The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

5/5 Stars.

It’s review day! It’s review day! (And I’m finally not feeling exhausted!) Okay, so I already did write one review this week (a bonus review!), but I’m super excited to review this book. I’m so glad I decided to pick this book up at the Library, but I’m also kind of sad I don’t own it, because it’s definitely one I could read again.

This is the first book I’ve read by Holly Black. I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to get on board with her. I will be reading more by this author for sure.

This is a story about Hazel, her brother, her friends, her family, and the Fae (Faeries) Folk. They all live in the small town of Fairfold where there’s a glass coffin in the woods that imprisons a boy with horns and where tourists sometimes disappear when they get too close to the forest. The high school students have parties and dance around and around and on the horned boy’s coffin made of tears. No one has been able to break it, yet so many have tried. But, what happens when Hazel awakes one morning covered in twigs and mud and the horned boys coffin is shattered. Everything breaks loose when Hazel starts discovering secrets: the secrets of others, the secrets her brother has tried to hide, and the most frightening secrets of all – her own.

Screen Shot 2015-12-02 at 2.19.32 PM

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

Well, as you can tell by my long synopsis, this book is packed full of action, adventure, and magic. I couldn’t even fit everything into my not-so-short blurb. I don’t even know where to start with my actual review because I adore everything about this book.

Black’s storytelling ability is beyond anything I first fathomed upon picking up this book. She had me hooked right from the very start – right from the first page. I couldn’t put this book down. Black strikes the perfect balance of fantasy and raw human emotion. Even though most of the characters in this book were fantastical, I connected with just about everyone in this story.

I especially connected with Hazel, though. She was a wonderful character. They were all wonderful, I was just able to connect with her a bit deeper than the others. But, regardless of my own personal connection, these characters are all relatable in some way. Each one has layers that you can peel back. Each one has some deep, dark secret they’re hiding. Each on feels happiness and pain and love and loss and laughter. These characters are so real and make the story come to life even more, causing it to leap right off the page.

There is so much I could say about this story. There is so much I want to say but can’t quite find the words for. It was that good, that good that I am rendered speechless. It’s been a few weeks since I finished this book and still feel so connected to Black’s writing. Ugh, I really need to buy this book. I want to read it again and again. There was so much happening the first time around that I feel like going back and rereading would bring out so much more, that’s how intricate and lovely this story was.

I loved everything about this book. I loved the writing. I loved the fantasy story. I loved the characters. I loved the beginning. I loved the middle. I loved the ending. I even liked the tropey nature of the “hipster-ish” setting. I loved it all. 

I CANNOT PRAISE THIS BOOK ENOUGH

I highly recommend this text to everyone. I know it’s probably not everyone’s cup of tea and many people disliked it, but I’m still going to recommend this to everyone. It’s a wonderful story. I especially recommend it to those seeking a YA fantasy (especially those looking for a strong female lead and/or some LGBT+ reading). 

Okay, I’ll stop blabbing about this text. But, only because this review is getting lengthy. Don’t get me wrong, I could blab for hours about this book. Hours and hours and hours.

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $12.82.

Coming up tomorrow: book review of Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant.

Also, in case anyone is interested: I’m currently hosting a giveaway on my Tumblr. Book Blog. All you have to do is follow me and reblog my post. Find it at this link. But hurry, it ends December 15th!

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (new-projects-are-currently-in-the-works-really-they-are) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

  1. I read Holly Black’s Modern Faerie Tale trilogy years ago and loved it so much. The writing was great and I just loved how dark they were. I’m definitely going to be giving this one and The Coldest Girl in Coldtown a go because everyone that I know that has read these loved it as much as you did. Awesome review, Ashley! I hope you’ll enjoy Black’s other books. Maybe even TCGiC! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks so much Summer 🙂 I will definitely be keeping my eye out in order to get my hands on more of her works. (I’ll definitely be scouring the Library on my next trip haha!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

