Mash-Up Monday – Monday Recommendations

Hey everyone! I woke up a bit too late to plan out and participate in a tag today (curse you X-Files for keeping me up until 3 a.m.), so I think I’m going to give some recommendations today.

Top Ten Tuesday posts always seem to bring out the same recommendations from me, so I’m going to try and get outside the box and give some recommendations of books I don’t talk about as much, but deserve to be praised just as much.

So, if you’re looking for something new to read, this post might be just the thing for you!

After searching, I’ve come across so many books I want to recommend, so I think I might make this a bi-weekly feature. This week I’ll recommend some classics written by men (don’t worry, women will get a week too!), and then in two weeks I’ll pick a new topic! I love recommending books, so this will hopefully be fun for both you and me 🙂

*links will take you to individual book’s Goodreads page*

CLASSICS BY MEN

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
An advanced technological dystopian setting where books are banned and firefighters start fires instead of put them out. Follow Guy Montag as he investigates if books are really bad or if they’re everything he’s been needing. You will not lack action nor deep thought if you pick up this book.

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
Find out what happens to young Jim Hawkins after pirates attack his home. Will he find the treasure he seeks? What happens when he teams up with a crew of shady villains? (I also recommend you watch A Muppet Treasure Island with Tim Curry – It’s a favorite of mine.)

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton 
A novel that is set in ’80s, Pony boy is an intelligent greaser who believes that there are only two types of people in the world: Socs and Greasers (people with money and people without it). A book that has a chance of moving you to tears (like my 8th-grade self who had to read 2 chapters for class over the weekend and ended up reading the whole book and crying alone in my room on a Friday night). (Also, I recently bought a signed copy of this and repeated that incident.)

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
Charlie Bucket, a poor boy whose family can barely afford food, finds a golden ticket inside his chocolate bar and has the opportunity to explore the famous Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory. (I’m sure we’re all at least vaguely familiar with this story, right?) This is a great read for all ages.

Animal Farm by George Orwell 
A political story about the negative effects of the Soviet communism. Although this book was published 70 years ago, many of the themes still remain. A utopia for some is not a utopia for all. Subtitled “A Fairy Story,” this book is told in an interesting way in reference to Grimm’s Fairy Tales. A short read packed with political schemes and the fight against fascism. (It’s a swell read and even a bit fun.)

Wow, that was fun. I definitely do have to make this a more common occurrence. Besides, who doesn’t like book recommendations?

Up Tomorrow: More recommendations (probably) in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday.

Stay Gold Everyone

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (new-projects-are-currently-in-the-works) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Mash-Up Monday – Monday Recommendations

Leave a Reply

