to Survive and Thrive as a Creative Professional for Hire by Michelle Goodman
Reading Like a Writer: A Guide for People Who Love Books and for Those who Want to Write Them by Francine Prose
Moby Dick by Herman Melville

Well, there you have it: Two weeks worth of bookish news (as well as some other news). How have you been the last few weeks? Anything awesome you did/saw/read that you want to talk about and/or recommend? Let me know in the comments! (Or, message me on one of my other platforms.)

I hope everyone has had a nice start to their week!

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

*Short review posted on Goodreads for The Puppy that came for Christmas:

“I really tried to read this book; I really did. But, I found myself bored out of my mind. Rix’s writing is tedious, uneventful, and repetitive. I gave up on page 68. This is a short book with large print that I should have been able to finish in 2 days – 3 tops. It’s been almost two weeks. I found myself not wanting to pick this book up and actually read 1 other book 3 comic compilations, and a graphic novel in between. I never found myself wanting to go back to this book, so it was time to give it up. Good thing I only paid $1.89 at Goodwill for this. It’s such a shame I didn’t like this book; I love dogs.”

Leave a Reply

