Through The Woods stories by Emily Carroll

5/5 Stars

Someone in the internet book world recommended this book to me (I’m so sorry I can’t remember who), so, naturally, this book immediately went on to the to-read list. I was super happy when I found it at the library one day. I snatched it right up, and I’m so glad I did. I’m sure most of you already know how much I love scary stories.

This graphic novel is a compilation of five mysterious tales that are sure to churn your blood a bit. Travel into the depths of a world where everything is possible and nothing is resolved. If you (like me) enjoy open ended horror stories, then these are definitely for you.

Screen Shot 2015-11-25 at 12.21.29 PM

*click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

Where to start with this book? I guess I’ll start by saying it was super easy to give this book 5/5 stars. I really enjoyed it. I loved all the stories except the last one, which was still good, but just okay for me.

Carroll does a marvelous job of writing and weaving good stories and good endings. As hard as it may be to believe, it’s actually quite difficult to write a good open ending. Carroll leaves the reader with all the right details to keep them freaked out and unsettled.

Given that this is a graphic novel, I flew through this book in a little over an hour. Although, I did often stop to appreciate the artwork. Holy cow this book is beautifully drawn. I loved all the illustrations. They made the story come to life even more. Both the drawing and writing came together wonderfully to create a book I literally couldn’t put down until I was finished. 

I also really like the horror level in the stories. If you’re worried about seeing guts, blood, and/or gore, don’t be. The illustrations and stories are tame. It’s the messages that are displayed in the stories that do the scaring not blood.

Overall, I seriously recommend this graphic novel. The stories are interesting and gripping. I especially recommend this book to those who like scary stories and/or graphic novels. Go for it. Get lost in the woods for a little while. But, beware the wolf.

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $13.48.

Well, since tomorrow’s a pointless holiday and most Americans are going to be gorging on food and spending time with family, I’m going to skip out for the week. (Also, I’m going out tonight and going to a football (Packer) game tomorrow, so I’ll be in no state to write a decent review.)

To everyone who celebrates, have a Happy and Safe Thanksgiving. To everyone else, have a marvelous rest of the week and fantastic weekend.

I’ll be back on Sunday *smiles and waves at all you lovely people*

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (new-projects-are-in-the-works) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Through The Woods stories by Emily Carroll

    1. Hahaha! Thanks for reading Cat; glad you liked my review! Even if it did just make your need to read this stronger 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

