Sisterhood of World Bloggers Award

 

I was nominated by 3 lovely ladies to participate in the Sisterhood of World Bloggers Award, and I am so thankfully that these wonderful people thought to nominate me. It means so much to be recognized in a community I love so much.

Warning: This post is going to be fairly long. I have 3 sets of questions to answer and don’t want to make 3 separate posts. So, just bear with me. Or, ignore this post all together. It wouldn’t hurt my feelings. But, if you want to learn a bit more about me, please continue on.

I was tagged by Kathy @thenoveltyoflife, Shivalika @whimsyjournals, and @jjbookloversblog.

sisterhoodofbloggers.png

The Rules:

Thank the blogger who nominated you and link to their blog in you post
Answer the questions the blogger who nominated you provided
Nominate 10 other bloggers
Create 10 new questions for your nominees to answer

Kathy’s Questions:

If you could Travel anywhere, where would you go?

Currently England, Scotland, and Ireland are my highest priority. But, New Zealand and going back to Italy (Italy for the third time) are pretty high on my list too. I also want to make it back to Spain someday. Basically, I just need to do all the traveling right now.

Why did you become a book blogger?

I got into blogging kind of late at 23 after having graduated college, but I’m kind of glad I waited. I’ve always wanted to start a book blog, since I’ve always been a reader, but it was just never the right time. I was always too busy and procrastinated around it too much. Having started after all my school obligations, though, has given me the time and energy to create the blogging schedule I wanted and has made me able to stick to it. I blog because I love writing, and I love books, and I love talking about books.

What was you favorite and least favorite subject in school?

English Literature was always my favorite. My least favorite was Math. I’m horrible at Math. Always have been always will be.

What character from any book do you relate to most?

Such a hard question! Hmm. My go-to is always Elizabeth Bennet, and, since I can’t seem to bring anyone else immediately to mind, I will choose her again. She’s strong-willed, stubborn – sometimes to a fault – she likes reading, she’s independent, she’s smart, she’s occasionally foolhardy, and she cares deeply for the people who care for her. She’s very much like me.

If you could meet any author, who would you choose?

My Queen: J.K. Rowling.

If you had the chance to eat lunch with your favorite book character, who would it be and what would you say to them?

But, but, but…I have so many favorites. How do I choose just one? I’m going to go with Deadpool, because he would be pretty sweet to have lunch with. (We can both enter into a burrito coma – only I hope the apocalypse doesn’t happen while we’re both lost in burrito dreams.) Anyway, I wouldn’t ask him anything in particular. I’d just enjoy the witty banter.

Do you prefer hardbacks or paperbacks?

Paperbacks. I’m usually a back-reader (I lie I on my back while reading), and paperbacks are easier and more comfortable to hold.

Do you re-read books? Why or why not?

Yes, all the time. There are quite a few books I’ve re-read multiple times: Harry Potter, Pride & Prejudice, The Great Gatsby, To Kill a Mockingbird…the list goes on, and this isn’t to mention all the books I reread when I was a kid. (There were a few series I read 2 or 3 times.) I’m a habitual reader. I like coming back to the familiar. I like reading books I loved again and again to discover new things within the pages.

What is your most read genre of the year?

I’ve honestly read a bit of everything this year. I think my 3 most read might be sci-fi, graphic novels and comics, and realistic YA. (I’ve read 101 books this year, though, so it’s really been quite the mix.)

Where is your favorite place to read?

All snuggled up in bed.

Shivalika’s Questions:

Which is the best book you have read this year so far and what made you love it?

The Martian by Andy Weir. It’s my favorite genre (sci-fi), and it’s witty beyond belief. It’s also action packed and had me completely on the edge of my seat. This book was the whole package of what I look for in a book.

What excuses do you give for not lending your books to others?

I’m pretty stingy about lending books. Usually when someone outside of my close, close friend group asks I just keep “forgetting” to bring the book they want to borrow until they stop asking.

Which genre, if there is, do you usually avoid reading?

Romance. I don’t mind the occasional light, fluffy romance, but anything beyond that isn’t really for me.

Do you ever plant to write a book? If so, what genre?

I’m actually currently trying to finish a novel I’ve been working on for years. It’s a young adult (light/fluffy) romance with a mystery/action twist. I’m pretty excited about it.

Which books have inspired you to write? Or start your blog?

There are so many to even try to name a few. I’m such a lover of books. They’ve all inspired me in some way. Harry Potter has had a significant influence on me, among others.

Apart from reading, what is your favorite hobby?

Music. I play the piano, flute, and am attempting to teach myself guitar. I hope to put out a unique solo album some day. We’ll see if I can actually achieve that.

Any specific book you are inclined to read on a cozy, rainy day?

Not particularly. I’ll read anything on a rainy day. It’s such a good excuse to read!

Favorite Disney movie?

Mulan.

Favorite authors and why?

There. Are. So. Many. OMG. I honestly can’t choose. Obviously J.K. Rowling, but, after that, I can’t pick. There are so many wonderful authors I love out there. I can’t choose. I won’t. You can’t make me.

