Death Note, Vol. 1: Boredom by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

4/5 Stars

What do you mean it’s the end of another week? I feel jaded this blogging week because I was sick for two of my posts. This just isn’t fair. But, at least there are only 2 days in between this post and the first post of next week.

I finally started reading the Death Note series. I’m exceptionally excited about this. It’s been awhile since I’ve read any Manga. It’s about time I get back in the swing of it. I had the second book checked out from the Library, but because of my sickness, I wasn’t able to actually read it. I’m hoping to pick it back up the next time I’m there so I can continue with the series!

This is a story about Light Yagami and a Shinigami – a death god. The Shinigami gets bored one day and decides to travel into the human world, claiming that he had dropped a death note there, and he wanted to pick it back up before a human found it. However, he wasn’t being entirely truthful. He told the other Shinigami this lie, but he didn’t tell them that he had dropped the death note on purpose. Light, coming home from school one day, comes across it and picks it up. He doesn’t believe it’s real at first, but what happens when Light writes the first name in the death note and that person falls over dead? Packed with political and moral conundrums, will Light come to his senses, or will he continue to take the fate of the world into his own hands?

Screen Shot 2016-01-07 at 12.09.27 PM

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

I really liked the first book in this series. It was adventurous, horrifying, and also fun. Strange that I should call such an unsettling idea fun, but I really enjoyed it. This book is unlike anything I’ve read before. It’s completely unique. However, it’s been awhile, like I said, since I’ve read any Manga. But, I still thought this author and illustrator did a fabulous job of creating something all their own.

I also really enjoyed the characters. I can’t wait to see how they continue to progress. I really like the Shinigami. He’s got quite the interesting personality. In contrast, Light is one of those characters that you want to like but also want to hate. He’s written quite fabulously. (Because I’m currently still Star Wars trash) He kind of reminds me of Anakin Skywalker in the prequels. You want so bad for him to come to his senses, but you also don’t, because, obviously, you want the series to continue to progress.

So, if I’m praising this book so much you’re probably asking why I only gave it 4/5 stars. Well, it’s only the first book in the series and first books can often be a little shaky. I loved all the ideas, the plot development, and the characters, but they have a little ways to go yet. I’m assuming, especially since this is such a long-running series, that it can only go up from here. I rated it down a notch because I was being nit picky, and because when I finished I didn’t say Wow, that was utterly amazing. It was wonderful, just not at the amazing stage yet. I’m positive the rest of this series will hold nothing but good things.

I recommend this book to anyone who likes Manga (that hasn’t already read this series – It’s been out for forever, I know), anyone looking to dabble in Manga, and, of course as always, to anyone who found my review provoking. This was a great start to a series, and I can’t wait to continue reading it.

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $7.74.

Have a Fantastic Weekend Everyone! 

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr., Goodreads, Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading! 

 

5 thoughts on “Death Note, Vol. 1: Boredom by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

    1. Aww, well thanks for the warning! I honestly haven’t heard and don’t know much about the series (even though it was so popular). I’ll keep my expectations and hopes in check.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I haven’t read this manga or seen the anime, but one of my all time favorite Japanese voice actors takes on the role of Light. So I do want to watch this series if not read it someday. So glad you liked it, Ashley! I hope it only gets better as you read along.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

