Sunday Review – 12/27/2015

Wow, Christmas was here and went already. That’s crazy! I hope everyone got everything bookish they wanted! (And everything else too.) Santa was really good to me this year and actually brought me all the books I asked for. I can’t believe it. But, “Santa” also assured me I would be getting no books for my birthday because “Santa” spent too much on books for Christmas. Somehow, I’m okay with that.

I have so many books because I also went to Goodwill this week to pick up some Goosebumps books and (of course) bought a few others as well. (But, I did have enough accumulate points to get a book free!)

I have no idea where to put them all. They’re basically just sitting in the middle of my floor because I gave up.

So, now that I’ve rambled a bit, let’s get on with what actually happened in books this last week.

BLOG POSTS

Monday: Mash-Up Monday – Monday Recommendations
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under the Tree
Wednesday: Book Review – Tilt by Ellen Hopkins

REVIEW COPIES RECEIVED
Dead Presidents: An American Adventure into the Strange Deaths and Surprising Afterlives of our Nation’s Leaders by Brady Carlson

CHRISTMAS BOOKS RECEIVED
Alice in tumblr-Land by Tim Manley
The Wrath & The Dawn by Renée Ahdeih
After Alice by Gregory Maguire (signed!)
Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
Black Widow: Forever Red by Margaret Stohl
Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone
Lumberjanes, Vol 1: Beware the Kitten Holy and Vol 2: Friendship to the Max by Noelle Stevenson
Return of the Living Deadpool by Cullen Bunn and Nik Virella
The Walking Dead, Vol. 13: Too Far Gone and Vol. 14: No Way Out by Robert Kirkman

BOUGHT
Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire
Ten Woman Who Shook The World stories by Sylvia Brownrigg
On Writing Well: The Classic Guide to Writing Nonfiction by William Zinsser
Animorphs: The Invasion by K.A. Applegate
The Transformers: Dinobots Strike Back by Casey Todd
Goosebumps: Deep Trouble by R.L. Stine
Goosebumps: It Came from Beneath the Sink! by R.L. Stine
The Haunting Hour: Chills in the Dead of Night: Ten New Stories by R.L. Stine illustrated by various artists
Fear Street: Bad Dreams by R.L. Stine

BORROWED
The Undertaker’s Daughter: A Memoir by Kate Mayfield
In Real Life by Cory Doctorow and Jen Wang
Displacement: A Travelogue by Lucy Knisley
The Ask and the Answer by Patrcik Ness

FINISHED
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness – 5/5 Stars
The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe adapted by Benjamin Harper – 3/5 Stars
Black Widow, Vol. 2: The Tightly Tangled Web by Nathan Edmondson, Phil Noto, and Mitch Gerads – 5/5 Stars

CURRENTLY READING
The Puppy that Came for Christmas: How a Dog Brought One Family the Gift of Joy by Megan Rix
The Defeatist by Sophie Bowns
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
50 Great Short Stories by Milton Crane
The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe
Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King
The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer
The Writer’s Daily Companion: 365 Inspirations and Writing Tips by Amy Peters
A Cup of Comfort for Writers stories edited by Colleen Sell
My So-Called Freelance Life: How to Survive and Thrive as a Creative Professional for Hire by Michelle Goodman
Reading Like a Writer: A Guide for People Who Love Books and for Those who Want to Write Them by Francine Prose
Moby Dick by Herman Melville

Wow, as you can see, it’s been a wonderfully jam-packed book week! I can’t wait to read all my new books 😀

Did you get any books for Christmas? Anything else you’re dying to talk about that happened in the past week? Any books you’re dying to recommend?

Up tomorrow: most likely a tag, but not sure yet.

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (new-projects-are-currently-in-the-works) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Review – 12/27/2015

Leave a Reply

