Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant: A Memoir by Roz Chast

4/5 Stars

I can’t believe it’s the end of the blogging week already! I don’t want it to end…I don’t wanna go…I don’t wanna; I don’t wanna; I don’t wanna. As much as I don’t want the week to end, I really can’t stay (but baby it’s cold outside – woah stop being creepy…anyway…moving on).

Really I can’t, though. I have such a busy weekend coming up! I’m going the Library, doing some Christmas shopping (yes, hello, this is Ashley the procrastinator who always waits till the last minute), going out to dinner with my parents, baking Christmas cookies, and have some potential freelance work to start.

But, you didn’t click this link to hear all about me; you came to hear all about books. So, on with the review.

This is a graphic memoir written and illustrated by Roz Chast, a woman who has made her living writing, drawing, and selling comics. In this autobiographical story Chast discusses and illustrates her relationship with her parents, focussing predominately on the years leading up to their death. A sad read, but far from depressing. Chast touches on both the good as well as, especially, the bad, but she does so with a sense of humor mixed in. She demonstrates what it’s like to be in the position of having to help parents make tough choices and what it’s really like at the end.

Screen Shot 2015-12-02 at 2.20.01 PM

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

I really, really enjoyed this graphic novel. It touches on some tough topics that we’re often afraid to talk about, particularly seriously and outside of fiction. No one wants to broach the subject of realistic death, especially when talking about close family members. It’s usually something so private – a solitary experience. But, I give Chast serious props for talking so blatantly of what this is really like.

I couldn’t find myself directly relating to the topics talked about in this novel. Both my parents are still mostly young and fairly healthy. This, however, does not mean I could not sympathize or relate to this text at all. Chast brings up universal topics and issues that everyone will have to face and/or experience at some point in their life. It may not be parents or close/immediate family/friends, but these topics are always in circulation in some way, shape, or form.

Although, for people who are in a similar position as Chast, her book is actually very informational and might make the process a bit easier for someone. Chast brings up all the behind-the-scenes stuff that happens when you’re in charge (in a sense) of a deteriorating family member. This isn’t an ideal topic, but Chast refuses to talk about something more pleasant and discusses the topics with her readers head on. These other topics include, but are not limited to, wills, layers, making decisions for family members, clearing out her parents home, and dealing with the finances and money. These are things her parents could no longer do, so the burden fell on her. It’s nice (not nice, but refreshing), for once, to see the complete burden of the passing of loved ones.

Moving on from the sadder topics, I loved the other aspects of this book too. I really enjoy Chast’s drawing style as well as her writing style. This was a completely unique book, and I highly enjoyed how it was laid out as well as how the story was told. Her style really helps tell the story, move it forward, and keep the reader (me!) interested throughout. This wasn’t an excessively quick read, since there is a substantial amount of text alongside the illustrations, but I still finished within a day. It was definitely a book I didn’t want to put down.

I’m so glad I was able to find this at the Library, because I knew I didn’t want to actually purchase this one. I’m honored I had to opportunity to read and be a part of Chast’s healing process (for isn’t that why we writers write?), and I recommend you be a part of it too. I suggest this book to those who enjoy graphic novels, nonfiction, memoirs, tough topics, and/or anyone looking for something knew and interesting to read. Read this book if the opportunity presents itself; you will not regret it.

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $21.32.

I’ll be back to blog for all you lovely people on Sunday. Have a fantastic weekend everyone!

Also, in case anyone is interested: I’m currently hosting a giveaway on my Tumblr. Book Blog. All you have to do is follow me and reblog my post. Find it at this link. But hurry, it ends December 15th!

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (new-projects-are-currently-in-the-works-really-they-are) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant: A Memoir by Roz Chast

Leave a Reply

