Happy 2016 (Top Ten Tuesday/Resolutions Tag)

Hey everyone! As you may have noticed, I was on a bit of a hiatus my last two typical blogging days. Well, that is because I started off this year pretty horribly with a bad case of the flu. I was super sick and mostly bed-ridden for the first 4 days of the year. Fun stuff, right?

I’m finally starting to feel better, although still not 100%. But, I’m finally able to think clearly enough to blog! I skimped out on this week’s Sunday Review, so I’ll be including my last week of 2016 reading in with next week’s Sunday Review.

I also skipped my new bi-weekly book recommendation feature this week, so I will also be making up for that next Monday.

As of right now, I’m just going to continue on with the rest of the blogging week as I normally would.

However, since this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is top ten 2016 resolutions, I’m going to use the layout of the Resolutions Book Tag Summer, @xingsings, tagged me instead of my typical TTT layout.

BOOKISH RESOLUTIONS

I’ve set my reading goal to 85 books this year. It’s higher than last year’s 80, but I’m hoping that I’ll be able to reach it, especially since I had such an easy time last year going above and beyond.

I’m planning on moving soon, so I really need to read all the books I own that I don’t think I’m going to keep. As much as that pains me to focus on books that aren’t my top priority, I think this challenge needs to be a priority.

Get through all the ARCs I have lying around. I have so many and really need to actually read and review them.

(BOOK) BLOGGING RESOLUTIONS

I’m really happy with the system I have set up for my book blog. I want to keep it up and stick to it, regardless of how busy life gets.

Catch up on everyone else’s blog posts. I love reading others’ posts, it’s just hard to stay up to date with everyone. But, if I take a little time to catch up on past posts, I’m hoping I’ll be better at keeping up with recent posts.

I’ve recently really vamped up my Instagram and have been posting on a regular basis. I’m hoping to keep that up. I have 266 followers, but want to be up to 1,000 by the end of this year. Is that goal too high? Nahhh. (Scoot on over and follow me so we can be isntafriends!)

I’m also doing good on my booklr (Tumblr. book blog) where 2,244 lovely people follow me (which is freaking crazy). I have no follower goals for that blog; I just want to keep up with it and stay active in that community.

I’m also working on cleaning up and making my non-book Tumblr. a better blog. It’s kind of Star Wars trash right now, but I’ve been trying to make it a nice place where you can find mostly aesthetic posts, but also humor and political awareness posts.

Lastly, I’m thinking about finally broaching the strange world that is Twitter. I’ve gone this long without one, and I think it’s about time I make one.

CAREER ACADEMIC RESOLUTIONS

Biggest goal is to finally finish the novel I’ve been working on for like 5 years. (I wish that was an exaggeration.) I’m so close, and I need to buckle down and get it done.

I also have another short novella I want to finish. I think I might want to attempt to illustrate it, though, so that’s another lengthy career goal.

I’ve recently gotten into freelance writing, so I’d like to be able to keep that up in order to have a steady income while I figure everything else out.

Second biggest goal: Move to LA and somehow get into acting. It’s been a dream of mine since I was young. When I graduated high school I was torn between following the safe path of going to college and packing up my car and driving half way cross the country to pursue my dreams. Part of me hates myself for taking the safe route for so long. Los Angeles, I’m coming for you. 

Paint more and actually start to sell a few of my creations. I have, as most of you know, my Etsy Shop, but I haven’t actually sold anything yet. I’d like to focus more on that this year.

PERSONAL RESOLUTIONS

Learn to play the guitar. I’ve already started and committed a whopping 2 cords to memory. I’d like to put out a solo-indie-singer/songwriter album before I’m 30 (by 32 at the latest). Between knowing piano and learning guitar, I think I could do that.

Get back into optimum physical shape. I’m off and on with my personal fitness, but I’d really like to reach optimum badass physique this year. It’s going to happen.

Take a cross-country road-trip from here to California. I’m thinking of doing this when I move, but not quite sure how I’m going to work this in yet. I really want to, though, especially because I want to stop and visit with my family in Arizona along the way.

Brush up on my Spanish. I took 4 years of Spanish in high school, but, sadly, most of it has fled my mind. (I didn’t have the best teachers.) So, I’m going to order a book written in Spanish (most likely Don Quixote, since I’ve been wanting to reread that one anyway), and I’m going to work through it to refresh my skills.

2016

As you can see, this is going to be quite a crazy year for me, but I’m going to make sure it’s a good one. What are some of your New Year Resolutions?

I Tag:
Evie @justanotherbelle
Charley @booksandbakes1
Ayunda @tea&paperbacks
Heather @thesassybookgeek
Loreva @labookdreamer
Alysyn @reinreads
Shivalika @whimseyjournals
Heather @bitsnbooks
April @swimmingthroughliterature

Happy Reading! 

19 thoughts on “Happy 2016 (Top Ten Tuesday/Resolutions Tag)

  1. It’s time. You need to join the Twitter world. I strongly suggest it. I loves it with my WHOOOOOLE heart and then of course, follow me.
    Anyway, good luck with your move to LA! I’ve wanted to live out in CA for so long but am too scared to move out there with no job, apartment, etc. So I wish you all the luck in the world. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhh, okay, you’ve convinced me. I will have Twitter by next month! (And of course will follow you!)
      Thank you, I’m going to need all the luck I can get! It’s a pretty scary idea, but I’m going to work it out somehow!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to see you’re feeling better – illness is always just the best way to kick off the New Year (not).

    Thanks so much for the tag. I’ve been umming and aahing about whether I was going to do one of these “In 2016” type posts because really, I’ve not got much else going on other than what I already do. But now that you’ve tagged me I think I will do one. It’ll be good to look back on it at the end of the year and see how I went.

    Good luck with all your resolutions!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are most welcome. It’s always nice to have a few goals for the year, even if they are simple or small. No need to put down anything big (like mine haha).
      Thanks for the good luck wishes (I’m sure I’ll need them!). Good luck with everything 2016 brings you as well! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah yay! So many awesome resolutions, Ashley! I’ve never done a book unhaul before but that sounds very appealing. And moving house seems very exciting. Does this mean you’re going to be moving straight over to LA? I have some family and friends there. It’s such an amazingly fun city! And me too, I went a little request crazy in 2015 so now I’m trying to get through all my 2015 ARCs by March… Sigh, though I’m grateful that I got them, some of them feel like a chore now since I’ve kind of lost interest. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did come up with quite a few! Haha. Hopefully I can stick to them. They’re pretty general/vague, so hopefully it will easy to accomplish some small goals this year towards the bigger ones.
      I’m hoping to move straight to LA. I haven’t quite figured it out yet, but I’m working on making some connections and figuring out a plan to get out there. The book unhaul is mainly because I don’t want to have to move so many! But, I own lots of books I get at second hand bookstores and thrift shops that I pick up solely because they’re cheap and I have a vague interest in them.
      I completely agree with you on the ARCs. I tend to go crazy with requesting too and then feel bad when I don’t get around to them because there are other books I’m more interested in. I need to start practicing more self control around books 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

