The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

5/5 Stars

A few months ago I was at Target and was browsing the books, telling myself I was just looking. But, it’s so hard to convince myself I’m just looking when I’m around books. This time,though, I was honestly not going to buy anything, but I found a copy of this for $8.79 and though that was a really decent price. I had been avoiding this book because I had no idea what it was about and thought it wouldn’t be my cup of tea. (How I could come to this conclusion when I had no idea what it was about, I have not the slightest inclination of an idea.)

I thought it was over hyped and didn’t plan on reading it. But, then I found out it was gonna be a movie, so that day at Target, I was like, “Oh, I might as well read it.”

Then, once I started reading it, I realized it was about aliens, freaked, and was so mad at myself for ignoring it for so long. Like, aliens are my second favorite thing right under zombies. (The truth is out there, yo.) I can’t believe I had put off this book for so long!

So, anyway, after that super long-winded story, on with my review.

Cassiopeia (Cassie) is convinced she is the only human left on earth. The mothership arrived months ago, her mother died in the plague of the 4th wave, her father is dead, her younger brother was taken to a US military base, and she is on her own with winter fast approaching. Will she survive? Is her brother really safe? Will she be able to make it to the Wright-Patterson base and find him? Is he still alive? Is she really the last human being on alive on earth? What happens when she meets an Other and her scope of reality gets even more messed up than it already is?

Screen Shot 2015-11-19 at 11.14.52 AM

*click the image to be redirected to the book’s Goodreads page*

Wow, there sure are a lot of questions this book raises, and it answers all the ones it needs to. It was so easy for me to give this book a 5-star rating. I absolutely loved the story and found myself fully immersed. It was so easy to get lost in the world Yancey created. It did get a bit slow in the middle, where I considered giving it a 4.5-star rating, but then then it picked up again and the 5-star rating came back. (Plus, the fact that it’s about aliens.)

Also, once finishing and thinking back to the middle section, I realized it was necessary. It makes total sense to spend so much time on that portion. I became exceptionally okay with it after reading the second book in the series (went to Target the day after it came out in paperback to scoop that up!). (Review of that coming in the next few weeks.) So, I was completely okay with the gushy romance bits once everything started to come together is what I’m trying to say, and this book is absolutely deserving of that 5-star rating. 

On top of writing a phenomenal science fiction tale, Yancey’s actual writing is simple enough to breeze through (the large font helps), but there is also an elegance to it. So many of his lines really grasped me and made me feel something, some absolutely paralyzed me with their meanings. I seriously cannot believe it took me so long to pick up this book. It’s brilliant. I loved it.

He also creates the tension through his writing needed to keep you flipping through to the very next page. There was no really lull for me. Even the lull section wasn’t really that calm. There was a lot happening and so many questions being raised that keep you second guessing everything. There was not one point of this book where I thought I was sure of what was going on or what was going to happen. (I still feel the same after reading the sequel.) Yancey gives nothing away. He stumps his readers in the best way to keep them reading in search of answers. So, do not be afraid of how thick this book is (500-something-pages); it is so easy to absolutely fly through and so worth it!

Yancey really has the whole package going for him in this series because his characters are also so strong. I loved all of the characters in this story. They’re strong, weak, utterly torn apart, fighting for what they believe in, crying, smiling, even sometimes laughing. There is no lack of emotion in Yancey’s story and that comes through loud and clear. His characters are relatable, multi-dimensional, realistic, and amazing. Even the bad characters are written superbly. Everything is. This books is. I’m in love.

adjf; j;kajf kjaf;k 

Also, (ignoring my fangirl outburst) can we just take a moment to appreciate this line, since all us girls know it would be a really series issue in an apocalypse:

“Tampons. I’m constantly worrying about my stash and if I’ll be able to find more.”

I absolutely recommend this book, especially to science-fiction lovers (and definitely to you alien lovers like me out there), as well as to those who like thrillers, apocalyptic themes, and/or dystopian-type books. This was a great read. It’s honestly one of my new favorite series. I CAN’T BELIEVE I HAVE TO WAIT TILL MAY FOR THE THIRD INSTALLMENT.

Also, I went to the movies yesterday and saw the trailer for this one. It. Looks. So. Good. O. M. G.

Get you copy from Book Depository here for $10.26. (Or at Target for $8.79!)

Well, I’m outtie for the weekend. My mom and I are setting up the Christmas tree tomorrow, because it’s never too early for Christmas. I hope you all have a fantastic few days and find some good reading material! I’ll be back Sunday with my weekly update.

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (new-projects-are-in-the-works-I-swear) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

7 thoughts on “The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  1. Great review, I’m so glad you liked it! I recently bought this at Target as well for the same reason, I thought it was a good price! Except mine was on sale for $7.91 which was even better, I couldn’t resist!

    Like

Leave a Reply

