The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

5/5 Stars

Well, as you already know, I recently (finally) started The 5th Wave series by Rick Yancey. If you haven’t read my review of the first book in this series you can click here. After finishing the first book I had to go to Target to immediately get my hands on the second one. (Okay, I waited till the paperback copy came out, but that was only about a week after finishing the first one.)

I am loving this series so much. It’s dystopian. There’s aliens. There’s strong female characters. What is not to love? (I’m trying to contain my fangirling here.)

Moving on.

The second installment of The 5th Wave series picks up where the first one left off with only a small time lapse in between. The group is holed up in a hotel trying to find a warm place to spend winter; instead, they find themselves facing even more hideous plans executed by the alien race trying to wipe the humans off the planet. About 1/3 of the way through this story, it focuses heavily on one of the group members who is captured, telling their story more than the others. This, however, does not mean a lack of action. This group of kids that came together by chance now has to fight and face even more horror. Will they survive? Will the one taken hostage escape? Or will they drown in an infinite sea? Pick up this book and find out.

Screen Shot 2015-12-02 at 2.20.18 PM

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

Wow, okay, wow. Asldjflkjalkj. Okay. Trying to gather my thoughts.

I liked this book just as much as the first one. The only thing that disappointed me was that it was half the size! What’s up with that? Just like the first, I could not put this book down. I read it in less than 24 hours. It was that good.

Yancey’s writing style stayed consistent with how he wrote the first one. So, if you were looking for a bit more clarification, you’re probably going to be disappointed. Yancey keeps the air of mystery and doesn’t answer many question. And, with the few that he does answer, he only uses that to raise more. I still have no idea what’s going on, but I love it.

I really love Yancey’s cryptic writing and story telling technique. It keeps me wanting more. I have no idea how this series is going to wrap up, but I have no doubt that Yancey can bring everything together nicely. And I can’t wait to read it. 

I still love all the characters in this second installment. It’s great that we get to learn more about them. They are all strong, and unique, and different, and have their own thoughts and feelings. It’s all just so fantastic. It’s wonderful how each one is their own person. I applaud Yancey for that. It can be hard for readers to differentiate so many characters, but Yancey makes it easy by making them all so diverse. I just love these characters, okay? 

There’s really not much else to say that I didn’t already cover in my review of The 5th Wave. This book series is so unique and unlike anything I’ve read before. Although it gives me the feel and takes small aspects of previous alien-themed books and movies I’ve read and seen before, Yancey has created something completely new and different.

I CANNOT WAIT UNTIL MAY. MAKE IT COME FASTER.

(And, I actually have to wait longer to read the third book (The Last Star). I have the first 2 books in paperback, so have to wait for the 3rd one in paperback. The Torture.)

Anyway, I highly recommend you read this book if you liked the first one. If you haven’t read the first one but this review has peaked your interest, what are you waiting for? Go get your copy and read it immediately! 

The Infinite Sea absolutely lived up to the first book for me.

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $9.07.

Coming up tomorrow: book review of The Accident Season.

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (new-projects-are-currently-in-the-works) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

 

 

One thought on “The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

Leave a Reply

