Sunday Review – 12/13/2015

Wow, Sunday already, huh? I’ve had a busy weekend! A good weekend, though. (Even if I didn’t get my Christmas presents wrapped yet – I did get a billion cookies baked yesterday.) I was supposed to do some shopping today to finish everything up, but I might just stay in and be lazy. I don’t know; it’s early yet.

Anyway, did you all have a good weekend? I hope so!

I didn’t have a very successful book week. I attempted to read one thick book, but I found myself being forced into a reading slump, and realized it was the book I was reading that was doing it. I finally had to give up on it. So, that slowed down my normal reading productivity.

But, on with the books!

BLOG POSTS

Monday: Book Review (Bonus!) – Back to Christmas by Dennis Canfield
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten New-To-Me Favorite Authors 2015
Wednesday: Book Review – The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black
Thursday: Book Review – Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant: A Memoir by Roz Chast

BORROWED
Spider-Girl, Vol 3: Turning Point by Tom DeFalco
Death Note, Vol 2: Confluence by Tsugumi Ohbra and Takeshi Obata
Doll Bones by Holly Black
The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe adapted by Benjamin Harper and Dennis Calero
Black Widow, Vol 2: The Tightly Tangled Web by Nathan Edmondson and Phil Noto
The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz

(I’m so good at getting carried away at the Library.)

REVIEW COPIES RECEIVED 
Jackaby by William Ritter

FINISHED 
Cathy’s Book: If Found Call (650) 266 – 8382 by Jordan Weisman and Sean Stewart – 4/5 Stars

ATTEMPTED* 
Life After Life by Kate Atkins

CURRENTLY READING
Whippoorwill by Joseph Monninger
The Defeatist by Sophie Bowns
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
50 Great Short Stories by Milton Crane
The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe
Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King
The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer
The Writer’s Daily Companion: 365 Inspirations and Writing Tips by Amy Peters
A Cup of Comfort for Writers stories edited by Colleen Sell
My So-Called Freelance Life: How to Survive and Thrive as a Creative Professional for Hire by Michelle Goodman
Reading Like a Writer: A Guide for People Who Love Books and for Those who Want to Write Them by Francine Prose
Moby Dick by Herman Melville

Well, as you can see, I’ve picked up a few new (hopefully) resourceful books to try and help my business (freelance) dreams come true. I’m puddling my way through them and learning a few helpful things. Don’t expect to see reviews of those books anytime soon, though. When I say I’m “puddling” I really mean I’m puddling.

Did you have a successful reading week? Discover anything good? Do anything fun? Learn anything new? Dying to recommend something? Let me know in the comments!

The week has officially started. Stay tuned for Mash-Up Monday tomorrow (where I will hopefully actually do a tag).

And now I’m off to go shopping…I guess. Might as well get it done.

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (new-projects-are-currently-in-the-works) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

*I just couldn’t get into Life After Life by Kate Atkinson. Here’s my short review I published on Goodreads:

I was hoping I was going to love this book, since I’d heard to many wonderful things about it (and I’m big on sci-fi), but, sadly, I found it altogether boring and couldn’t bring myself to get past page 150. Maybe I’ll try picking it up at a different time in my life. That might make a difference. I don’t want to give up on this one altogether.

Leave a Reply

