Apocalypse Bow Wow by James Proimos III and James Proimos Jr.

5/5 Stars

Another day, another review. It’s amazing how many books I’ve been reading lately. I’ve been just flying through them. So, fear not, I have books to review for the next 4 weeks. Yep, you read that right: 4 weeks of backlogged books to review.

But, that’s not what this post it about. This post is about a review of a book I finished a few weeks ago. I picked up this short, little graphic novel from the Library because the title and description was so enticing. Dogs are the best, and I love a good apocalypse tail…(ignoring my horrible attempt at a pun) so combining them just makes total sense.

This is a short children’s graphic novel about 2 dogs who have lost their owners in the apocalypse. The small, smarter, dog is freaking out, knowing their owners are never coming home while the larger, dumber, dog is convinced they will come back because he’s really hungry and they always come back when he’s really hungry. Finally the dogs decide to set out in search of their owners and food, stepping outside to realize the world is not quite what it’s supposed to be. Tag along on their journey and see what other types of animals they come across trying to stay alive in the apocalypse.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 12.20.52 PM *click image to be redirected to book’s Goodreads page*

First off, I’m going to start by saying this is a children’s book. Do not go into this book thinking you’re going to get some in-depth apocalypse story. There are very few words and the majority of this story is told through illustrations.

Now, moving on from that. This is an absolutely adorable story. I loved it. I flew threw it given the warning in the previous paragraph. It was quick, an easy read, and super fun.

Even though there are not many words, the pictures work with the few there are in the panels to bring this story to life. There is no lack of storyline and everything is put together very well. I don’t have any complaints about the way this book was laid out nor with how it came together.

The humor was also spot on. Who doesn’t love some good dog humor (except maybe people who don’t have souls). I found myself laughing out loud at these dogs’ antics on more than one occasion. They’re super lovable and wonderfully delightful.

The characters are animals but I just adore them so much. This is such a fun read, and, even with it being a super quick one, I loved this story and would definitely recommend it to children and parents alike. It would be super fun to read together for parent and child. But, this is a great story that can be enjoyed by all dog-lovers like myself. I highly recommend you read this if the opportunity presents itself.

I am eagerly awaiting the opportunity to present itself so I can read the sequel Apocalypse Meow Meow. I will be picking it up as soon as I get the chance!

Order your copy from Book Depository here for $11.69.

Coming Tomorrow: Review of The 5th Wave

And now I’m off to go revisit my childhood and see the Goosebumps movie. Have a wonderful hump day everyone!

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (new-projects-are-in-the-works-I-swear) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

 

One thought on “Apocalypse Bow Wow by James Proimos III and James Proimos Jr.

Leave a Reply

