Remembrance of the Daleks by Ben Aaronovitch

4.5/5 Stars

Oh. My. Goodness. HAPPY NEW YEARS EVERYONE. I can’t believe another year has gone by, and, as always, I’m utterly baffled by the linear progression of time. (What do you mean the ’90s weren’t 10 years ago!?) I’m determined that 2016 will be my year. I’m making some big changes and will hopefully finally finish the novel I’ve been writing for years. What are your 2016 goals?

One more detour before I start my review. I managed to read 110 books this year! I can’t believe I’ve surpassed my goal (80) by so many. Granted, I read quite a few graphic novels this year, but still. I’ve impressed myself. I’ve also come out with an average rating of 4.2/5 stars. You know what that means? I read a lot of really awesome books.

Click on the image to see all the books I’ve read this year.

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 12.25.28 PM.png

Now, finally, on with the review! 

In this book The Doctor (Seven) and his companion, Ace, must rescue earth, yet again, from the Daleks. It all starts when The Doctor travels back to Coal Hill School in London, 1968. He left something there that needed to be dealt with. Little does he know the Daleks are also searching for what he left. What will happen when The Doctor gets a funny feeling about strange van? First published in 1990 and remastered for the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Series, this book is marvelous and a grand adventure for any Whovian in search of one. (And, let’s face it, when are we Whovians not in search of an adventure.)

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 11.57.03 AM

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

As all you lovely people probably already know, I’m quite obsessed with Doctor WhoIf only that pin of mine were true. Although, I’d much rather be a companion than the Doctor. So, I mean, I’m just saying, Doctor, if you’re reading this, I’d love to explore space so maybe drop by and pick me up.

Anyway…I absolutely adored this book. It took me a bit to get into, since Aaronovitch sets the scene of it all up kind of strangely at first. It’s only a little hard to get used to his story telling style. I think this is because he had a hard time switching from screenplay writing to novel writing. However, his writing is brilliant and on point. (Humor, Heartbreak, Action – He writes it all.) 

I also loved the story line this book laid out. It was interesting, and I was hooked – 1000% invested. I loved how he wrote the characters and their thoughts and actions. Everything about how he set things up was brilliant. There was not a dull moment in this novel. I found myself compulsively reading trying to find out what was going to happen next. The events make sense and all work well together. I just loved everything about this.

Plus, on top of the wonderful story, the characters were amazing. I loved every single one. Aaronovitch does a marvelous job of encompassing The Doctor and his companion’s personalities. For someone who isn’t experienced in writing novels (I’m not making this up or blowing this out of proportion; Aaronovitch tells his readers in the introduction to this new edition that he had a difficult time translating from script to book.), it can be hard to make the switch and translate everything well. But, he does a marvelous job and everything came through brilliantly.

Also, can we just talk about Ace for a minute? O.M.G. She was freaking stunning. I loved her character so much. I cannot praise her enough. She’s a young, black girl with a troubled past who kicks absolute butt. She doesn’t let anyone tell her what to do and she knows how to make bombs and fight. Holy cow, this girl. She was magnificent. My favorite character. I can’t commend her (or Aaronovitch for writing her) enough!

This is an absolute must-read for any Doctor Who fan (Whovian) out there. The story line is spectacular, the characters are wonderful, and it’s an adventure you won’t soon forget. I finished this book over a month ago, and I still can’t get over how much I loved it. I definitely wouldn’t hesitate to read this book again.

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $11.40.

What an awesome review to end the year with!

Have a wonderful and safe New Years everyone! 

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (new-projects-are-currently-in-the-works) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Remembrance of the Daleks by Ben Aaronovitch

Leave a Reply