JJ’s Questions:

Do you DNF books? Or, are you like me and find it really hard to, so you just push through to the end even if you hate the book and it takes forever?

I’ve actually just recently started DNFing books. It’s been a struggle to put down those books I don’t like because I’m stubborn. But, I need to remind myself there are so many books out there I do want to read, so why force myself to read one I don’t want to? Within this last year I got really serious and actually made my did-not-finish bookshelf on Goodreads an exclusive shelf, so I can actually officially file DNFed books.

What move can you watch over and over again and still love?

There are a few that I do this with: The Princess BrideThe Lord of the Rings (Fellowship and Two Towers), the Transformers series with Shia LeBouf, Die Hard, Mulan, and the Underworld series.

Do you reread books? Why or why not?

See my response to Kathy’s same question above.

What is the most shocking book ending you’ve ever read?

That’s a tough question! I’ve read so many. I don’t know if it’s the most shocking, but it’s one of the most recent, so I’m going to say Nimona by Noelle Stevenson.

Is there a specific book that got you into reading?

No. My parents used to read to me when I was little, and I loved it so much I’d make them read and re-read story after story. Then I learned to read myself and would just spend hours reading and re-reading books. I would just sit and read and read and read. I basically lived at the Library. And, that’s what I still do to this day.

What is your most hated book? Why?

I’m going to have to say Twilight (as well as books that give me Twilight-y feels). I’m a pretty radical feminist and can’t deal with that kind of sexism, especially that sexism as well as false relationship ideals being marketed to young girls who don’t know better. (I was once a young girl who loved Twilight because I didn’t know better.) I’m all about reading what you love and not caring what people think, I just personally can’t get on board with this.

What was the last book that surprised you by how much you like it?

The last book that really surprised me was The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black. I had heard mixed things about this book. Most good, but I wasn’t getting my hopes up. But, this book blew me away. I loved it.

Do you have a specific genre that you like to read more than others? Or do you try a bit of everything? Are there genres you won’t read from?

Sci-fi is my favorite, but I like to mix it in with a bit of everything. I really like horror too, but it’s so hard to find good horror. (I love Stephen King.) I usually avoid romance other than the occasional light read.

If you could be any character from a book, who would you choose?

I don’t think I would choose to become anyone else. I’d love to have a witch’s story line in Harry Potter, but I wouldn’t want to become any of them. I’d want to be friends with all of them! (Although, I do have this running story in my head I sometimes narrate at bedtime of me being a female Harry Potter…)

What is you favorite Disney movie?

Hahaha, what are the chances of me being asked this question by 2 people? As answered in Shivalika’s questions, Mulan.

Wow, that took a really long time! Way longer than I thought it would. But, it was fun. Find my tagged blogs and questions below.

Coming soon: Top Ten Tuesday.

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (new-projects-are-currently-in-the-works) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

My Questions:

What has been your favorite read of the year?
What is your favorite food?
What is your favorite social media website?
Do you have any other blogs?
What’s your favorite holiday?
Who are one of your favorite ships?
What and where is your favorite bookstore?
Do you have any pets? If yes, what kind and what is/are their name(s)?
What’s your favorite Christmas-themed book?
10 What book do you love recommending to people?

I Tag:

Charley @booksandbakes1
@indydriven
Kendra @readsandtreats
Brin @brinsbookblog
Heather @thesassygeek
April @swimmingthroughliterature
Ayunda @tea&paperbacks
@redheadedbookloverblog
Jordyn @jbookish
Summer @xingsings
Evie @justanotherbelle

So sorry if you’ve already done this one. As always, there are never any obligations 🙂

 

16 thoughts on “Sisterhood of World Bloggers Award

  1. Thanks for nominating me, I’ll get on this as soon as I can. I really love answering questions and your seem really interesting, haha. Also Mulan is one of my favorite Disney movies as well, I was obsessed with it when I was younger! Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No rush haha. You are most welcome for the tag! I’m an interesting person…sometimes hahaha. (Basically I just read a lot of books.) Mulan is such a good movie. I’ll never grow out of it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh hey I’m 23! I always get excited to find other bloggers who are a bit older 🙂 That was a LOT of questions. I am terrible about DNF-ing books as well.. I had no problem with my stubbornness until I forced myself to finish The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks even though I hated every moment of it. That’s when I realized I had a problem. 😉

    Like

    1. I love finding people around my age! It validates that I’m not too old for this type of thing haha. It was a lot of questions. It took me WAY longer than I thought it would to answer all those. Haha, yea it took me years to realize I had a problem and actually start DNFing books. I would always just push through. I don’t know why I felt I always had to be so masochistic. I’m getting better at being less stubborn 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for nominating me – I am looking forward to doing it and will try to get to it later this week. I just had to chuckle about being an older blogger – I am 51 – I am an ancient blogger!!!😀

    Like

    1. You are most welcome! No rush to get around to it. (I’m horrible at answering tags quickly haha.) Oh wow, you are ancient in the blogging world haha. I like that, though! It’s so nice to read posts from a variety of different age groups. It’s such a nice break from being spammed by all the young bloggers out there! Keep it up 🙂 Can’t wait to read your answers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

